1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X800 acting funny

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by dj_dn, Mar 30, 2006.

  1. dj_dn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Canada, QC, Gatineau
    From time to time my 2d display will get corrupted full of lines then it goes away then commes back there yellow and gray but some vertical lines are ok. When i start the cube in atitool while its doing this the whole cube is yellow. Please tell me its not the vram again. here is the log:
    2006-03-22 07:10:51 ATITool v0.25 Beta 14 started.
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Successfully connected to driver, version 124
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Found ATI device: 0x1002 0x4A49 bus 3 dev 0
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xE2000000.
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D mmapped mmr to 0x13A0000
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D BIOS at 0xC0000
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D mmapped bios to 0x13B0000
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D LM63 temp chip detection: success (0x1)
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Temperature monitoring: LM63
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Device initialized successfully
    2006-03-22 07:11:07 Application terminated.
    2006-03-22 07:11:12 ATITool v0.25 Beta 14 started.
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Successfully connected to driver, version 124
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Found ATI device: 0x1002 0x4A49 bus 3 dev 0
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xE2000000.
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D mmapped mmr to 0x13A0000
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D BIOS at 0xC0000
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D mmapped bios to 0x13B0000
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D LM63 temp chip detection: success (0x1)
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Temperature monitoring: LM63
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Device initialized successfully
    2006-03-30 06:56:46 ATITool v0.25 Beta 14 started.
    2006-03-30 06:56:46 D Successfully connected to driver, version 124
    2006-03-30 06:56:46 D Found ATI device: 0x1002 0x4A49 bus 3 dev 0
    2006-03-30 06:56:47 D fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xE2000000.
    2006-03-30 06:56:47 D mmapped mmr to 0xD90000
    2006-03-30 06:56:47 D BIOS at 0xC0000
    2006-03-30 06:56:47 D mmapped bios to 0xDA0000
    2006-03-30 06:56:47 D LM63 temp chip detection: success (0x1)
    2006-03-30 06:56:47 D Temperature monitoring: LM63
    2006-03-30 06:56:47 D Device initialized successfully
    2006-03-30 06:56:50 Scan for Artifacts started... Core: 472.50 MHz Memory: 445.50 MHz
    2006-03-30 06:56:50 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00
    2006-03-30 06:56:51 Artifacts detected after 00:01.04. 70 pixels don't match.
    2006-03-30 06:57:32 Last message repeated 5851 times.
    2006-03-30 06:57:32 Scan for Artifacts stopped Total runtime: 42 seconds
    2006-03-30 06:58:05 Scan for Artifacts started... Core: 472.50 MHz Memory: 445.50 MHz
    2006-03-30 06:58:29 Scan for Artifacts stopped Total runtime: 23 seconds
    2006-03-30 06:59:07 Scan for Artifacts started... Core: 472.50 MHz Memory: 445.50 MHz
    2006-03-30 06:59:13 Scan for Artifacts stopped Total runtime: 6 seconds

    My system spec are :
    CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2800+ BARTON 333FSB Processor
    Motherboard: Asus A7N8X-E-DX NF2 S462 Mainboard w/Audio/GBLan/SATA/RAID/FW
    Carte Video: RADEON X800 pro VIVO 256 MB (softmod to 16pipes)
    Disk Drive: Maxtor 6 Y080M0 SCSI Disk Device (80 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA)
    Maxtor 6Y080L0 (80 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/133)
    = 160 GB
    Ram: 1024 MB (2 x 512 MB)
    Lecteurs: HL-DT-ST CD-RW GCE-8525B (52x/32x/52x CD-RW)
    HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-4163B (DVD Burner 16x)
    Case: Antec SLK3700AMB Mid-Tower Case w/350W PS, Black
    Thermal Paste: Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound
    Antec 120MM Pro Case Fan, Dbl Ball Bearing(X2)
    Arctic Cooling ATI Silencer4


    2006-03-22 07:10:51 ATITool v0.25 Beta 14 started.
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Successfully connected to driver, version 124
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Found ATI device: 0x1002 0x4A49 bus 3 dev 0
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xE2000000.
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D mmapped mmr to 0x13A0000
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D BIOS at 0xC0000
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D mmapped bios to 0x13B0000
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D LM63 temp chip detection: success (0x1)
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Temperature monitoring: LM63
    2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Device initialized successfully
    2006-03-22 07:11:07 Application terminated.
    2006-03-22 07:11:12 ATITool v0.25 Beta 14 started.
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Successfully connected to driver, version 124
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Found ATI device: 0x1002 0x4A49 bus 3 dev 0
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xE2000000.
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D mmapped mmr to 0x13A0000
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D BIOS at 0xC0000
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D mmapped bios to 0x13B0000
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D LM63 temp chip detection: success (0x1)
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Temperature monitoring: LM63
    2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Device initialized successfully
    2006-03-30 06:56:46 ATITool v0.25 Beta 14 started.
    2006-03-30 06:56:46 D Successfully connected to driver, version 124
    2006-03-30 06:56:46 D Found ATI device: 0x1002 0x4A49 bus 3 dev 0
    2006-03-30 06:56:47 D fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xE2000000.
    2006-03-30 06:56:47 D mmapped mmr to 0xD90000
    2006-03-30 06:56:47 D BIOS at 0xC0000
    2006-03-30 06:56:47 D mmapped bios to 0xDA0000
    2006-03-30 06:56:47 D LM63 temp chip detection: success (0x1)
    2006-03-30 06:56:47 D Temperature monitoring: LM63
    2006-03-30 06:56:47 D Device initialized successfully
    2006-03-30 06:56:50 Scan for Artifacts started... Core: 472.50 MHz Memory: 445.50 MHz
    2006-03-30 06:56:50 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00
    2006-03-30 06:56:51 Artifacts detected after 00:01.04. 70 pixels don't match.
    2006-03-30 06:57:32 Last message repeated 5851 times.
    2006-03-30 06:57:32 Scan for Artifacts stopped Total runtime: 42 seconds
    2006-03-30 06:58:05 Scan for Artifacts started... Core: 472.50 MHz Memory: 445.50 MHz
    2006-03-30 06:58:29 Scan for Artifacts stopped Total runtime: 23 seconds
    2006-03-30 06:59:07 Scan for Artifacts started... Core: 472.50 MHz Memory: 445.50 MHz
    2006-03-30 06:59:13 Scan for Artifacts stopped Total runtime: 6 seconds
    2006-03-30 06:59:16 Application terminated.
    2006-03-30 07:02:40 ATITool v0.25 Beta 14 started.
    2006-03-30 07:02:40 D Successfully connected to driver, version 124
    2006-03-30 07:02:40 D Found ATI device: 0x1002 0x4A49 bus 3 dev 0
    2006-03-30 07:02:40 D fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xE2000000.
    2006-03-30 07:02:40 D mmapped mmr to 0xD90000
    2006-03-30 07:02:40 D BIOS at 0xC0000
    2006-03-30 07:02:40 D mmapped bios to 0xDA0000
    2006-03-30 07:02:41 D LM63 temp chip detection: success (0x1)
    2006-03-30 07:02:41 D Temperature monitoring: LM63
    2006-03-30 07:02:41 D Device initialized successfully
    2006-03-30 07:05:29 Scan for Artifacts started... Core: 472.50 MHz Memory: 445.50 MHz
    2006-03-30 07:05:29 Artifacts detected after 00:00.06. 656 pixels don't match.
    2006-03-30 07:05:29 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00
    2006-03-30 07:05:29 Artifacts detected after 00:00.07. 656 pixels don't match.
    2006-03-30 07:05:40 Last message repeated 1411 times.
    2006-03-30 07:05:40 Scan for Artifacts stopped Total runtime: 11 seconds
    2006-03-30 07:05:46 Application terminated.
     
  2. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    its a sign something isnt right with the card..

    card failing.. card going too fast.. faulty extra pipes.. can u take it back to stock and see if the problem goes away.???

    trog
     
  3. dj_dn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Canada, QC, Gatineau
    The card was unlocked for about 3 months. At first when i would hit my case to hard by mistake it would lock up and the whole screen would go black and white lines very weird lines and i couldnt se my desktop. But now it does this by its self but i can still se my desktop butwith wierd lines in it. Its not the first time a x800 does this to me, but my 9000 pro has no problemes.:(

    Heres some pics :
    http://img141.imageshack.us/my.php?image=video2small2ze.png
    http://img141.imageshack.us/my.php?image=video1dj.jpg
     
  4. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    when something reacts to physical knocks it tend to suggest a bad connection somewhere..

    have to tried re-seating your card and power plug.. push it in and out a few times.. other than that i recon the card has a fault.. could be those unlocked pipes or could be just dieing on u..

    u could also try flexing it about a bit while its running to see if that does anything..

    its a hardware thing.. not software..

    trog
     
  5. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    yeah dude like trog said...bring your card back to stock, and then reseat card and cooler. And then, because of the whole bad connection thing, once you have it stable, do NOT bump your PC!!! this is what, the 5th thread this week having to do with a retiring video card?
     
  6. dj_dn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Canada, QC, Gatineau
    I tried to reflash it back to stock but the pipes wont close. And i am pretty shur its not the pipes but more the ram on it. Can it be my PSU or my mother board who is killing it, my mother board is an Asus A7N8X-E-DX and my psu is the one supplied with the Antec SLK3700AMB Mid-Tower Case w/350W PS. Can i get it RMA'd with out the stock cooler(long story).

    Thx for your help:cry:
     
  7. dj_dn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Canada, QC, Gatineau
    bump
     
  8. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    try taking the core or memory speed up.. one at time.. if its the memory increasing the memory speed will make it worse.. if its the core/pipes increasing the core speed will make it worse..

    make sure the part u aint testing is going nice and slow so as not to confuse things..

    if taking both core and memory up dosnt alter things.. it might be your power supply.. the only way to test that is try another one..

    trog
     
  9. dj_dn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Canada, QC, Gatineau
    I did what you told me so here are the results:
    1- Lower gpu, higher mem : The white squares take up more space and some red ones start appearing

    2- Lower mem, Higher gpu : The comp just freezes and restarts

    3- On both test : when i start the cube in atitool theres a buzzing sound from my card when i stop it the sound goes away.

    4- tried a 3d game on default speeds and the comp freezes.

    5- I cant seem to close my pipes, going back to 12p, i keep reflashing it with ati x800 agp Bios's and they wont close

    Thx for the help solving my problem, i just wish i could wait to get a directx 10 card before upgrading from this one:banghead:
     
  10. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    dont put up with a card that dosnt work waiting for DX 10.. its ages away.. and games that will be written for it even further away.. from what u say i think your card is kinda dead.. send it to its grave and buy another one..

    one last test.. run the furry dice and see if u can get something to show the voltage on your 12 volt rail/rails.. it would be a bugger to buy a new card if it was the power supply.. i dont think it is but try and make sure..

    trog
     
  11. dj_dn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Canada, QC, Gatineau
    Thx for all your help. Well im tired off this old rig. Time to get a new one, euhm i smell a 165 opty, 2 gigs of ram, and a 7900 gt
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page