1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X800GTO 128MB clunker?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by sneekypeet, Sep 2, 2006.

  1. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,309 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,840
    I told a buddy the other day I'd ask all of you about his card also sence you were all such a help on my X1600 question. Ok here goes ....I'm not sure of the man. of the card(see attached pic if it helps) but it is an ATI Radeon X800GTO 128MB pci-e card . I've looked in the pipeline mod and really didnt see what i needed to.

    #1 Are the pipes unlockable ?(can get copy of bios if needed)

    #2 If so, is it worth the effort?(can i expect productive gains when overclocked)


    atitool info

    Device ID 554b
    chip name R423
    host interface PCI-e
    catalyst ver. 6.8
    memory size 128MB
    memory type DDR1
    bus width 256
    active pipes 8
    GPU clock 425.00MHz
    MEM clock 350.00MHz
    CONFIG_DIE_FUSSES OXEFF38FFF
    CONFIG_SUBSTATE_FUSSES 0XFFFFF61D
    CONFIG_ROM_FUSSES 0XA862
    GB_PIPE_SELECT 0X11940


    ANY HELP WILL BE APPRECIATED!!!!!!!!!!:banghead:





















    pci-e
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2006
  2. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    any gains are productive with a grfx card.. the bigger the overclock the bigger the gain.. for medium type resolutions the memory size isnt a problem.. i dont know about unlocking the pipes but either way just use atitool to clock it up as far as it will go.. the gain will be worth it.. it aint that much of a "clunker"..

    if it dosnt have the extra power supply plug it isnt a fake x800/850 but any clock speed gains will be worth having..

    trog
  3. TXcharger

    TXcharger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    431 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    SAN ANTONE, TX
    ya u probaly should have 8 more pipes though....
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,309 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,840
    Agreed any gains are good! The purpose is to see the difference tho. i guess that was more the question.

    does anyone know where or that can help me directly with the pipe unlock would be a great help too


    thanks for the posts fellas...changed my mind a bit about the card

    any thoughts on the manufacturer?
  5. overclock[r] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well, from a stock x800gto (i have one, the 500/500 256meg 256 bit 12pp r480) to a x800gto to 600/600, there is a 15 fps difference in bf2, so now im able to run it at 6xaa and all high settings, except texture, because i have 1gig of ram
    OT: does any1 know why the lighting is all screwed up when im piloting a jet, it gets really bright
    OT2: when my distance slider is at 100%... why cant i see everything? in some maps like karkand, it makes my life very hard as a sniper..
  6. TXcharger

    TXcharger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    431 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    SAN ANTONE, TX
    turn ur lighting off and ur shading off, it makes bf2 so much smoother, i get like 80+ fps with all the texture and stuff on high.... and the distance thing is just a fact of life to live with, unless u cheat

    and what do u mean about thoughts on the manufacturer?
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,309 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,840
    i mean who makes the ati card......like Sapphire , Asus, Msi, etc.
  8. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    ATI Radeon I THINK
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,309 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,840
    as far as i know Radeon and ATI are like submanufacturers and other companies distribute thoses cards under their names such as i stated above.
  10. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    ati are the company at the top of the chain.. radeon an ati brand name..

    so ati design and make the chips/cards.. or at least have them all made in some huge fab somewhere in china..

    the other names are called "partners" they sell ati made cards.. the flagship cards are all the same ati dont let the partners meddle with em much.. further down the chain the partners have more meddle room..

    saphire is ATIs largest partner and gets preferential treatment as to who gets what part first..

    trog
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2006
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,309 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,840
    I am to assume here that the card is a Sapphire !? I found the TRIXX program and shipped it to him, and it works. I was led to believe that Trixx wont run unless its a sapphire card .


    also as i expected he is telling me the gains are very minimal!!!
  12. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Well just for kicks i compared your gto card to my current card and their fuses are almost the same plus we're running the same clocks on mem and core. Does he happen to be using a dell computer? Because from what i can tell that x800 might actually be an SE. Only difference is that mine says its a GT and not a GTO.

    What kinda overclocks can you get because mine can pull off 75mhz on core and 40 on mem.
  13. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    im not sure if it can do it, but try using rivatuner to see if there are any unlockable pipes.
  14. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Isn't rivatuner just for nvidia cards though? i didn't think it worked for ati
  15. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    nah it works on ati cards too
  16. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    How do you find out if theres unlockable pipes on rivatuner anyway? sorry for all these questions :p
  17. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    i cant personally answer that, havent used riva in ages i dont remember :p read through the files,im sure ull get the jist of it :D
  18. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    its a sh-t card u are wasting time on it..

    its more of a clunker than the average 800.. the dell factor no doubt

    memory type DDR1 ---- shit..
    memory size 128MB --- okay
    bus width 256 --- brilliant..
    active pipes 8 --- okay..

    basically the ddr1 memory is crippling the rest of it..

    trog

    ps.. the dell factor enables the likes of dell cos they are sooo big to order special bunches of el-cheapo crappo cards that sound better than what they are..
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2006
  19. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    well if its such a bad card it wont feel so bad if it blows up while attempting to reach for a little more out of it :p Rivatuna can only unlock pipelines of very specific cards. Some of the 9800's and a 6800LE. No dice on the x800's.

    Oh i know its not a great card... not even a good card but at the time it was a choice between a x300se or an x800se and it wasn't me paying for the computer at the time so i made the obvious choice :p
  20. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
  21. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    "also as i expected he is telling me the gains are very minimal!!!"

    it fooled me.. i first said it aint such clunker clock it..

    clock it by all means just dont expect much of a result.. the very slow ddr1 memory kinda makes it all a no real gainer..

    trog

    ps.. it aint a real 800gto.. they do not come with ddr1 memory onboard..
  22. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,186 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    Dont think its unlockable, CONFIG_SUBSTATE_FUSES I beleive needs to also end in an "F" but there are better experts out there on this subject than I although I am pretty sure it won't. 8 Pipes seems strange for that card, who is it manufactured by? I see its DDR1 memory only so unfortunatly you will not get too high overclocks on that either.
  23. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,186 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    Some do, actually quirte a few of the 128Meg ones do but most of them have 12 pipes, I used to have a powercolor 128Meg DDR1 but with the 12.
  24. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,186 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    Hmmmm having just looked at the pic of the card I think its a GT not GTO, that may well explain also why it has only 8 pipes.
  25. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    800GTO means this "this card loosely based around an 800 board" that comes in nice blue or red colours.. sometimes with extra power socket sometimes without.. can in fact have any old left over rubbish that anyone wants to bung on it...

    as good a description as any.. what say u tatty..

    he he he

    trog

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page