1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

x800 GTO AGP! with r480 core - i'm going nuts - Moddeable ?!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Drakan, Dec 20, 2005.

  1. Drakan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I'm about to go nuts.
    I've just bought my Saphire x800 GTO AGP.
    My Core is r480!!! That is what ATI TOOL shows!.

    As far as i know, i can't unlock 16 pipes with the r423 & r430 core, RIGHT ?.
    As far as i know, r480 core is the x850 XT Core, RIGHT ?.
    As far as i know, NOBODY has ever unlocked 16 pipes on a Sapphire x800 GTO AGP with r480 core, RIGHT ?.

    So, my real question is:
    How can i Unlock the 4 pipes via Ati Tool ?
    If i unlock the 4 pipes, what can happen to my video card if this doesn't work??. even if it is a r480 core, that is suposed to be able to unlock with no problems
    Somebody else have a saphire x800 gto AGP r480 core ?!?!?!?!?!

    i really really DON'T want to blow my video card up!!


    And PLEASE!!! if u r going to say "I HAVE A X800 GTO" plz say if it is AGP, PCI-E & Wich core it has. U can see the core with Ati Tool (google find kthx) but i still don't know how to change it to 16 pipes.
     
  2. noneed4me2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    620 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    San Bernardino CA
    i am not sure but i thought the agp versions use an r481 which is basically an r480. Does yours have vivo and what mem? this could be another case of a pro being remarked as a GTO, if so the mod for the pro might work for yours as well if its vivo. You can always visually check the core to see what it is. as far as pipe unlocks thats done via bios flashing. http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/100
     
  3. 1Strive

    1Strive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    682 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Texas
    I too have the Sapphire X800GTO (AGP Version)
    Yes, ATITool does show R480 Core, this will allow you to Overclock the hell outa this card.
    Mine is overclocekd 37.5% GPU and 30% RAM
    =======Default======Overclocked
    GUP-----400mhz--------550mhz
    RAM-----490mhz--------615mhz
    3Dmark05-4374----------5500

    So as you can see Overclocking the card w/ increse preformance greatly.
    However, the RAM used on our card is not the right type for the unlock as far as I can tell.
    Go into the ATI Tool and hold down the Shift key while clicking on settings.
    This will display the RAM's Fuse data. If you don't have "F" in the right spots then your card can't be unlocked.
    [​IMG]
    You would need a "F" where the 7 and E are on my screen shot. I will find the link to the thread or artical I saw this in and post it for you.
     
  4. 1Strive

    1Strive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    682 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Texas
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2005
  5. Drakan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oh well...
    the only bad thing is that here in chile the weather in summer is kinda hot.
    i have my card working at 520/510
    getting 5000 in 3dmark 2005.
    the temp is at 47 iddle, and goes until 61 load (with ati tool, I told the fan to go 100% when the card goes over 60°)

    i think is hot in here, but when i go with core up to 540 or 550, after a few minutes, the video card crash first and after a few minutes the hole pc crash also.
    i know my computer is a bottleneck for this video card. athlon xp 2600 512 ram 400 and a shitty a7v600-x (my nf7 got some problemas and i didn't want to buy everything else again).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page