1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

x1950 pro Crossfire problems and solutions.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Lazzer408, Jan 6, 2007.

  1. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    Hi. I figured I'd ask you guys about a crossfire problem I'm having on my x1950 pro graphics cards. I've tried 4 different motherboards so that's not the problem. I have a crossfire certified powerexpress psu for the cards' power. I have crossfire certified memory. yadda yadda. Everything is certified except for the floppy drive. =)
    I've talked to ATI and they spent 3 hours working with me on trying to get crossfire working and so far no luck. They told me there going to build my computer as there facility and try to recreate the problem. In the mean time maybe someone in the forum has had the problem or can suggest a solution.

    The specs.

    -P4ht 550 3.4ghz
    -1024 Kingston hyperX pc6400 ddr-2
    -Intel D975XBX2 (other boards tested were MSI p975 platinum, Asus P5B deluxe, Asus P5W DH Deluxe)
    -ATI x1950pro crossfire (the ones with the internal connector)
    -2 x 80gb Sata Raid-0
    -Antec trupower 480 (main psu)
    -Thermaltake powerexpress 250 (crossfire psu)

    MISC info.

    -All the latest drivers (cat 6.12) and BIOS updates were used on my tests.

    The problem.

    The drivers are installed correctly and I'm showing 4 adaptors in the device manager. Crossfire is ticked in the control panel to enable it. The Thermaltake powerexpress has 2 green lights indicating power is being drawn from each card while running a 3d application. Framerates remain unchanged in my games and my 3dmark05 score is 9500 +/- 50. If I uncheck crossfire in the control panel I still score 9500. If I completely remove the secondary card from my computer I will get the same score of 9500. So somehow crossfire isn't helping any. ATI seems to be stumpped as well.

    Other notes.

    Internal bridge is connected. I have tested each card by itself in either slot and any configuration will work fine as long as it's a single card. ATI had made the suggestion that I could have had a bad card and I have exchanged them both for two replacements and still have the problem.

    Has anyone else has issues with the x1950 pro running in crossfire? Perhaps I have a faulty bios revision on the card itself. Rabit shows 113-A99902-111 RV570 BIOS 688m/574e.

    Thanks and hopefully someone out there has better suggestions then ATI.
     
  2. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,799 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    New York
    ----- Also did you reinstall directX9C yet? have you reinstalled the lastes .net ?
    Did the hard drive get reimaged on every mobo test?
     
  3. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    Crossfire is ticked in CCC. Screen blinks when it enables. Clean install of windows xp pro on each test. Dot net installed for each test. DX9c is installed but do I need to reinstall it after the driver install?

    I guess it's easy enough to reinstall and let you know.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2007
  4. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,799 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    New York
    normally no but sometimes reinstalling DX9c can straighten out some wierd stuff.
     
  5. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,799 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    New York
    Also do you Vsync selected if so deselect.
     
  6. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    I reinstalled DX9c from the redistribution pack. It didn't help. Normally I do enable vsync (75hz) but framerates drop below 75 when I start cranking up the effects so I know that's not limiting me. I have tried it with it off as well. I'd be happy with 75 fps at 1600x1200 with one card. =) 3dmark doesn't run with vsync on and it's score is unchanged. I can tell in the first scene watcing the framerate at the bottom. It sits about 50fps when the troops are flying in. It doesn't change no matter what I try. Any other ideas?

    Also the secondary card (second pcix slot) is just warm where as the other primary card is ubber hot. ATI has the fan pwm set to low imo. I guess there trying to keep it quiet. The thermaltake powerexpress will only only show one of the two green lights when I uncheck crossfire in CCC. When checked both lights are on indicating both cards are indeed drawing power but judging by the temperature and framerates only one is working.
     
  7. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,799 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    New York
    do they test the same running only one at a time ?try testing each card separately only one on mobo at a time.
    oops sorry you lready did that...I would try getting the two replacments if I WERE YOU AS IT SEEMS YOU HAVE DONE EVERY THING
     
  8. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    I mentioned ATI, as a last resort, suggested I replace them both. I did exchange them. It still didn't help. If your hardcore into computers and hardware I'm sure you know how it is to have some fluke bug you just can't isolate. I was hoping I might find someone here who has already delt with a problem like this and found a solution. I can't find help if I don't ask and I have to get lucky some day don't I? lol
    If anyone else stumbles across this post please feel free to offer any advice you might have. My last resort is to give up on the x1950 pro completly.

    This all started because someone bought me one as a gift and Bestbuy had them on sale for $200 so for the investment of $200 I would have 2 x1950 pros that -should- run faster then a single x1950xtx at 1/2 the cost. The savings was enough to justify a new motherboard. Next thing I know I'm buying a powersuppy and new memory. My boards (more then one. ...long story) all support my 2 year old HT chip but also support core2duo and quad cpu for future upgrades. It all sounds like the perfect upgrade untill the whole reason for it doesnt work. :banghead:

    For anyone wanting to know about the the motherboards, here's a bit of a review from some quick averaged 3dmarks.

    MSI 975x Platinum V2 - 8300 3dmarks. Aweful overclocking ability. Very buggy board.
    Asus P5B Deluxe - 8400 3dmarks. Unstable overclocking. Not tru crossfire. Stay away from 965 bassed mobos for crossfire!!
    Asus P5W DH Deluxe - 9500 3dmarks. Awesum board! Asus software sucks but overclock from the bios and this board just kicks ass. 3.4ghz hit 4ghz no problem. Not bad for a power hungry P4 550.
    Intel D975XBX2 - 8400 3dmarks. This is also a very impressive board but is not correctly detecting my cpu and setting the voltage too low and the voltage adjustment isn't working. After all, Intel's flagship board was designed for the core2duo and quad. But I read other reviews and have very high hopes for it's overclocking abilities with either of the multicore CPUs. I still highly recomend it.

    I know this isn't a review post but this information may be of use to someone who is trying to choose a motherboard.

    Thank you for your suggestions DRDNA. I'll keep checking back for updates. :)
     
  9. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    ... How many crossfire bridges did you use? Im under the assumption that you used only one. That would give those results.

    EDIT: Might it be a bottleneck? Why are the scores so freaking "ordered"? Might I ask, do you really have that system? How on earth did you get your hands on all those motherboards? You know for a a bit more you can get stuff that has got more juice, right?

    Is this an attempt to defame ATI?
    I have never heard of someone's crossfire setup failing even after swapping. This seems like libel to me.
     
  10. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    I used both bridges. One came in each box so with both cards I had 2. Here's a pic of the two motherboards I have left now. The P5W is back in the box. The D975XBX2 is in my computer now. The P5B was returned to Krex along with a 15% restock charge :mad: and the MSI was returned to Newegg claimed defective for all the bugs. Most anoying was the Intel RAID controller not showing up after post even though it was enabled in the bios. After about 10 resets it popped up. The pic of the mobo mockup is the P5B (returned) and the one in the pc running is the XBX2 with a new blue fan. =) (Priorites right?). The other shot inside the PC was the P5B just not running. You can see the 2 bridges. I don't have any MSI pics. I could screenshot the RMA or invoice if you like but I have no intentions of jerking anyone around about this. I can't get any usable help if I don't give you ALL the details.

    But ATI is going to get back to me about the problem. There recreating my system to see if they can recreate the problem using the exact same hardware I have. I'm waiting to hear from Intel about the voltage being locked on this board but that only effects overclocking not crossfire. Crossfire is just supposed to work. Put in the cards, pop on the bridges, check the box and wha-la. Well... not for me. :(

    What's libel? And what do you mean by my scores are ordered? I can't remember the exact numbers if thats what you mean. I was making mental notes of the scores not writing them down. I should be over 10k easy and that's all I was really looking at. And I'm not trying to defame ATI. I've been an ATI fan for awhile. My first ATI card (purchased for gaming) was a Rage Fury Maxx (SLI) to replace my Voodoo2 SLI cards. If 3dfx was still in business I'd own one of those. lol I hade a 8500 all in wonder, 9600, x700 pro, and now these 2 x1950 pros. I went thru 4 boards trying to make this work. I'd call that pretty devoted to ATI. =)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 6, 2007
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney

    *Jumps to conclusions*

    GET A X1950XTX :toast:. IMO Thats a great system. I reckon the X1950PRO Reference cooler looks sweet. They should have made the plastic UV-Reactive!

    EDIT: Why didn't you get the POWERCOLOR X1950 PRO EXTREME 256MB? I'm scared of those huge coolers though. (Although they are lighter than my CNPS7700 CU)
     
  12. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    One of the pros was a gift. I paid $200 (sale at best buy) for the second one. So I figured why pay $400-450 for the xtx if I can get 2 pros for 1/2 the cost and have enough left for a crossfire motherboard? I was due for a mobo upgrade for core2duo/quad support anyways so this seemed like the perfect time to upgrade things. It turned into a nightmare with crap boards, crap bios revisions, buggy hardware, and crap software for overclocking. My other mobo was a AA8 duramax and that Uguru overclocking utility puts the asus AI thing to shame. No reboots for the Abit one. Asus wants a reboot if I bump it 1mhz. Screw that. But the P5W did overclock my 3.4 faster then the abit did. 3.8 on AA8 vs 4.0 on the P5W. I really wish I knew why this isn't working. It should be. Both cards did work by themselfs in either slot. Also swapped them in crossfire more. Nothing helps. It HAS to be some stupid little thing I'm looking over like xf enable not checked (it is).

    I'm still considering the AW9D-MAX. Any opinion on it? I love that Uguru! =)

    Now say your sorry. :p and we'll go for a beer. :toast:
     
  13. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Sorry :toast: .

    >_> Thats weird... probably one of the cards has a cracked bridge of some shit.
     
  14. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    I returned both new cards tuesday for 2 more new ones. It's not the cards. If it is it's at the driver or bios level. Or like I said something in the system I'm not seeing. That's why ATI is building my -exact- configuration. Something's funky in it somewhere.
     
  15. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I got the P5B Deluxe board with the X1950 PRO (full sys specs to the side)

    I mite be 'borrowing' my friends X1950PRO and trying it in crossfire with mine. IF i do, ill tell you the results :)
     
  16. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
  17. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    i think i got the same as yours but the 512mb version
     
  18. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    I didn't know they made a pro with 512mb. News to me.
     
  19. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    :slap: You got the Extreme Version with Arctic cooling.
     
  20. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    OMG 61.27 POSTS PER DAY... Power user! 62.43!!!
     
  21. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    ???
     
  22. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yeah, its the extreme 512mb :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2007
  23. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    ATI decided to cancel my ticket!! I can't believe the run around I'm getting from there technical support department. From the get-go they tried shoving me to the back burner. At one point in time the support person told me "we have most of your hardware here to try to recreate your problem" That didn't get very far because my ticket was canceled. They claim it was because ATI Tray Tools was installed but that was installed -after- the problem in hopes the 3rd party application may have other settings I could modify that might be effecting crossfire opperation. So lets see. I have $400 in videocards, $170 on "crossfire certified memory" (per ATI's request), $469 in crossfire motherboards just sitting here, $200 on powersupply, and days of frustration. That's $1239 spent in futile attempts in trying to save money on graphics upgrades. For $400 I could have bought the x1950xtx. I figured 2 x1950 pros running crossfire would perform as well if not better and it was a good excuse to buy a new motherboard that would still support my cpu but also support the core2duo and quad once those prices dropped a little. I'm very dissapointed in ATI at this point in time. I have always been a fan of there's in the past. I guess everything these days is dropping in quality. From hardware to support, it's all falling fast.

    Edit. I forgot to mention. I have a limited time to return the cards to the retailer for a refund. ATI's suggestion was to return them now and if they find a solution to the problem I can go buy the cards again. I think somehow there trying to avoid RMA responsibility under warranty. This is fine and dandy and all but I got them on sale. So I'll be stuck with 2 cards or wasted all this time for nothing. Either way the customer is the one paying the price. ATI isn't going to loose any sleep over this. :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  24. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    wow...thats total bs!

    If you asked me, its some setting thats just stupid. Like what happened to me; I overclocked my CPU, and as soon as I did, my graphics got WAY less frames. Apparently, the OC turned my PCIe lanes from 16 to 1 :p

    (BTW, are you actually using the full 16 lanes?)

    And, have you tried running anything other than 3Dmark05?
     
  25. boecke

    boecke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hmm, does anyone know how to get CrossFire setup with:
    ASUS A8R32-MVP Deluxe (CrossFire Ready)
    Two PowerColor ATI Radeon X1950 XT Cards

    I do not have a CrossFire Edition Card.

    Thanks,
    boecke
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page