1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X800 GTO² to X850 XT BIOS Mod

Discussion in 'Articles' started by W1zzard, Sep 13, 2005.

  1. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    ok, your lucky, 535mhz is way beyond the capabilities of the R430, which maxes out at around 450mhz, but it does look like the ram is 2.0ns.

    You should be find to use a standard x850xt bios with it, but make sure you make a backup of the original before flashing.
     
  2. adizonevic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Correction... I can push the GPU to 435 (not 535), so it's r430 for sure...
    I did make a backup of the original BIOS (11x-xx600asa-001) and flashed with the modified x800gto2 version (16 pipes). I suppose the modified version comes from R480/1,6ns version, this is why I'm wondering about compatibility.
    Thanks!
     
  3. twinsen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    YAY tht means mine is a proper r480 well i guess it is since i can play css for >3 hours without a crash. I think there may be a problem with the latest driver though as occasionally games just freeze straight away like when loading. I was using 603 core and 580 mem but temperatures got into 80s so i tuned it down to 530 540. This was done with standard cooling idles at 42 C which is quite high but my old 6800gt idled at 62 so its prob good. How high can these chips take because mine went up to 98 during a long gaming session. But seems to have survived
     
  4. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Wow, 603mhz on the core is awsome! What cooler does it have? With a decent cooler, you could exceed that by about 30+mhz, and the temps should be a little more comforting!

    ATI rates the chips for an absolute maximum of 120c... But 100c will lower the lifetime of the core by a lot! I think the lifetime's halfed for every 10c more? I'm pretty sure i remember that correctly.

    Anyway, you've definatly got a nice one.

    adizonevic:

    Sorry to hear yours is the r430, i'd ask the supplier about getting it changed, but you may not have any luck. Where did you get it?

    I emailed the guys at www.tekheads.co.uk , and they gave me some BS reply saying the boxes are factory sealed, so we cannot check what card is in the box, which definatly does not inspire me with great confidence. I think they have checked, but just don't want to loose a sale by telling me they have the rubbish version.

    I'm gonna check around and see if any other distributors are more helpful.
     
  5. twinsen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Im sure they would have recieved all the info for tht batch they probably order them in bulk mayb 30 at a go so they r probably all the same type.

    how long is the lifetime of a chip anyway
    They usually go for years and years with no probs even if u oc them. Well im sure it will last the next 2 years.
    Its just using the standard cooler at the moment but i will prob get an artic silencer rev 2 x850 model shud provide significant noise and heat loss.

    On my first run at overclocking the card my ati tool crashed and i never realised it was running in background. But it put it all the way upto 650 + Then it kinda crappered up ig and big squares stated appearing. Thought id busted it after about half an hours use ;)
     
  6. adizonevic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, I guess I will have to live with my R430, and quite frankly I'm not that unhappy with it.
    Managed to push it to 435/570 last night with fan set to 100%. Temp stayed at 57c, no artifacts in atitool
    3dmark05 score with stock speed and 16p came up to 5100, and OC'd to 435/570 up to 5650
    That's not a bad result I think, somewhere between x800xl and x850xt... correct me if I'm wrong...
     
  7. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,781 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Well, I will ne throwing my card on eBay soon. All 16 pipelines were already unlocked via factory.

    R480 Core
    1.6ns GDDR3
    OC'ed easy to 600/1260
    Already flashed to X850XT
    Dual DVI
    VIVO
    etc.

    Nice card & performs great. Rock stable in other words.
     
  8. KGB44 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys, today my new GTO² comes to me, becouse my old one crashes all the time in games. The fan was not as fast as before...damaged i think.


    Today, a new card comes, in retail and with all brand new.


    The new GTO² has the R480 too, and overclocking is much nicer :rockout:

    The old card: 567/608

    The new one: 608/648 without any modifications and stock cooling :D :twitch:
     
  9. twinsen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My ass do u get 648 for mem you git. i only get 580.
     
  10. KGB44 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes, ca. 1300 MHZ DDR :toast:
     
  11. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Thats incredible... i wander how far it'd go with the vdd/vddq voltmods. You could exceed 700 easy! You got a lucky one :D

    Be sure to put some benchmark scores in your sig, 3dmark05 would be nice! ;)

    Happy gaming!

    ~IR
     
  12. rocky_balboa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well, i just bought a sapphire x800gto card..
    looks like a fireblade, cousa it has a second slot cooler..

    anyway, it has a r480 core as 12pp
    can it be moded?
    im afraid do do something wrong and loose the card =(
     
  13. KGB44 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Download ATI TOOL, open it.

    Press and Hold (!) the "SHIFT" Key and go into the "Settings" Menü in ATI TOOL.

    There you can see "fuses"

    CONFIG_DIE_FUSES
    CONFIG_SUBSTRATE_FUSES


    Please post your Numbers and Digits...
     
  14. rocky_balboa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanx 4 the reply!

    CONFIG_DIE_FUSES 0xFFFF7FFF
    CONFIG_SUBSTRATE_FUSES 0xFFFFFF9E
     
  15. KGB44 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Your Graphic Card is with a little luck modable...

    But you can't flash only another BIOS, you must do a Hardware Mod.


    You need a little bit time, a sensitive hand ;) , silver lack or a pencil. But i dont know i a pencil works...


    You see the two points on the attached image? You must do a little line around the cut...


    The two points must have contact to each other...

    If you do that with a pencil, you can't destroy your card i think. If you do it with silver, you must do it good, and without contact to the cut.

    ...

    Happy Modding :toast:
     

    Attached Files:

  16. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Don't even bother, that doesn't exist on R480's, so there is no reason to take the cooler off unless you are either replacing the thermal compound or changing the cooling.
     
  17. lixtek New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I bought A red GTO2 with powerconnector...as far as good. It came already with 16pipelines without flashing the bios.
    Anyway I am very disappointed, because when I try to find the max. core and memory it just goes until 500/550.
    Would the overclocking abilities better if I flash a new bios like described in wizzards guide?
     
  18. KGB44 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No, not really...the overclocking is only limited by physical. If you flash another BIOS, you would be able to get 510 MHZ Core and 560MHZ Memory...nothing more without VGPU or VDD Mod...
     
  19. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,781 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Well, the only advantage you will have for flashing your bios to a X850XT R480 core is when you instal the drivers for your card. It will auto instal the R480 drivers, not the R430 which is what the card reads @ stock.

    I did testing & found that when my card was running @ stock speed but read as a R430 w/ 16 pipelines, I gained a little more performance @ the same speed when I flashed to a R480 bios, but had to downclock to the original speed to find out if that would give it any performance.

    Plus I also found that I had more stable OC's when my system read my card as the R480 & not the R430.

    This is why I gained 550 core & 1150 Mem on AIR & 610 Core & 1260 Mem on Water ;)
     
  20. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Can i benefit from flashing the BIOS or modding an ATI Radeon X800XL R430?
     
  21. grunge New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Excuse my ignorance but, where could I get the bios for the R480? :banghead:
     
  22. lixtek New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks, for your replies! I hope a biosflash will work! Perhabs KGB44 is right and it is a physical thing...but I have to test it with a biosflash.
    @superxp : I have a gto2 with an r480, which xt bios would you recommend?
    THX for help!


    I tried several Bios the 850xt from spphire and powercolor. The problem is my fan always stops working after flashing the bios. Any solutions?
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2006
  23. Mulder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have an HIS X800GTO ICEQII Turbo with a power connector.

    Here is the ati tool screenshot:

    [​IMG]

    It also says R480. Can i flash this card to 16 pipes? If so, which bios should I use?

    Thanks.
     
  24. Migons New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    252 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    News from Finland:
    ATI has loosen up its restrictions regarding new X800 GTO cards. It seems that almost every manufacturer's new X800 GTO cards should be moddable to 16pp. Sapphire X800GTO Lite cards even have 1.6ns Samsung memory. And because of this, Sapphire supplies X800GTO2 cards now with 16pp (so nothing to mod anymore).

    That's what I've read, and thought maybe you're intrested too :) But this situation seems to be at least in Finland, I don't know about the other countries.

    |EDIT| Oh, some of that info is already listed on the article (update 30st Jan).
     
  25. grunge New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Use ATI Tool to override fan settings and load @ startup via registry key.....sorted!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page