1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X800 GTO² to X850 XT BIOS Mod

Discussion in 'Articles' started by W1zzard, Sep 13, 2005.

  1. Shens New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey again - my card (sapphire x800gto2) for some reason has the x850xt stock cooler supposedly (it has the fan which is covered by a shell which blows the air out of the back of the pc

    under no load whatsoever with speeds of 415/510 my card runs at between 33-35 degrees c.

    however when i search for artifacts it jumps rather quickly to between 55-58 degrees c.

    would searching for artifacts be classed as a high load? or just normal? playing world of warcraft jumps my temperature to about 40-44 degrees c

    i am just wondering how much more i can give this card without hurting it.
     
  2. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Those temperatures are fine, 80c should be about the maximum temperature you get, any further than that, and you can start doing damage. But ATI rates the core for 100c, and an absolute max of 120c (at which point the core will start breaking down).

    Yes, the 3d window and artifact scanning in ATITool is pretty much the heaviest load you can put on the card, so it's normal to see higher temperatures than you would in a game. :)
     
  3. Shens New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks for the reply. i'll think i'll leave it now until i can run through this thread and see how much most people are upping their cards by.
     
  4. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    just hit the find max buttons, and let atitool do it's thing ;) Just stop if the temperatures get too high. There is a big variation between maximum clocks on the x800gto2, some older ones get around 600/610, and the newer ones seem to get around 540/610, and the r430 ones, get a max of 460/570. ATITool basically loads the card, then slowly increases the frequency, while checking for errors, when it finds an error, it will start backing off a bit, so you don't need to worry about going too far.

    Your unlikely to damage your card unless 1. The temperature gets too high (100c +) 2. You voltmod it to some stupid voltage.

    Have fun :)
     
  5. Shens New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have a r480 core - some people have told me not to let ati tool do that because it can damage my card. It's extremely confusing having all sorts of different answers to my questions.

    I think I'll try find max core/memory, although what temperature should I be aiming for? I was thinking I shouldn't be going any more than 45 degrees c under no load so that will make it about 55 or so playing games. Not sure if that's about right. I am very poorly knowledged when it comes to overclocking. :(

    at the moment im at 425/520 - default is set at 400/490 :p so still some way to go.
     
  6. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    75-80c should be your max, 45c is very unrealistic, and even at stock speeds and a good cooler is hard to obtain.

    Some of the new beta versions of atitool didn't have working artifact detection, and would just keep increasing the core and memory. That's probably why people were telling you to overclock your card manually. With the 0.24 version your using, there is no problem with this, but while it's working, keep an eye on the 3d box. If yellow dots start appearing, and atitool doesn't back off, abort the find max, and drop the frequency a bit, and continue manually. Don't worry too much about damaging your card, it's very difficult to do by just raising the frequenies. If you do go too far, your computer usually crashes, and restarts with stock speeds again ;)
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2006
  7. testemo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  8. narsil New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi all i been reading this with interest (took hours lol) and had my eye on a gto2 for a while

    i finally got the cash for new mobo (asus a8n32-sli) and said card which i expecting today or 2morrow...but i still have few questions i in need of help with

    the card i ordered is sapphire gto2 dual dvi vivo........

    by the sounds of it this looks like a safe bet with it showing up as r430 core but in reality is 480 with all 16 pipes enabled

    so if this is the case do i need to change any bios?

    does wot card show as core have any impact on performance?

    or if all being well can i just burn the card in and oc it.

    this assuming i get the right card , i will find out soon :)

    sorry for silly question but my head kinda in a spin after soo many posts

    thanks
     
  9. agapecpus New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Help me unlock my pipes.

    Here are my specs
    connect3d X800GTO 256MB PCIe VIVO
    One VGA/One DVI
    Chip: R430
    Core OC: 648
    Memory OC: 615 (1230)
    Idle Temp: 43C

    I got to say I am pretty happy with the results thus far. I have yet to push it or bench it but thats whats next. Looking through the forums it does seem like I can unlock the last 4 pipes. I followed the guide that you guys laid out flashed the bios but it was a no go. ATI Tool still reported only 12 pipes. Reflashed with orginal bios. I uploaded stats of the FUSES from ATI Tools and my backup of the orginal bios. Feel free to mod my orginal bios or let me know which bios I should flash on this card. Thanks in advance for any help.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK

    Quite a lot of new x800gto2's now use an R430 core. You will be able to identify this by the blue pcb used, in which case you will probably only get a max core clock of around 450mhz, but lets keep our fingers crossed that ur get the R480 one.

    It's really up to you if you decide to flash the bios to make the card show as an x850xt(pe), some people have reported a small increase in performance, perhaps because the core is correctly recognised as r480. Personally i just think it looks kewl when you open the device manager and it reports that you have an "x850xt platinum edtion".

    Anyway, when you get it, open atitool, and see what it can do :D

    Good luck ;)

    Hmmm, you have an 'E' on the last character of the bottom line of fuse data. This usually indicates the last quad of pipelines can't be unlocked, at least not by bios flashing. You should try contacting dolf, and see what he thinks about your fuse data, you might be in luck.

    Sorry for the bad news anyway.
     
  11. narsil New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks for the reply infrared (glad i got your attention) :)

    it is indeed the red pcb and ati tool says r430 with 16 pipes enabled
    fuses read
    CONFIG_DIE 0xFFFFFFFF
    CONFIG_SUBSTRATE 0xFFFFFF9F (these 480? i read other guide but it confusing)

    i not going to change the bios until i check temps and see how far it goes. can u tell me how to do this? i cant seem to see how to with ati tool

    also i presume i must load new clock speeds evertime i boot

    EDIT- i found temp :) wot would u recommed as highest temp to set
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2006
  12. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    The highest temperature you should go to is about 80c, if it goes above that, drop back a bit.

    A useful feature of ATITool is the fan control in settings. To begin with, set the fan to 100%, then use the 'find max core/mem' buttons on atitool. Start of with the core, the 3d view will open and stress the card, while the frequencies are slowy raised. When it starts finding errors, atitool will lower the frequency until it's found the highest stable overclock. After about 20 minutes, click abort, note down the core frequency, then lower it by about 10mhz . Then click find max mem, and let it find the maximum memory. Once you know the two stable maximum frequencies, you can move the sliders, and set them manually.

    You definatly have the r480 core, so you can normally expect a core speed of 550mhz or more. And around 600mhz on the memory ;)

    Good luck :)
     
  13. narsil New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i tried what u said and i got core up tp 490 but i got a heat prob with my new mb, see this post
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=11771

    and it gets to 45c when core was on 490 this caused warnings from asus probe so i stopped

    i touched nb and sb etc but theydont feel that hot so maybe i need to get a proprt temp probe or something to be sure

    until i sort out this issue i wont be ocing anything but good news is it definetly seems like 480 core :)
     
  14. bortos New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    SAPPHIRE X800 GTO² LIMITED EDITION vivo dual dvi

    This card came with 16 pipes out of the box. I put arctic silver on the R480 core and the 1.6ns ram. Using the atitool I can O/C to 525/580 with stable results. Idle at 40C.

    Is there any benefit to flash the bios on this setup? Will it O/C more if I do?

    Did anyone figure out if making the r480 show up as a r480 instead of r430 made any difference?


    Thanks much.
     
  15. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    It doesn't really make much difference at all, but just looks cool having the card show as an x850.

    hmm, be careful with the AS5 on the memory, if any gets underneath the chips, it will kill it. The best thermal grease to use on the memory is Arctic Ceramique.

    You could get a better cooler for it, the Arctic Cooling ATI Silencer's are very good coolers, and well priced. This will help your overclock quite a bit, and keep temps way down.

    ~IR
     
  16. bortos New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  17. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    yeah, arcticlean is brilliant stuff, those who say they don't like it havn't tried it!!

    Nice price on that silencer... I wish i lived in america so i could use newegg :(
     
  18. BossBorot New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    get it at svc if you havent got it already its only 9.99

    http://www.svc.com/avc-at4-r1.html
     
  19. jetblue_xt New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi.. im kind of new to this.. i just got reatial x800 gto card..
    before i flashed it, i verifed everything through ati tools for the strigns and it mached.. heres the problem
    i tried flashing with flashrom which doesn't seem to work at all...
    then i tried atiflash and it seemed like it worked but the monitor will not turn on...
    it doesn't beep or anything..
    also, i edit the bin files where i changed the string to "60" to open all pipes..and saved it in hex editor.. can anyone post their modified 16 pipe bin file with stock clock speeds..
    or maybe someone can help me and tell me what im' doing wrong.
    also, im' running win xp pro sp 2 ep 8rda+ mobo also installed ati cats 6.5..
    1 more thing, i also tried using the techpowerup's bin for for 16 pipes. when i download it i just renamed it to 16pipe...
    thanks in advance.
     
  20. Marvin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, it is my first post here. I have a powercolor 800GTO, but i dont know if i can activate the 16 pipelines.
    Anyone have an idea ?
    Thanks
     
  21. bortos New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  22. Oorworm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is it still possible to flash a x800pro to a x850 xt pe?
    Which card work these days, cause maybe there are some new ones out.
    It should replace my 6600gt agp.

    Do you need an other cooler on the card when you flash it to an x850 xt pe?

    Regards
    Oor
     
  23. dowser New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    Recently bought a new and boxed Sapphire Radeon x800 gto2 - when I ran the ATITool against it, it already shows up as running 16 pipelines :) I assume this means I am free to try overclocking now, and there is no need to do anything with the card's BIOS?

    Cheers, Richard
     
  24. saigonson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Help me flash Asus x850 Pro PCIE to XT

    Hi All,

    I am trying to find a way to flash my Asus X850 Pro PCI-e to XT but I fail until now, I post my card picture and any one please take a look and help me to flash it.

    Thanks for advance,
     
  25. saigonson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry, miss attack file
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page