1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X79 Sabertooth cpu voltage

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by raptori, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    hi everyone and happy new year ... I need to know if I can set the CPU voltage to a specific value(lower than default voltage) and also let the voltage drop to lower value when CPU is idle , I tried many things but no avail ,thanks.

    current constant CPU voltage 1.176v @3.8GHz while leaving voltage to auto will go to 1.320v.
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    You have to use offset voltage for that to work right. Personally, I wouldn't worry about it too much. With 1.4 V, my 3960x @ 128.625x35(4.5 GHz), draws about 30 W only at idle.
     
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  3. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    activate offset voltage with minus value ? I did try it but then the cpu voltage will be the default which is higher than required, I reached 4.2GHz with 1.205v while the default voltage for stock speed is 1.320v, i was thinking if I can set a max ceiling for the voltage and allow the voltage to drop when idle .
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I know on my board the offset voltage for 1.32V is on the + side not the -. You may have to test some low level + offset voltages at stock clocks to see what its going to give you by each increment and then go from there to what voltage you need for 4.5ghz.

    I have seen that it varies from board to board on what offset voltage you need.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    maybe I'm getting it wrong isn't the - offset suppose to lower the voltage ,and I'm quoting my self "is there a way to set a max ceiling for the voltage and allow the voltage to drop when idle" ? I should read more on OC x79 system .
     
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    This link will give you a better understanding on how offset works

    http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=38867
     
    raptori says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    ok I did it , I managed to get the CPU work at specific speed and voltage and allow it to drop voltage when idle ,

    the one thing that concern me is the the offset value required to achieve my OC was around 0.145v which was colored red in bios but I assume its safe as long as its negative value, correct me if I'm wrong.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page