1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X1900XTX freeze/boot while gaming/movie??

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by bandook916, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. bandook916 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ATI X1900XTX freezes/boot while gaming/movies?

    [​IMG]


    I get that message after playing a game/movie for about 5 minutes at the most. If its a game it will freeze it for a second give me that message and change my screen resolution to whatever my game resolution was at. then i can keep playing with game with no errors after...

    But while playing Movies it gives me the message and sometimes reboots my PC on its own. The times it doesnt boot my PC it says no signal on my PC for couple of seconds then give me that message.. the fan speed increase dramatically and it gets loud right when this happens and then it goes back down when the message pops up..

    I tried flashing it to different bios and have tried different drivers but still no luck. It supposely be a X1900XTX, but just in case I even flashed it to a XT version and still dont work. Does anyone know *** is going on??

    Temps are fine, I watch them while playing games/movies and they dont go over 57 celcius. However... my CPU temps are kinda high (in 50's) can that be causing a problem like this?

    ATI experts please help me out here as I beent rying to solve this since last 3 days. Thanks in ddvance.
     
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    If it's overclocked, drop it back down to stock and see what happens. Normally I get that when the fan cooler is clogged and it overheats. There is still a chance its a heat problem, have you ever redone the Thermal Paste?
     
    bandook916 says thanks.
  3. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Start by filling out the system specs in the user CP so that we can better assist you. I would say that the power supply is goign out.
     
    bandook916 says thanks.
  4. bandook916 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I dropped the clocks from 650/800 to 500/700 no luck at all...

    I havent done the paste though, I will try that next anyways.

    YOu thinking getting a aftermarket coolder will fix the problem?
     
  5. bandook916 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok. I will fill in the specs.

    THe Powersupply is fine I think. I was running 2x 7800 GT's in SLI on the same PSU before I got this card.
     
  6. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    I'm still running on stock cooler with exceptional airflow in the case, aftermarket coolers are great. Change the ATI Tool to monitor temps every sec instead of 10 seconds.
    You temps are probably spiking at the last moment before VPU recover kicks in and its not getting logged due to shutdown.
    You may be suprised at the ammount of dust and debrise inside that cooler. Don't take it apart unless you have thermal paste on hand, your gonna need to replace it.
     
    bandook916 says thanks.
  7. bandook916 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have the Arctic Silver 5 (one used for cpu's) that sould work fine right?

    And I'm using GPU-Z to monitor temp... It refreshes pretty fast, I think its at 1sec refresh too.
     
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    The x1900XTX is an incredibly hot card. I think taking the card out and taking the cooler off, cleaning the thermal paste that was on it (the card and the cooler, clean both), clean the dust out of the cooler (can of air works well), and apply some good thermal paste to it should cure you. AS5 is conductive, so if you aren't confident in your abilities, you can use AS Ceramique or Arctic Cooling MX-1 (or 2).

    Your CPU temp shouldn't cause a VPU recover. If you mean 50c IDLE on the cpu, that is a problem in it's own right, re-seat the cooler and re-apply thermal paste (again cleaning the old stuff).
     
    bandook916 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Apply paste and attatch cooler, then remove it to ensure you don't have too much paste or too little. It's realy the only way to check it. Clean up excess with Q-tip and alcohol.
     
    bandook916 says thanks.
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,648 (13.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,038
    Please use your other post for this topic. Thank you. I merged them together for you!:)
     
    bandook916 says thanks.
  11. bandook916 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So do I use this one or the other one? i get your message in both :confused:

    __
    Okay, I took of the fan/heatsink applied some paste, i see now temps decreased by a couple celcius but I still have the same problem..
     
  12. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Goto Add/Remove Programs and remove both the ATI drivers and the ATI "Unistaller Tool" program. Defrag HDD and then reboot. Then install new drivers from ATI- online.
     
    bandook916 says thanks.
  13. bandook916 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I reinstalled drivers a lot of times now, but havent done defrag disk yet... will try it now and post results when i'm done, thanks for helping.
     
  14. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Be sure to remove the "ATI Unistaler Tool".
     
    bandook916 says thanks.
  15. bandook916 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    YEs thats what i been using to uninstall all the ATI drivers etc.

    Just uninstalled all the drivers again and defragmenting now.. seems like gonna take a while... even thoug only 20 gig used..
     
  16. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Slow down - Read carefully.

    I didn't mean to "use" it to unistall, I ment to use ADD/REMOVE and REMOVE it also.

    Also you should have Defragmented after driver removal and before install of new drivers. ATi drivers leave "reference points" behind on the HDD after removal. It is necessary to remove these reference points before installing new drivers to avoid coruption.

    Hope it works this time, ATI drivers get realy corrupted when overwritten and not removed and cleaned out properly.
     
    bandook916 says thanks.
  17. bandook916 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    EDIT: Defragmenting is going on as well right now. My har drive is screaming LOUDLY. i need a new drive


    Ok. I removed the ATI uninstall utility and everything else related to ATI. But just to be on safe side I will use Driver Cleaner Pro and delete anything relating to ATI that I see on it. Then restart and then install new drivers.
     
  18. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Sounds better, before INstalling new drivers - ONLY Defrag will remove the reference points.
     
    bandook916 says thanks.
  19. bandook916 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Alright I got you. Appreciate the help and quick reply's. I just hope we get this fixed... been 3 days since I been working on this. good thing friend told me about the forums.
     
  20. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    I say your psu might be going bad
     
    bandook916 says thanks.
  21. bandook916 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok. Deleted ALL drivers...Defragmented disk drive...Used Driver Cleaper Pro to remove the files still remainning...Reinstalled drivers...and still same problem...

    I'm kinda falling toward the PSU issue now... even though I was running 2x 7800 gt's on it 2 weeks ago...

    EDIT:

    Any more suggestions/ideas on this???

    I have another PSU, its not a branded PSU but iits not bad at all, Is there a way I can hook that up so that it ONLY gives power to GPU (video card)? and use my original PSU for everything else?
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2008
  22. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Drop your reslolution and lower refresh rate. Turn off AA, AAF and try it again.

    A 500watt PSU shoud be enough power, but if its old could be going bad.
     
    bandook916 says thanks.
  23. bandook916 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trying it now...
     
  24. bandook916 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Didnt help... same damn problem... Temps are well under control too...

    mannn i'm close to giving up on damn ati...

    anymore ideas/suggestions??
     
  25. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth

    It could be a Bad BIOS flash, but normally when this happens the card doesn't even run.

    It could be the card is dying.

    It could be your PSU. Even though it powered the card before you were probably maxing it out. Now it has aged enough and can no longer support the card.

    You power supply is probably on its last leg.

    I could not even boot my X1900XTX with a Neo550. Had to get a 650 watt Enermax to boot
    my PC with that card.

    The only other choice other than this would be the drivers again. It is possable. ATI drivers are very picky and easy to corrupt. I would say try the drivers one more time.

    Remove old drivers and "unistaller tool" with Add/Remove programs
    Run a windows "Search:" for ATI and delete all drivers found.
    Defragment HDD
    Reboot PC
    Install new drivers from ATI site.
    Reboot and try again.

    If doing this Step by step as described does not solve it either the card is dying or the PSU is on its way out.
     
    bandook916 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page