1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X79 Build Raystorm Roadblock

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by the54thvoid, Dec 5, 2011.

  1. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,212 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,437
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Typical.

    I've been patient and spray painting and everything and what happens? My CPU Raystorm waterblock, clearly advertised as 2011 compatible, isn't. The design of the socket retainer and backplate on the Asus X79 Pro are mutually dependent. You can't secure the retainer without the stock backplate so any 3rd party cooler that requires a backplate (that isn't identical to the Asus one) won't work.

    The threads are also too thin on the securing bolts of the Raystorm to secure direct to socket.

    And they're too thick to pass through the retainer plate to any backplate regardless.

    Fail, fail, fail.

    XSPC - do your fucking homework...
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Easy Rhino says thanks.
  3. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,205 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Not sure where you got your info but all i see on that product is this.
    Supports Sockets LGA775, 1156, 1155 and 1366
  4. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,212 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,437
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Specialtech.co.uk

    I bought it from there. On their website it states clearly, socket 2011 compatibility.

    I've bought a lot of w/c stuff there b4, no hassle. I did enough homework - it seems the site is wrong.

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  5. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    so its specialtech's problem not XSPC
  6. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,205 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Agreed, Always check the main manufacturers site before choosing any product as i find a lot of sites tell lies about what a product has or does.

    Good example is the case i just got given, On almost all websites i have looked at it says this case has a bottom mounted PSU but it damn well does not lol.

    Taken from websites...
    popular chassis with unique power supply site on the bottom. <<LIES no where to put the psu at the bottom lol..
  7. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,212 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,437
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Forgot to add, there's a leaflet supplied in box from XSPC with :

    [​IMG]

    So, no, it's XSPC's fault.

    Attached Files:

  8. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,205 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Well looking at that pic the first impression i get is that the 2011 socket is the same as the 1366 socket so is that a miss print or what? Or did you not get them backplates with the product?
  9. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,212 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,437
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Yup, but that backplate is not compatible with the x79 socket.

    There are 4 screws in the stock backplate that hold on the cpu retainer. The replacement backplate in the box does not have the screws therefore you can't reattach the retainer.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I've sent all these pics over to specialtech who said would contact XSPC.

    Attached Files:

  10. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,205 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    I thought backplates were universal and as long as you have the right parts they should all fit without hassle, Could it be that asus have done something slightly diffrent on there mobo? or am i missing something.
    Saying that though i haven't had to mess with backplates before as my cooler has push pins.
  11. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    go to the hardware store and get the right bolts you need,alot easier than dealing with anyone's customer support
  12. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,212 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,437
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I have no idea which party is to blame but either way, it sucks.

    Think i'll contact Asus direct....
  13. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,205 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    I would blame them all as someone seems to have made an error along the lines.
  14. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    if im getting this right it appears intel is using 1366 mounting for 2011?
  15. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,205 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    It sure does look like it from the picture posted above.
  16. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,212 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,437
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
  17. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,205 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Lol so the place you got the part from said it suports socket 2011 but never included them fittings you need? Will they be sending you the extra fittings or will you have to send the part back.
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,758 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,800
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I think i understand what happened.

    Some boards(The popular high-end OC boards) feature a CPU bracket that can have the metal heatsink retention bits removed. Underneath that metal "X" is the standard holes that match 1366. You remove the "X-Bracket", re-attach the CPU retention mechanism.

    For those boards, the block should work no problem.
    Sinzia says thanks.
  19. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    835 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    +1 to That. ^

    The asus boards are funny that way, I did a x79 for a client, my 1366 stuff fit perfectly, once you removed the stock bracket and use the "old school" 1366 parts.
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,758 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,800
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
  21. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    743 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    contact xspc and they will help you
  22. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,212 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,437
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I've spoken to XSPC and Specialtech and the parts are being shipped to the UK this week. I should have them by the weekend. Build on hold till then :(

    But at least it's sorted now.

    And yeah, the X-Socket looked like a fix but the retainer on the rampage boards isn't the same shape as the pro, so even the X-Socket wouldn't have helped, the retainer covers the 1366 holes, unlike the Rampage:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    cadaveca says thanks.
  23. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    835 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    AHH! ok, I see now.

    Sucks that you cant use it right now, but its good that you're getting the parts shipped!
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  24. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,205 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Im happy you got it sorted out now and once the parts turn up i hope the build goes well for you :D
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  25. followthedon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sorry for bringing up a older post but I also have gotten the rampage iv4 2011 and have the raystorm. I also was not able to have the raystorm work and now have ordered the 2011 socket screws. Was wondering if yours now works, did you get the screws and were you able to fit everything together. If so was there anything else you needed to do besides the screw change did you have to change the backplate or anything or did the rampage backplate work. I ask these questions because it seems no company knows anything I called rampage but customer service seems not dumb but not smart and you can only Email rxpc so don't got good info from any were .

    oh and this question is more to void then anything although others answering it is fine too your one of the few people who also have this board and the raystorm.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page