1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

WTH happened to my desktop: Boot error out of nowhere (pic)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by vbx, Jun 3, 2009.

  1. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Running Raid 0. Started this morning only to see this screen. Was working just fine last night. Using laptop right now. Don't hear any grinding noise. I do hear a slight whining noise when I shut down. When I load the boot screen, it says RAID not detected or something.

    [​IMG]

    edit: added pic.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2009
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    What kind of RAID controller are you using? Is it a stand-alone card or on-board.
    When the computer boots, access the RAID controller (either through its driver or in the BIOS) and see if one of your disks have failed.
     
  3. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    I have no idea. The computer came with RAID when I bought it. Sony VGC-RA830G.

    How do I detect a bad drive in Bios?
     
  4. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    If it's a laptop, it would be best to let sony handle without voiding your warranty.
     
  5. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Its a desktop.

    PORT 0 and 1 are RAID..

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2009
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,785 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,165
    You could try fixing the master boot record (MBR).
     
  7. twilyth Guest

    If you have an SSD, they use RAID internally, but I thought that would be transparent to the bios.

    aside from the obvious - a HW malfuntion - check the bios to see what the bood order is and if RAID is enabled.

    I have one machine that periodically would rearrange the boot priority and I would get an error saying insert boot disk or whatever. Eventually I figured out that the priority had changed.
     
  8. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Ok, FIXED! I inserted the Sony Recovery disc and it detected a failure in the Raid controller. It automatically fixed it and is now working. Not sure why or how the raid controller went bad???
     
  9. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,832 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    WOW. Recovery disc fixed the raid controller error and you did not have to rebuild the array?? I am impressed.
     
  10. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    There is hope for raid zero without rebuilding the array after all :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page