1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X1950XT crash when trying to change mem speed

Discussion in 'ATITool' started by Nano2k, Dec 28, 2006.

  1. Nano2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My Sapphire 1950XT crashes as soon as I try to change the mem speed, either up or down.

    Gpu speed, fan and voltages seem to work.

    Tried with Atitool 0.26, 0.25 beta 16, 6.12 original and 6.12 NGO.

    Any ideas :)

    Thanks!
     
  2. papashex New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I can confirm similar operation on a powercolor x1950 pro 512mb.

    The configuration and information tabs / sections function ok. When I choose "find max mem" or "find max core" the screen goes black. I realize a black screen is not the same as a crash, but it does not recover and forces a reset.

    Nano2k - Do you get a black screen or do you get some other response?
     
  3. Nano2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The edges of fonts, icons and windows become garbled as if I had overclocked the memory too high or it blackscreens or it just hangs. The issue is only with the memory setting.

    I tried rivatuner and it seems to work.

    You know what's funny, I tested on my NF4 system and it works fine with atitool. So either my XP is borked in some way or this card does not like my Core 2 duo setup.

    On my NF4 system the first time I started atitool I got a message about a pixelparser program being opened and nothing about atihotkey. On the Core 2 duo system I got nothing about pixelparser but got a message about the hotkey.

    Go figure...
     
  4. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    I think that that the X1950 series card is not fully supportet yet by ATI TOOL
     
  5. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Especially X1950Pro is not supported.
    The X1950XT/XTX are really just updated versions of the X1900 series.
     
  6. Nabis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Mine does the same thing.... I'm convinced it is because it is trying to OC in 2D mode. Is yours stuck at 500/600? You can OC the 3D mode in Catalyst Overdrive.
     
  7. RatusNatus

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Its not this!
    The Tool has a option, by default, that changes from 2D to 3D on startup.

    I can change just a little.
    I'm using a Catalyst 7.1 with CCC and ATI Tool .26.

    Tray tools and Ati Tool at the same time crashes always.

    OmegaDriver didnt reconize my VGA... didnt try the NGO.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page