1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X-Fi functionality on any Realtek HDA Codec

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Ketxxx, Apr 26, 2009.

  1. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    This thread has come about due to the old one being fucked up by trolls. So a notice to all trolls, you WILL BE KILLED ON-SITE!

    Right, to business. This new thread in this very post will contain all current information, observations, facts, and user experiences about this modded driver I have to hand.

    What YOU need to know

    There is nothing special about this driver, no magic pixies are suddenly going to sprinkle their magical dust on your on-board Realtek chip and have it sounding like a Asus Xonar D2X. The purpose in this driver is to simply squeeze every last bit of performance there may be out of the Realtek HDA Codecs.

    All I have done is what KainXS asked me to do based on his research, nothing more.

    Is what your doing illegal?

    Not in the slightest, and heres why;

    1. I'm not asking any money for this.
    2. I'm not changing any DLL files or the like.
    3. What I'm doing to enable this stuff is just text file editing .
    4. I'm not "stealing" anything. (How can you steal whats volintarily and readily available as free downloads?)
    5. Its not Creative drivers I'm messing with, just Realteks own drivers.
    6. The crapative software suit is available as free download from gigabyte.

    Where do you get the knowledge to mod these drivers?

    I'm a hacker of sorts and can patch most things. My skills come from modding games mostly (compiling, decompiling, editing, etc) For more specific tasks I talk to people I know who are real software gearheads, namely, their the super clever people who are responsible for such things as the software for retina security devices. As such they can do this kind of stuff with their eyes closed :p

    Facts

    1. This modded driver is a larger install vs. a vanilla Realtek driver install for what are currently unknown reasons. In my case a generic Realtek driver install shows as around the 5MB mark in Add/Remove programs for my Realtek ALC1200 Codec, whereas the modded driver install is 60MB.

    2. The X-Fi MB software works in Win XP, not Vista. I've heard of a modded X-Fi MB software package that works in Vista, but from what I know this supposed modded software package still does not work for people using Vista.

    3. I do NOT have a key for the X-Fi MB software, your on your own there.

    4. People using Realtek Codecs complain of partly broken EAX 2.0 implementation in Realteks drivers, my modded drivers do not appear to suffer from semi-broken EAX 2.0 implementation. (Tested with Bioshock)

    5. RMAA tests have been done comparing a modded driver to stock Realtek drivers and clearly show improvements.

    6. The driver works in Windows 7

    7. CPU usage with the modded driver is 5-11%, up from 4-6% with the stock Realtek driver.

    8. Placing a Aluminium or Copper heatsink on your on-board audio IC will help reduce EMI and electronic crosstalk, resulting in a little audio improvement.

    9. KainXS and myself came up with these Realtek X-Fi modded drivers first. The original release was 03-08-2009, 06:15 PM Linky. So if anyone trys saying we didn't, you know thats not true.

    User experiences & observations

    Listed in no particular order are snippets taken from the old thread from various users running XP or Vista 32/64bit regarding JUST the modded driver.

    21 people can't all be suffering from the plecebo effect ;)


    Chewing the fat

    1. Apparently, the Microsoft driver for HDA audio installs a Creative filter by default. However, one possible explanation to account for peoples claims of much better audio quality with these modded drivers is that due to the namechange incorporating "X-Fi" into the name, the Microsoft driver package for HDA audio, could, in fact, have 2 filters built into one. One of the filter paths would be for "generic" audio (Realtek, ADI, Via codecs) while the other path is for "Creative" audio. Same principle as for video cards, developers often create specific ATi / nVidia codepaths based on what hardware is detected.

    2. Its possible that due to the namechange in the driver that the Realtek installer detects the hardware slightly differently, resulting in Creative-esk audio, which would also explain why EAX 2.0 seems to work fine with the modded driver, and not with stock Realtek drivers.



    I think that covers everything. I will edit / updat this post as needed.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 26, 2009
    D4S4, SabreWulf69, lzk87 and 6 others say thanks.
  2. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    This post is where you can find all the download links along with any need to know tips and advice.

    Install size variations

    All Realtek HDA codecs are different in some way, thus your final modded driver install size may vary from mine (60MB), but rest assured the modded driver install size will be bigger than a generic Realtek install and sound quality *WILL be quite significantly better.

    * Overall sound quality improvements will be subject to how good your speakers / headphones are.

    Install issues

    If your having trouble installing the modded driver ensure that;

    - Your onboard codec is a Realtek chip and that it is *HDA capable
    - Be SURE the Realtek codec is set to work in *HDA in your BIOS
    - Disable digital signing in Vista

    * HDA = High Definition Audio

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    X-Fi MB Software 138MB (recompressed for much smaller DL size) - This is a completely optional extra. It is not required for the better audio people report. This software is the vanilla software downloadable from Gigabytes own website, and thus does not work in Vista.

    Realtek XP X-Fi mod R2.21 32/64bit 16MB
    Realtek Vista / Win7 X-Fi mod R2.21 32/64bit 15MB

    As usual, let me know how it all works for you. RMAA Before and After tests would be fantastic to lay the argument to rest once and for all if these modded drivers improve audio or not.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2009
  3. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    What? I'm not pissed at all. Mussels has everything working, good for him. No sarcasm in it. Lack of forum smilies made my last post less obvious than it could have been.
     
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    geeez. let it die already. it works or it doesnt. none of us really care who made it happen... we just know it wasnt creative.


    now....


    i can get this to install the drivers on V64 and it now says "X-fi audio device" but it will not let me install the software.

    whats the deal with that?
     
  5. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,969 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Florida, US
    thx ketxxx
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2009
  6. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Well its painfully obvious who WC64Hw. I'm sure the mods already know.

    ED - The drivers work fine in Vista, the quotes are from people running a mix of XP and Vista 32/64bit.
     
  7. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    so what do i need for v64 exactly?
     
  8. Boneface

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    I installed the software no problem on vista 64 but when i go to click on it its says trial is over.
     
  9. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    So is this limited by the 30 day trial or whatever that it originally had? Also will this allow me to get rid of my sound card? Only reason I am currently using it is for sound in Bioshock. So I guess in other words will this give me sound in bioshock? I sure would like that extra pci space back.
     
  10. morpha

    morpha

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Australia
    This thread was started because the old one dissolved into that.
    please PLEASE refrain from making useless posts that do not bring anything into this discussion.
    I WILL be using the report feature of these forums...
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    how about i make it nice and simple.

    Ketxxx wants a thread for his OWN modded drivers, and his OWN work. he does not want to deal with questions and troubleshooting for daniel_K's drivers.

    Anyone who wants to spam threads about daniel_K's drivers, START A NEW THREAD. Kets work fine in XP, DK's work in vista... but they *are* made by two different people, and only one of those people is here to offer help.
     
  12. morpha

    morpha

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Australia
    LINK to thread for Daniel_K's X-Fi drivers.
     
  13. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,969 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Florida, US
    so the drivers work on XP and Vista.
    software works on XP, but YMMV on Vista. Correct?
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    Kets drivers work on XP and vista. Software works on kets drivers under XP - NOT under vista.

    DK's drivers work WITH the software under vista.

    IMO as a vista user, DK's drivers are superior. That doesnt change the fact that ket doesnt need his thread cluttered up with a million posts about DK's driv ers.
     
  15. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Already have. Its amasing how some people are moronic enough to keep trying to spread crap even after I've said I never intended on getting the crapative software working in Vista, I done just the driver and left the crapative software as a optional extra. The crapative software is in no way mandatory for the better audio experience.
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    Thread has been sanitized. Get rid of your posts in response to people that are now vapor.
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    and can you stop calling creative crapative. it sounds retarded.
     
  18. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    :roll: For some reason that made me lol! Funniest thing I read all day :D
     
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i''ve tried both and neither work.

    what now?
     
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    make sad faces, its possible your card isnt fully supported.
     
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    2 machines that are both on the supported list... i think not.

    onboard on both my DFI x58 and maximus formula
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    well its all working for me on ALC885
     
  23. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Hey Mussels you haven't done your cleansing yet :p
     
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    Doesn't the DFI use a Bernstein module and the Maximus a Soundmax PCI-E card?
     
  25. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yes but both use a realtek ALC888/889 chip and driver
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page