1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X4 980 BE or FX-6300 Computer - Which One to Keep?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Jeffredo, Jun 21, 2014.

  1. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    836 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Hey gang. I'm in a bit of a dilemma. I have two fairly evenly matched PCs in the house. One has a Phenom II X4 980 BE overclocked to 4.1 Ghz on a quality ASUS 890GX motherboard. The other is an FX-6300 @ 4.4 Ghz on a cheap 970 motherboard. My sister hinted around that my 10 year old nephew wanted a gaming PC for his birthday in a few weeks (and she can't afford to buy him one). I'm trying to decide which one of these to give him. While gaming at those speeds the X4 980 BE seems a bit smoother in the mostly single threaded Bethesda titles I play, plus WoW and LotRO. I know that the FX-6300 has a more modern architecture and instruction set, but right now it doesn't perform better with what I do. I can't afford to build an Intel PC for about a year (doing home improvement projects), so I don't want to short-change myself by keeping the "less good" one. I'm almost to the point of flipping a coin!
     
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,480 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,783
    Location:
    Florida
    sub id go 6300 personally but i also need this answer.
     
  3. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,474 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,078
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I'd keep the 6300, because it has a little upgrade path left in it where as the 980 doesn't.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,274 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    The FX does good at multi-threaded games, might compile video faster because of the xtra cores. Like Mindweaver mentioned you can upgrade to a 8 core if you need to. But with that ECS until they solve the voltage problem I wouldn't upgrade to 8 core.

    When I was playing BF3 on my Phenom II X4 and X6 would see occasional stuttering, changed to FX and games seems to run smoother. BF4 I didn't have chance to experiment with Phenom II.
     
  5. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,044 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,726
    Location:
    Mexico
    6300. OC to 4.5Ghz and it will fly.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,059 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    6300 overclocked.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,680 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,016
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
  8. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    836 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Well, it looks like the consensus is keep the FX. I did a side by side gaming session yesterday swapping out the same GTX 670 to both. The X4 980 is smoother (less hitching), but that's possibly due to the cheap motherboard the FX-6300 is in. Maybe if I got something like an ASUS M5A99X EVO R2.0 I could get a better OC and performance out of it. I really wouldn't want to spend more than $120 for a basically dead socket.
     
  9. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,125 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,037
    If the 980 does better why not keep the 980? Also have you tested the performance if you you put the 6300 on the 890? Maybe its the motherboard?
     
  10. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    836 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Don't think it would support it.
     
  11. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,125 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,037
    Probably works though http://www.overclock.net/t/1320283/piledriver-on-890fx-gx-mobos-anyone

    You should go with whatever is faster for you. Smoother is usually a better experience.
    Thats only 100 mhz more than what he runs now, if its not flying now would it fly with 100 mhz more speed?
     
    Jeffredo says thanks.
  12. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    836 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
  13. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    896 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Keep the system with the FX cpu setup. Upgrade wise AMD is teasing with a new FX chip. Besides hes 10 so anything he gets will make him happy.
     
    Jeffredo and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  14. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,680 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,016
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    for me it's the opposite the 6300 felt smoother @ 4.2 than my X4 955 BE @ 4.2
    (my 955 was on a Crosshair IV Formula tho and i have a M5A99X Revo (not 2.0) paid 75$)

    the 980 is faster single threaded but 5% tho (and it lack some instruction, and i mean the SSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2 not the other less used)
     
    Jeffredo says thanks.
  15. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,125 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,037
    Cheap 970 board probably won't run a high powered new FX chip, if AMDs new chip is like the last two.
     
  16. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,391 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,559
    Location:
    Rochester area
    put the phenom II in the cheaper board and the x6 in the good board keep the better machine :p
     
  17. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    836 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    This is true. He's a little Minecraft fanatic and is playing it on an ancient Athlon64 3700+ rig. His mother bought him a copy of Torchlight II and he's never been able to play it decently (he loved the original). If I do keep the FX I think I'll pop for a 990X or 990FX motherboard. I think my ECS 970 is a bit of a lemon.
     
  18. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,680 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,016
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    ASRock 990FX Fatal1ty is quite cheap and good i might get one to replace my M5A99X Evo, i swap with a friend who has a ASRock and a good soundcard so he don't really need the Purity sound chip that the Fatal1ty has and since he bought a 295X2 the x8/x8 CFX/SLI doesnt bother him as he do X16 single (i paid my 990X Evo cheap because of a defective onboard sound :roll: )
     
  19. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,059 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    If the 980 has better single threaded as is, how much more can you overclock the 6300 to match it. Probably doesn't need much.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,936 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Keep the 6300....I wanna know what gfx choices are...both cpu's are good enough depending on the gfx...which are?
     
  21. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,059 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    What kind of stutter was it? Does each system have a different gpu, and you just switch out gpus without a driver install? I say this because I have had stutter and other problems because I didn't reinstall the drivers. For example moving from a 9800gt to a 650ti etc, or amd 7870le to a 7970.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Shambles1980

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    541 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    do you actively cool your vrm on the fx board? that could possibly help.
    to be honest i dont think it would make a difference which you keep. i think the fx would be better in a multi gpu setup. but apart from that probably going to be about the same.
     
  23. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    836 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    I tested it with the same GTX 680 2GB in each. The Phenom II machine actually had an HD 7850 in it, but I removed it and cleaned out the AMD drivers to test the two. As far as the hitching with the FX-6300, I mainly noticed it in Skyrim on Ultra. It wasn't severe, it was just a bit smoother with the X4 980. I don't have active VRM cooling on either.

    One thing I did notice in the FX-6300's favor - the computer room is cooler even with it @ 4.4 Ghz. A Phenom II @ 4.1 Ghz puts out a lot of heat!
     
  24. Sempron Guy

    Sempron Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    272 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    here a good example of a single threaded game

    [​IMG]

    the FX-6300 is right around on par with the 980 BE with the latter having the clock speed advantage

    here's the one on low res which is more cpu intensive

    [​IMG]

    almost 2fps which is not much of a difference IMO
     
    Jeffredo says thanks.
  25. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    836 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    If that's what happens with them at stock (3.5 Ghz for the FX, 3.7 Ghz for the PII) I must have a crap 970 motherboard (for it to perform worse with the FX @ 4.4 Ghz and the PII @ 4.1 Ghz).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page