1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X800 Pro VIVO to XT PE Bios Mod

Discussion in 'Articles' started by W1zzard, Jul 1, 2004.

  1. Safezone New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so is it correct still that ATI x800 PCI-E cards (ViVo or non-ViVo) can NOT be modified this way to unlock the 16 pipes?

    so ONLY AGP cards can use this method, and the PCI-E cards must be modified with pencil or some other such hard-modification?

    just verifying if there was any updates on this

    Thanks
     
  2. BIOHazard87

    BIOHazard87 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    162 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California, USA
    VIVO ONLY pci-e x800/850's can unlock with a bios flash using the modded flashrom
     
  3. Bloodwolf808 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Help please!!

    I loaded ati flash with a bootable floppy, and I tried 2 different flashes. x850 XT/x850 XT PE.
    Tried "atiflash -p 0 (biosname).bin" and i get this message.


    Old SSID:0002
    New SSID:0B12
    SSID mismatched

    ERROR 0FL01: Press "1" to continue.

    Please help me thanks in advanced.
     
  4. Sh0K New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You have to force the flash with the flag f:
    atiflash -p 0 (biosname).bin -f

    Try to see if your card is locked by using atiflash -i , you have to see under Lock, if it say yes you have to use the flag -sst

    atiflash -p 0 (biosname).bin -f -sst
     
  5. Bloodwolf808 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    :)

    thansk Sh0K im going to try that right now :)
     
  6. Bloodwolf808 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    under ATI tool is says 520 core/540 mem but only 12 active pipelines... The mem and the core are the from the flash but I'm not sure wats wrong with the pipelines. Anybody help?
     
  7. FiShBuRn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can someone mod by Connected X850PRO bios to 16 pipes?

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Xenn0X New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    did any one try to flash a x800 pro to x850?
    have a stable x800 to x800 xt pe (526/573)
    but was just wondering if i could flash in a x850 bios into this card.
     
  9. BigD6997

    BigD6997 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    X800 and X850 series have different chipsets, correct me if im wrong

    so i dont think it would work
     
  10. hogie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Unlocked pipelines, but lost them after I load Driver

    I have been able to successfully flash my x850 Pro Vivo to an xt with fan control and run stable at those clock speeds. I have also flashed to the x850 pro modified 16 pipeline.
    However, when my drivers are uninstalled it will show 16 pipelines unlocked. When in this state my ATI tools wont display 3d view. It will tell me to go to system, display, and then enable my graphics card. Unforetunetly this wont come up and I cant enable it.

    When I do install my drivers it drops back down to 12 pipelines. The attached word doc shows my fuses, the 16 pipes, and then the 12 pipes again.

    If anyone could let me know what I am doing wrong and what i need to do to keep all of the pipelines functioning I would appreciate it.

    I cant figure out why it would unlock and then drop them.

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Bloodwolf808 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I flashed the thing but only the core clock and the memory are loaded the flash i did the pipelines are still locked!! Please help tell me what flash to use.
     
  12. i r friend New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    maybe it has been asked before, but 80 pages of posts is just a bit much :)

    can laserlocked cards still be flashed to unlock the 16 pipes with the Gigabyte bios and flashing tool?

    thx for ur help
     
  13. Fr8nkl3n New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am going to try and unlock the extra pipes on my sapphire x800 pro vivo pci. Core and memory settings are already 475/500 so I may not try and overclock. The extra pipes will be a nice release and maybe enough work for the stock fan.

    Now, after being very clear at the start of this thread how to do it, I have become concerned at the end of it that it may not be able to be done.

    Can someone just point me in the right direction? Do I just follow the directions at the beginning and choose the X800 Pro 16P bios and leave the xt pe bios alone?

    Thanks
     
  14. Fr8nkl3n New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hogie
    Do you reckon the latest drivers from ATI reset this softmod?
    (In line with the comment that ATI may be trying to stop softmodding pipelines)
    Would earlier drivers (say from 12 months ago) give a different result?
     
  15. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,760 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Im not having any trouble with the current ATI drivers. Im using 6.1 and my X800pro
    w/ X800 XT PE Bios still has all 16 of its pipes.
     
  16. hogie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sounds quite possible....I must try the 6.1

    THanks
     
  17. kevinb70 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    laser locked cards can be unlocked to 16 pipes only if there is NOT a defective quad which is internally disabled in the die and can never be unlocked.. there are two types of locks possible...

    I just found out that $179 refurb ATI X800 Pro AGP 256MB [ordered from ati.com] was softmodable to unlock my 12 to 16 pipes now!!! Running as a X800 XT PE [looks like ati tool is giving me 510/513 w/16 pipes but I had been playing 543/543 with 12 pipes (I don't think i did an artifact test at this speed but had played lots of bf2 with no problems)

    :toast:


    http://www.overclockers.com.au/wiki...if_an_X800.2FX850_series_card_can_be_unlocked

    Run rivatuner with those command line parameters and then check the 5th digit of the 990 field and the last digit of the 994 field... you can see if you have faulty pipes which are permanently disabled :mad: or which are unlockable OR if you are luckly like me, you have a VIVO card (yellow connector at the back of the card) which only requires a couple of BIOS flashes to go from 12 to 16 pipes and anotehr flash to put the XT PE BIOS in there....
     
  18. Cataclysm_J New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I followed this accuratly and went from Powercolor X850 Pro to Powercolor XT PE. It worked in the sence that my card booted but I still had 12 pipes and the fan wasn't running, I had to run the fan from Atitool. I used the modified Flashrom as I was ment to so where did I go wrong.

    Thanks in advance for any help ;)

    ATitool info:

    CONFIG_DIE_FUSES 0xFFFFFFFF
    CONFIG_SUBSTRATE_FUSES 0XFFFFFF9E
    CONFIG_ROM_FUSES 0X3E1
    GB_PIPE_SELECT 0X2724
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2006
  19. willem New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    what happened?

    :confused: Hello,

    I followed the instructions on the page to move the 850 pro to 850 xt. Everything went well, only after flashing the nbr of pipelines remains 12 in Atitool, it seems not to make a difference. What do I do wrong?
     
  20. jpadron_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello, I have a Asus X800 PRO VIVO AGP, and after read instructions to unlock 12 pipes restrictions, no work :(.

    Flash the bios whit Asus X800 XT PE (AGP), the flashing was ok, but after restart windows, and open ATITOOL > Overclocking > Active Pipelines: 12, system say that my card is X800 XT PE, but Active Pipelines don`t was increase to 16 ppl.

    After, try to flash other bios, only to enable 16ppl, whitout modify speeds, and the same, rigth bios update, but active ppl is 12 :(.

    My card is VIVO, don`t understand.

    Any sugestion ??
    Thanks.
     
  21. obl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This worked great for me. Thanks!!
    I bought an X850pro VIVO, Used AtiTools to dump my bios,a hex editor to edit the number of pipes, RaBiT to set clocks to XT settings and the modded flash tool to flash the X850XT bios.
    After flashing the card things acted a little strange so I uninstalled all ATI software and drivers, rebooted and reinstalled all ATI software and drivers.
    Now it is running as a stock X850XT-VIVO with all 16 pp.
    This is an ATI built card I bought on sale at Compusa for $239.00 tax included.
    Once I have acquired heat sinks for the memory and a better GPU cooler I will play some more, but I found all the info and tools I needed in this thread.
    Thanks a bunch!

    By the way, this was done without any board or GPU mods.
     
  22. Cataclysm_J New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    obl, what hex editor did you use and how did you do it. I have the same card as you but the flash didn't work.
     
  23. obl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Did you use the modified flasher? If not, it will ignore the pipe settings.
    You can get it here:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/100/images/flashrom16p.zip

    I will also attach a copy of my modified bios.

    The hex editor was free and I got it here:
    http://www.hhdsoftware.com/free-hex-editor.html

    Make a real DOS boot disc and copy all of the file contained in the flashrom16p.zip file to the DOS floppy then copy the X850XT.bin to the floppy. (if you are using a floppy drive to boot to DOS)

    The command line you will have to use to flash your bios is:
    flashrom -f -p 0 X850XT.bin
    (that is - flashrom space -f space -p space 0 space X850XT.bin) The spaces are important.

    When you reboot you should have an X850XT @ 520/540 and 16 pipes if you use the attached X850XT.bin

    Like I said in my previous post I did have to un-install all ATI drivers and software and reinstall to get everything working right, but I could have had driver issues prior to the card update and you may not have to go through all that. I hope :)

    Also, if I did everything right there is a picture of the old and new bins attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Cataclysm_J New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cheers, I'll try that tonight. I did use the modified flashrom but i'll download it again to make sure.

    Also i tried it with the atiflash using the -newbios command
     
  25. Cataclysm_J New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I used the bios there but I got X850GT. Tried reinstalling drivers but that didn't help.

    This has been the best bios so far because the fan actually span whereas on the others it was just dead and I had to run it from ATitool. There is still only 12 pipelines but theres probably a laser cut, I haven't had the heatsink off yet, want to wait until I get the artic silencer for it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page