1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

WRT54G Questions

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AthlonX2, Oct 13, 2007.

  1. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,467 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    well i acquired this router from a friend that bought a wireless N router and after searching google it has came to my attention that there are many open source firmwares for this router..what i am asking is have any of you guys/gals tried any of these 3rd party firmwares on yours? what i am looking for is a very stable router and i wanna be able to see who is trying to connect to my wireless net also,i live in a very tight community,im sure my wireless connection could reach the city limits...my last router was a netgear and it crashed what seemed like every night for the last 6 months and im hoping this linksys will be much more stable
     
  2. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,584 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    I'm running a wrt54g right now and its rock stable just with the normal firmware. I have heard a lot about the linux firmwares myself but I can't really justify messing with one. If it ain't broke don't fix it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    dd wrt ...
    i have a wrt 54gl btw ...

    its rock solid, with teh different inter face as i connect, without having to input password i can see which MAC addresses are connecting to my router, in teh format ??.??.??.??.XX.XX where ? are Xes and X is teh last 4 hex of teh MAC, so supervising is no issue., i can set on times and off times into teh wireless section, filter by MAC address teh works ...
     
  4. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,467 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    ok i got ddWRT installed after a bit of "reverse engineering" i guess you would call it,and let me say it kinda sweet you can overclock your router's cpu, increase the xmit power,and even monitor the memory usage of the router,now if they only had a temp sensor..im enjoying it..now lets see if its stable
     
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    cool, i have a wrt54g, i gotta try it out.
     
  6. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,467 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    what version do you have..its harder to flash v5 and later but the earlier version were much easier..i ended up having a v5
     
  7. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,706 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,518
    Location:
    Ohio
    Overclock the router's CPU? :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,467 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    yeah i thought it was quite funny myself i went from 200mhz to 216mhz!! maybe ill water cool my router and go higher..lol
     
  9. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,706 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,518
    Location:
    Ohio
    What benefit does that bring?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. T1GG4L4T0R New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    whats the world record for that cpu?:laugh:
     
  11. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,467 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    its a Broadcom BCM5352..i guess the more you clock it the faster the throughput of the router..same as any cpu
     
  12. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,706 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,518
    Location:
    Ohio
    damn you, now I want to overclock my router!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,467 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    what make model of router do you own?
     
  14. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,706 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,518
    Location:
    Ohio
    No idea, and it's not really mine, it's my dad's. I'm 15... lol
    "Why do you want to know the make and model of the router??"
    "I want to overclock it"
    //dad throws wireless mouse at me

    :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,467 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    it may be compatible with ddwrt..i wouldn suggest doing it if its your dads he probably wouldnt be top happy
     
  16. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    ahhhh i've got a wgr netgear, wrt seems to be linksys lol. will ddwrt work with my netgear?
     
  17. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,467 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    WNR8434B is the only netgear supported
     
  18. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    dang it, any firmware to oc a netgear's cpu? lol
     
  19. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,467 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
  20. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    you know any similiar firmware stuff for netgears?
     
  21. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,467 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    nope i just discovered ddwrt when i was searching for firmware for my linksys
     
  22. Rusty1363 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Wrt54g

    I had this same router for a couple years and used it mainly for my home network with 2 laptops and my desktop. I have since replaced it, because it seemed at least once a day, my computers would lose connectivity and id always end up having to pull the router power to reset it. Im not a genius with networking, but it was kindof a pain. I replaced it with a netgear, which was easier to setup, and havent touched the thing in over a year. Possible it was the firmware or just a bad router :confused: but dont have that problem anymore.
     
  23. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,467 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    i had the exact opposite of yours i had my netgear for 6 months and had to reset it all the time but so far this linksys with the ddwrt firmware is rocking out,i took a walk with my lappy earlier and now that i boosted the cpu speed and the transmit strength i would say i have a good 1/4 mile range with this router..compared to walking out to my front porch and losing connection its sweet
     
  24. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    whoa sweet, maybe you want like some mosfet type heatsinks to the cpu in the router so that you can oc more?
     
  25. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,467 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    i think ill go straight to watercooling:rockout:..if i could figure out how to open this bad boy up i would put a heatsimnk on the ram and cpu
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)