1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X800 GTO² to X850 XT BIOS Mod

Discussion in 'Articles' started by W1zzard, Sep 13, 2005.

  1. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ^I actually ordered it only an hour after posting that other message. :D

    I was thinking about it during that time period, and I figured that since mine didn't come with what I would need to have to connect 2 CRT displays (or any other 2 non-DVI displays) and also didn't come with the component video adaptor and the Sapphire card does, it would make up for part of the price because of not having to buy those adaptors later. Those are both things I would like to have and getting them through ATI would cost about $35 total. The DVI->VGA adaptor could be bought elsewhere, so maybe a little less than $35 total if I didn't get an ATI DVI->VGA adaptor. The Powercolor card does have dual-DVI, but I don't even have any DVI-supported displays yet and probably won't for quite a while. Anyway, considering that, it wouldn't have to be even nearly as fast as it can be for it to be worth it to me for the price difference; especially if I would have waited a couple of weeks and bought the X800 GTO2 originally. :(

    I'll probably be receiving it Friday or Saturday. I'll be waiting until I try it out first before I send the other back. After I try it out, I'll post my results here. :)

    BTW, why hasn't anyone posted their 3dmark05 score with the overclock and without the pipe unlock? I'm kind of curious about the difference in speed when running at X850 XT PE clock speeds with 12 and 16 pipes compared with the difference in speed when running stock speeds with 12 and 16 pipes. The reason is that the speeds before and the pipe unlock don't seem too dramatic compared with just overclocking.

    This video card will make my system more like a high-end system rather than a mid-range or mid-high-end system like it is right now, especially when my cpu and memory are overclocked, too. :D (look at specs in sig)
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2005
  2. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    Alright, but If you look at X850XT PE's they're going for about $350 to $400, which is twice as much as a GTO2, compared to $35 in accessories. Plus, from that one website with the "lite" package, I think those lites come with connectors. Although I completely understand if you don't play games much or don't want to overclock and just need a practical card.
     
  3. Unregistered Guest

    I've just have see x800GTO² in newegg. Looks very nice but if i want to change the stock heatsink to other better (like Arctic Cooling, Zalman) what silencer model would be the correct in accordance with PCB used in Sapphire GTO².
     
  4. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes, quite a savings there compared with the X850XT PE. :)

    The one I ordered is the oem package from newegg.com (that's the only one they have at the moment); it is pictured with the connectors and a driver CD. Isn't the only difference between that and the lite package that it comes in a special box for it? Then there's the full retail package which also includes other software, like games, etc.

    I do plan on flashing the bios to unlock the pipeslines and also seeing how high it can overclock, but I don't intend on having the overclock the default for 3d games until I have one that would benefit. ;) I probably will go back to the 12 pipelines until then, too.


    As for the correct silencer model for the PCB (asked by the above person), I'd say the ATI Silencer 5 is likely the one to use (if someone knows, correct me if I'm wrong ;) )
     
  5. Unregistered Guest

    maz006

    Interesting thread, just wanted to pass on the 1st UK retailer I've managed to find selling sapphire GTO2 , well not yet but pre ordering http://www.tekheads.co.uk/s/product?product=605103.

    Pricing is at £166 delivered. A little more expensive then I expected. Originally wanted to spend about £100 on a vid card but thought £125 was good for price for a GT card. Now £166 for a card that I just can't pass on. This system is getting more expensive by the day. Anyone know of any other UK sellers, prices, and number of cards expected. I guess these hardware guy's know what they are selling and pricing is relative considering mod.

    Anyone know what availability is (going to be) like generally (globally)?
     
  6. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Lol, a retailer showing pipe unlockability as one of the selling points? :D Quote from above link: "Details on the available mod for the Sapphire X800GTO2 graphics card are available by following the link here to the techpowerup site." It even refers this site. ;)
     
  7. Unregistered Guest

    Yay im so happy, opened 16 pipelines! When i first flashed the modified bios, it didnt work. But flash the original bios, and then the modified one and it works fine.
    Got my x800gto2 from allstarshop yesterday. thank you guys!
     
  8. HousERaT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    109 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I've been wondering the exact same thing. Almost looks like people are scared to post. Lots of talk but not one screenie. Perhaps someone will be willing to back up all the talk with some proof?
     
  9. Unregistered Guest

    I don't know what Sapphire charge your retailers, but seems like they or maybe you guys are getting ripped off at that price when newegg is charging $199, about £112? Even if you include your tax it still only comes to about £130 which is probably a nicer price for what is an OEM card afterall. Maybe your retailers know there are limited GTO2s in Europe and overcharge you guys because they can?
     
  10. thedivinehairband New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    255 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Horsham, England
    It is a total ripoff. there have been many computer mags saying about it. we have this magical conversion rate that usually goes along the lines of $1 = £1. its disgraceful. I hate it. but its a real bugger trying to get hold of an american retailer that does international delivery of computer components. availability has nothing to do wiv it. its the eu and goverments regulations and shit like that. and greedy ass retailers.
     
  11. HousERaT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    109 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    wow..... all of a sudden I feel a little better about being an american. We get good computer prices...... :p
     
  12. Kinan Guest

    Aye. In Germany preorder for GTO2 has started for 249 Euro. Too expensive to my liking, I ordered normal sapphire GTO for 160 Euro instead.
     
  13. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    Houserat, why would you be ashamed of being an american?!?!?!?!?! Please don't tell me you're a bush-hating, anti-war democrat too. I seem to be the only guy I know willing to stick up for my country (marines in about 8 months) and the only guy that likes bush.
     
  14. Haplo_09 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well here is my score,
    I have 512 ram
    athlon64 3000+
    the core was oveclocked to 500Mhz
    memory up to 590MHz
    16 pipes
     

    Attached Files:

  15. BlackPearl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    54 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Very nice score - are you running your 3000+ oc too?
     
  16. Haplo_09 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nope I havent oc-locked yet, just standart speeds.
    oh and also memory was with timing 2.5 8 3 3, If I purchase geil with cas latency 1.5 2 2 2 how strong will it boost the performance of computer.
    How far this score is from the XT PE card ??
     
  17. Unregistered Guest

    powercolor x800gto

    Is it possible to do the modding from the article here step by step with this card and have it work?
    It's not sapphire and it isn't named gto2.

    Any suggestions?

    I surely hope so because I just ordered the Powercolor x800gto !

    cheers
    Michael
     
  18. Unregistered Guest

    it only works with the sapphire gto2's. you wont see them on sapphires web site because they were intened for oem use and not retail release.
     
  19. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    249 for the GTO2 compared with 160 for the GTO? That's ridiculous! In the US, the price difference is only about $10 ($199 compared with $189). They are really taking advantage of this in Europe with knowing that its pipes are easily unlockable and it is overclockable to a high degree.
     
  20. bbL Guest

    well atleast my Connect3D X800 GTO works well with that mod which i got from here... only frequencys cant reach higher than 470/500 mhz
     
  21. Ebola New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Metz, France
    That score sounds not quite good, considering that a X800-XL(16pp) @ 500MHz will do better than this.

    Is 500 MHz max achievable ? You use stock cooling and voltage ?
     
  22. Haplo_09 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes stock cooling; I didnt modify voltage.. and didnt oclock more.
    there is no need for me to go higher at this moment..

    by the way what is normal xtpe score .??
     
  23. HousERaT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    109 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Normal xtpe should be around 6000 at stock, maybe higher.
     
  24. Haplo_09 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    "xtpe should be around 6000 at stock, maybe higher.:

    What should be the configuration of other hardware get 6000.
    Well my score and it was only 130 away. I think if I replace memory and o/c cpu I would get much higher...
     
  25. Ebola New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Metz, France
    3DM05 is CPU/Memory few sensitive
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page