1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X1600pro AGP 512 is a pretty cool toy.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by jaystein, Jan 30, 2006.

  1. jaystein New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Denver, CO, USA
    I purchased an ATI X1600pro 512 yesterday and it's turning out to be a fun little gadjet.
    Out of the box it's clocked at 500mz for the GPU and @400mz for the ram clock.
    I put an Arctic Cooling rev1 fan and some heat sinks on the RAM.
    I was able to get the RAMclock to 450mz pretty good considering the rather weak 128bit bus.
    This is the cool part: I was able to OC the GPU to @590mz with total stability!
    This kind of makes up for the 128bit bus.
    also the drivers need refining.
    HL2 has some definite issues as well as FarCry.
    Doom3 on the other hand ran pretty darn good on Ultra level.
  2. Quake2owns

    Quake2owns New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    361 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    gadget well thats good to hear you like you're card.
  3. jaystein New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Denver, CO, USA
    Thanks for the spelling lesson, anyway, I know there's a few people out there who would be interested.
    Peace
  4. Quake2owns

    Quake2owns New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    361 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I would be interested if i didnt already own a bfg tech 7800 gtx and a ati radeon x1800xt-pe.
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2006
  5. nick_1992

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    580 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    where do you get a Radeon X1600 Pro 512 agp and how much did u pay 4 it
  6. internal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Your

    Not, You're (You are).

    Not bad on the CPU overclock but that ram runs too slow for my tastes.

    If that card was over $200 you've been had.
  7. Quake2owns

    Quake2owns New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    361 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    rednecks say your're or yall.
  8. Quake2owns

    Quake2owns New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    361 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i think you mean GPU graphics processing unit or vpu video processing unit as ati calls it and cpu means centeral processing unit ok? You meant to say nice oc on that vpu. i think i spelt centeral wrong i dunno owelo l
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2006
  9. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,694 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Nice OC :)
    I guess those 512 MBs cards come with a hefty price tag considering the low memory bandwidth, not to burst your bubble but 512 MBs on a 128-bit bus kinda reminds me of the days ppl were showing off their 256 MBs 64-bit 9200SEs... :banghead:
  10. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    lol that was soo long ago
  11. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    best thing ever was a guy boasting about a 256mb 9600se and how it was better then a 9800 xt 128mb... gotta love noobs. anyway that much ram at that speed gets about the same performance as 256mb at 800mhz, and thats with a 128bit bus. even better is 128mb at 800mhz with a 256bit bus. now theres some memory bandwidth. (yes i know there is no factory card with a 800mhz, 1.6ghz effective but hey it gets the point across.)
  12. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    most folks think more memory means better which is why they waste it sticking it on cards that cant make use of it.. anybody seen any 512meg x1300s yet..??

    i even had a shop guy the other day telling me some low end pcie card was better than a high end agp one just cos it was pcie.. it seems most folks think that as well.. he he

    he was quoting me an upgrade for a system i was gonna replace.. i said thats okay it just needs a few hundred sticking on the price for decent grfx card.. he said oh no sir that one is pcie... he he he



    trog
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2006
  13. jaystein New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Denver, CO, USA
    Hello all,
    More info on the X1600AGP, aside from the weak 128bit memory bus, this card is still performing rather well.

    My friend got the same card and there are definite issues with either the driver or the chip itself, I'm hoping it's a driver issue because I despise RMAing.

    to answer some questions, I got the card at bestbuy for $299.99, which I thinks is a good deal, considering a high-end card will usualy run $499.99-$699.99.

    As far as boasting-NOT- I know my way around video cards and I am pleased that there is one last round of semi-powerful cards for the AGP slot, that is all . I know that there are way better cards, but there is little information out there for this card so I thought I'd fill in the gaps.
    peace.
    Oh and for all of you Grammar freaks out there, I don't care if there are miss-spellings, it's the morning and frankly,.. I don't give a damn.
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2006
  14. Quake2owns

    Quake2owns New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    361 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I dont see how people become bitchy just because the person doesnt use like correct grammer/spelling on everything if you get what the person means then so who gives a crap
  15. spectre440 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    948 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Israel

    yes, but you CAN, at least, use some absolutly minimal punctuation.
    you know? like coma's, periods, semi-colon's, apostrophe's, etc'...

    would make your nearly illegible posts SO much easier to read and understand. :)
  16. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,694 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    $299?! :eek: :twitch: Sorry to tell you this, but you've been had buddy. :(
    Please take my advice, return that card to bestbuy and either get this or this if you want SM 3.0, both cards can be unlocked to 16 pp if you are lucky, both cards have about 1.5X the performance of your card (even maybe 2X after unlocking the pp on either one of them), and most important, both cards are cheaper!!
    Please, listen to my advice!! You won't regret it :)
  17. jaystein New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Denver, CO, USA
    Thanks for your concern, I already have an X850 pro soft-modded to unlock all of the pipes.
    I really don't feel ripped off whatsoever and I'm very happy with the X1600 agp.
    I have a few computers and tweaking Graphics cards is one of my hobbies. I am interested in a Gforce 7800 agp and may get that soon, but I will probably hold out for a PCI-e system.
    peace.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page