1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X800 GTO² to X850 XT BIOS Mod

Discussion in 'Articles' started by W1zzard, Sep 13, 2005.

  1. BlackPearl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    54 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Goof Off or other xylene-based cleaners also work very well (and are also recommended by Arctic Silver). Those cleaners can be purchased at any hardware or home improvement store so they may be easier to find. I think that rubbing alcohol contains too much water to be very effective. BTW, when I removed my HSF there was hardly any compound on my RAM and a large gob on the GPU - quickly applied, I guess.
     
  2. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I noticed that you said it booted 2 out of 3 times then refused to boot afterwards. It's possible that maybe you didn't get good contact between the gpu and the heatsink and your gpu is burned out... Did you check to see if it was making good contact with it or not?
     
  3. Unregistered Guest

    This is what I'm worried about =/
    Hence why I removed the entire thing.
     
  4. Trevor New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    44 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oops, that was me above.
    ANyway, that's what I'm worried about.
    Probably a bit more than 2... it was just an issue with my HDD.
    If it did fry, I think I'll be able to RMA it (just stick the old stuff back on...)
    As I still have my 30 day OEM warranty.
    Going to buy some thermaltape/grease/etc. now...
    --Trevor
     
  5. Dr.D New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    55 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  6. Unregistered Guest

    That's probably why the price dropped to 199 again--They were intending to bring it up to 299, but a typo?
     
  7. Pentium D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I got mine from newegg for $199
     
  8. Dr.D New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    55 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah First it was 229.99 (I think) then 199.99 then it went of of stock and the page was "disabled". Now its back at 299

    That pisses me off, I dont know if I am ever gonna get this card
     
  9. RobP4P Guest

    Agp Version From Computerhq??

    Ok, someone asked a few posts back what the difference was between part number 100131 and 100130 that most of you have been getting. Did anyone else notice that computerHQ is claiming to have an AGP VERSION of the GTO2???

    Is this for real? I think I might have to take a chance on this...
     
  10. RobP4P Guest

  11. RobP4P Guest

    Agp Gto2

    well, I just took a chance and ordered one of the agp versions. I'll keep you all posted if the agp version works anything like the pci-e has been for everyone else!
     
  12. Unregistered Guest

    Yea I just purchased an AGP version of it from excaliberpc and there is actually a description of it. I'll also update as I get it and such.
     
  13. Unregistered Guest

    Can you explain what part didn't fit and how you fixed it? I'm planning on getting a Zalman too with my GTO2.
     
  14. Unregistered Guest

    the ram sinks didnt fit so he just cut a little bit off the end to get it to fit, it wont affect the performance so dont worry, the zalman vf700 is the best cooler imo.
     
  15. HousERaT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    109 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    sorry it took so long to respond to this..... actually I have a revision 2, well that's what it said on the package.
     
  16. Unregistered Guest

    Ulocked Connect x800GTO

    Just to let people know that I too have managed to unlock the full 16 pipes on this card.

    R423 core
     
  17. Unregistered Guest

    I want to run my X800_GTO2 as X850XT speed Full time instead of open ATI Tool everytime I reboot my computer.

    Can I just flash it to X850_XT or X850_XTPE?
    (of course with non-VIVO one, if there is.)
     
  18. Cally New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  19. Trevor New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    44 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok... so, I need thermal tape for the ramsinks.. anyone know where I can buy it, pref. locally? (I.e., what kind've stores might have it..)

    Someone said to just use scotch tape, but that sounded absurd, to say the least.
     
  20. BlackPearl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    54 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You should be able to find thermal interface tape/pads in any computer store with component-level products since they are replacements for the material used on OEM coolers on old Intel and AMD processors. Locally I've bought at Fry's where they have .75" and 1.5" widths. Or you can order from the manufacturer of your ramsinks.

    As for whoever proposed scotch tape :nutkick:
     
  21. Unregistered Guest

    SSID mismatch on Sapphire GTO2

    Hi;

    I got the Sapphire X800GTO2 'Retail Lite' version. If I try to flash up to 16 pipes (using Sapphire.X800GTO2_16p.Samsung16.bin and flashrom16) I get:

    BIOS DEVID= 0x5D4F
    ASIC DEVID= 0x5D4F
    Exsisting SSID= 0x1600
    New SSID= 0x0302

    and says I would need to force the flash.

    Is it supposed to do this? (the article doesn't mention needing to 'force' the flash). I don't see anyone else mentioning this problem flashing their GTO2 cards.

    Is this because it's a 'retail' instead of EOM card? Is it safe to force the flash?

    Thanks;
     
  22. RobP4P Guest

    mod BIOS for AGP?

    Is the modified BIOS shown in the guide for PCI-E only? Is there any difference between the BIOS for AGP and PCI-E? If so, any idea what to do for the AGP version?
     
  23. Psxcrazy Guest

    my case runs extremly hot with new card

    loving the gto2 but my case gets awfly warm and i cant get the card to overclock past 500 540 without there being artifacts i have to keep my fans cranked and 100% just to keep my case at about 45c while playing a game i just dont understand why i cant overclock higher i tried ocing it with a house fan right on the card and still no luck could it be cause i bout a sony pc i still get a decent score on 3d mark of 5700
     
  24. Unregistered Guest

    am curious regarding this also...
     
  25. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I say you probably shouldn't try the modified bios on the agp version. Instead follow the instructions I posted earlier. That will basically make your own modified bios with 16 pipelines. :) If you want, you could even save the 16 pipeline bios after you are done.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page