1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X800 GTO² to X850 XT BIOS Mod

Discussion in 'Articles' started by W1zzard, Sep 13, 2005.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    no agp version
  2. Ebola New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Metz, France
    May you argue a bit because some adverts anounce that there wille be somme AGP version.

    IMO there will NOT be AGP version, they are not gonna spend anymore money in a bridge for an obsolete slot :)
  3. HousERaT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    109 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey haplo? what kind of scores are you getting with your system now in 3DMarks? What are your system specs?
  4. jerrym2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I had 3 out of 4 9500's turn into 9700's, 2 out of 4 9800se's turn into 9800 pro's, I am just thinking of upgrading to pci-e and can not pass this up. I think of it as free equipment. Had to get a pci-e card anyway, was going to get a x800xl but this is more interesting. Ordered it from Allstarshop for 223.00 US shipped. Will not be able to test for awhile because no pci-e board.
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2005
  5. jerrym2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    By the way, thank you very much W1zzard, without all your information I would not have been able to do any of this.
  6. hoho220@ocforums.com Guest

    Hrmm

    It seems that this card will flash to an x850xt pe...The reliablity of the card however is in question. Remember these cards are not x850xt pes for a reason... with that said. I am not bashing the flash... it really is sweet and I am ordering a card tomorrow. However I do have to question how long we will have these cards before they fail.
  7. HousERaT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    109 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    If I get one you can rest assured I won't be flashing it to an XT. I'll be happy to flash it with the provided modded bios and call it a day. I don't need an XT as long as I can get 16 pipes and plenty of overclock...... :D
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    people were saying the same about the 9500 softmod .. i havent seen many of these cards die yet...
  9. Trevor New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    44 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I do hope someone will find another place to buy these.
  10. Unregistered Guest

  11. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    Dang, that can go to X850 XT PE with the stock heatsink.....crazy. I mean I thought it was before but I didn't know it had a crappy heatsink, I mean imagine a VF700Cu or an X8%% XT heatsink! That would KILL even overclocked X850XT PE's. I am really jealous right now since I have no use for it because it's only PCIe and I just bought Nvidia's counterpart (a 6800GT that clocks to 6800 UE), but hey, the way I think of it, when I upgrade to PCIe It'll be in at least a year and by then the X800 series will already be cheaper, plus the new generation will be out. Although it SUCKS that I payed $245 for my Nvidia when I could get an ATI that's even better for $200, but oh well. With research Nvidia does actually outdo ATI with their cards without AA or AF, and even with it they don't lag too far behind, so it's not too big.
  12. prius24 Guest

    Are the Sapphire GTO2 x800 OEM and the retail lite both flashable and overclockable? If so, isn't it better to get the OEM version because it's cheaper.
  13. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    Well the Lite package comes with games, a box, guides and cables, but OEM means you only get the card. So they're the same thing, just the lite package gives you more stuff. So since they're the same they'll overclock the same.
  14. Unregistered Guest

    what are the chances of getting a moddable x800gto2?
  15. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    I would say 100% if you buy one, I mean unless it's a dud but then every graphics card has possible duds.
  16. bbL Guest

    Well.. i bought Connect3D's X800 GTO and it modded to work with 16 pipelines.. Frequencys just cannot be raised to X850 XT or XT PE numbers.. Core 470mhz and mem. 500mhz :> Btw i havent read all posts, so pls don't complain if something of that info is old ;D
  17. Migons New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    252 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    Here in Finland same situation. ATITool is reporting Connect3D X800 GTO to have R423 core, but really it has R480 (i don't do all C3D's GTO's have). And if you flash directly the Sapphire.X800GTO2_16P.Samsung16.bin BIOS, only 8 pipes are then enabled. But you must first flash the original Sapphire.X800GTO2.Samsung16.bin BIOS, and then the 16P modded Sapphire.X800GTO2_16P.Samsung16.bin. Now you have successfully enabled 16 pipes.

    PS. I don't have the card, a user from Muropaketti has it.
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2005
  18. bbL Guest

    no johan outoa settiä iskee o_O When i started my pc 1st time with that C3D GTO, Atitool said that the core is R480 (if i remember it right) and it had 12 pipelines, then i put the new bios, then went to windows and got a nice surprise when atitool said, that card has 0 active pipelines.. well, just reinstalled drivers, rebooted and got those 16 pipes
  19. Migons New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    252 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    Jahas, sinäkös se olitkin jo tuossa ylempänä :)
  20. bbL Guest

    khyl :D ja muistin kuiteki vääri, et kyll se atitool ekana sano et r423.. no kuiteki :D
  21. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Haha, all this talk about how this card is easily moddable to be equivalent to an X850 XT PE is making me want to return my Powercolor X800 GT and get the Sapphire X800 GTO2 instead. It would cost me about an additional $60, though. I still have about a week and a half time period that I could return it for an 85% refund.

    BTW, do all of them have the 1.6 ns memory chips?
  22. Migons New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    252 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    Reporting now another successful 16P mod here. Connect3D X800 GTO again. He says with original BIOS core can reach 550MHz, but with the Sapphire.X800GTO2_16P.Samsung16.bin it only does 470MHz, just like bbL above. Something limiting in that bios? Also the 2.0ns memory chips are going 490MHz fine now, with original bios memory did 550MHz fine.
  23. grtek New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Mod Confirmed Again

    Well I got my card yesterday and I had enough time to use it. And I can say the mod worked perfectly. I had some trouble at first cause of my floppy drive, but once I flashed it, everything was good. I still haven't tried overclocking, but I will do that soon.

    Oh yeah this was on a Sapphire X800GTO2 OEM card.
  24. pmr123 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    which is a reliable place to buy this (X800GTO2) card from in US ? and is it worth trying to find a lite retail version....appreciate any advice...thanks
  25. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    Shadowflare, if I were you I would do it as soon as possible man. The GT and GTO2 are about the same price (at newegg.com, about $200) and obviously the GTO2 has the capability to be TWICE as powerful as the GT. I never had that choice when I bought my Radeon 9800 Pro, it was the best I could get in my price range. But seriously dude, in a couple months you're gonna wish you had more power (new games). Although the GT is a great card, just saying price-to-power the GTO2 is about a 200% better value.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page