1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X800 XL ati radeon bios flashing gone bad!!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by kkaddu, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. kkaddu

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uganda
    i recently installed a X800 XL ati radeon card but in device manager i could see up to 8 (eight) VGA devices.
    a friend told me to flash the bios. which i did using club 3D x800xl bios
    (atiflash -newbios -p -f 0 [newbios.bin])
    this caused the screen to freeze (no prompt)
    i panicked and restarted now i can not use this card please help
    i am currently using onboard graphics (sux)

    specs for card
    Ati radeon X800XL samsung. AGP, 256MB
     
  2. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    use an old pci card as the primary adapter, and reflash the original bios back on, thats assuming you made a backup first, tell me you made backup!
     
  3. kkaddu

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uganda
    yes i did try that but my computer boots though i do not see! anything.
    only when i remove the card can i then get pictures on the screen.
    am i missing something?
     
  4. kkaddu

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uganda
    Well i ....
    no i didn't
     
  5. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    pretty sure you can use the onboard and reflash the card once you set the onboard as primary. just take out your semi broken x800xl and go into your bios and search for the setting to set onboard as default video output.
     
  6. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    ohhh, also i have a freaking x800xl that im using in one of my computers if you where to need the bios i could probably get it for you.
     
    kkaddu says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page