1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

x6 "Thuban" temps

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by kenkickr, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,867 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Is there a sensor issue on these Thubans? I ask because my temps on a 6-core are just plain ridiculous compared to my old PII 965 c2 @ 3.7Ghz. I would always see loads in the low to mid 40's with the 965 but take a look @ my x6 @ 3.5Ghz.
    [​IMG]

    Here is 3.8Ghz but I did not run it as long as the 3.5Ghz.
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. deathmore

    deathmore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    344 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Langenburg Saskatchewan Canada
    That's a little low for such a overclocked cpu. check maybe temp in bios?
     
  3. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,033
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
  4. Psychoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    520 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    I was wondering the same thing, mine "supposedly" idles around 22C. and only reached a peak of 46C after an hour of prime at 4.0ghz 1.40v vcore.
     
  5. deathmore

    deathmore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    344 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Langenburg Saskatchewan Canada
    i wonder how these processors would do crunching since they run cool you wouldn't have to feel likes its a sauna in your room all the time.
     
  6. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,244 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,013
    Location:
    Home
    Have anyone tried the "finger test" to estimate the temps yet?
     
  7. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,867 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Mines under a EK block so kinda hard to get my finger in there if you know what I mean
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. naoan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    304 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    I really hope those temp is true! :eek:
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,804 (11.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,041
    same, makes my plans for an x6 and 5870 even more appealing
     
  10. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,244 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,013
    Location:
    Home
    Just touch the metal bit of the EK and see whether its within range or way off.
     
  11. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,033
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'lltest it with my infrared thermometer on Monday. I've heard that the chips design makes use of the HS more efficiently.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2010
    Fourstaff says thanks.
  12. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,854 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    671
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Fancy, I wish i had a infrared thermometer :p, but I really want to sell my CPU, MB, and get one x6!
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,804 (11.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,041
    i had one, but it went inaccurate with age :(
     
  14. Whilhelm

    Whilhelm

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    845 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    Barrie, Canada.
    I can confirm that core temp, everest and occt are reporting temps inaccurately. Using ROG connect on my Crosshair I can see that the temps are off by around 10~15 degrees C. My chip idles at about 35C on water with two 4870s in the loop and a Black ice GTX 480 radiator.
     
  15. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,867 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I'll do that when I get home tonight and probably run by Harbor Freight to pickup a infrared temp reader cheap.
     
    Fourstaff says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Psychoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    520 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    I think the temps are real, my heatpipes dont even feel warm to the touch under full load. If its true, wonder how the heck they did it.
     
  17. Maranello

    Maranello New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I was curious about this too. I wanted to get a base line before I started overclocking. I've tried AMD's Overdrive (in pic) and MSI's Control Center (which shows 31C) and the temps just seem ridiculously low for 6 loaded cores.

    http://i462.photobucket.com/albums/qq344/Maranello_photos/temps.jpg

    My temps were taken on a Xigmatek S1283 with a custom mount (not the crappy clip). Ambient room temp was 66F, case is an Antec 300 running Xigmatek fans. All very nice but not nice enough to give me water temps :wtf:

    http://i462.photobucket.com/albums/qq344/Maranello_photos/customS1283mt.jpg
    http://i462.photobucket.com/albums/qq344/Maranello_photos/Custmt2.jpg

    Cooler pipes/base are cool to the touch.

    EDIT: sorry, it's a 1090T
     
  18. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,549 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    221
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Has anyone been able to get a Real Temp/Core Temp type program to give reliable numbers for there overclock?
     
  19. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,033
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Well, I couldn't get a good read with the infrared thermometer. My temps are reporting crazy low. At 4.2ghz 1.45v on water, AOD is reporting mid 20's load temps. Just not possible, right?
     
  20. sNiPeRbOb

    sNiPeRbOb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    230 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    MA
    has anyone been able to get realistic temp reports from ANY program? Seems there is a major temp sensor bug in these chips that the manufacturers have yet to actually figure out...

    and using my "finger test" to gauge the temp of the CPU on a Koolance CPU340 and MCR220 Rad, under full load at 4Ghz @ 1.45V this thing is putting out some SERIOUS heat. I wish I had this chip for the cold winter nights up here in VT. My Scythe Kaze controller sensor is giving me a load reading on the WB of around 40C so either I got a "hot" chip or these things run WARM...
     
  21. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,549 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    221
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I tried PC probe from Asus, as I have a Crosshair IV. I get idle temps of 32C, and loads in the low 40s with a Noctua D14, in a heavily fan modded HAF 932.
     
  22. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,033
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    "Finger test" for me was cool/luke warm. Doesn't really tell me much.
     
  23. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,867 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Oh so many comments:laugh:

    Serious note though that was the same impression I had when touching the contact area of the block.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. sNiPeRbOb

    sNiPeRbOb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    230 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    MA
    my block didn't tell me much either, but touching the metal around the inlet and outlet of my radiator sure told me how much heat was getting dumped into the water. At least it means I have a good TIM mount... I need more rad for x6... But have nowhere to put it in my wee lil panzerbox...
     
  25. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,244 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,013
    Location:
    Home
    Now compare this temp with boiling water diluted with cold water to the ratio of 1:1 (making the water about 50C). If heatsink is hotter than the water, and heatsink is a good conductor, then chip is probably about 60C, if not then chip is about 50C and below. Just some random test I pulled out of my head.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page