1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X800se > Xt

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by k62, Oct 16, 2005.

  1. k62 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    HI guys! And thanks for this great place, Thanks to u i have had great boost with my ATI cards.
    9500np>9700
    Aiw9800se>Aiw9800pro
    And a couple of days ago i found a used 800se AIW and flashed it with the bios from your page, mmmm 16pipes and 6000p in 3dmark 05!!!!
    But the tvtuner seems to be stuck on all countries in south america and the US!
    Cant find any channels on the tuner.
    Is this due to a AIW bios for the US? i got a euro card with scart adapter for tv out!

    So if anyone got a european X800XT AIW bios i would be greatful.
  2. SPHERE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    822 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    arizona (cave creek)
    change the little jumper on the card to pal
    [​IMG]

    and open up your bios in rabit and change the ntsc setting to pal

    http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=872

    btw can you upload your stock bios and the one you flashed to
    also can you take a pic of the card front and back aswell as closeups of the core and mem :)

    im curious as to how you managed to unlock this card lol cause usaly they dont :) (hell i didn't even know that thy made a ait x800se.. lol)

    also one more thing :) can you go into ati tool and do this and post that too :) http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=34657&postcount=1
  3. k62 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hi sean!
    there is no jumper on my board
    I cannot change to pal in RaBiT, cause the area is "grayed " and says nothing in bioses.
    there are no lasercuts on the core and the memory is 2ns samsung

    Original Aiw x800se is somewhat bigger than the aiw x800xt i downloaded from here

    Device id on original is 4A4A and on the new one 4A4B
    pics and bios will follow.

    I Think i really need another bios with pal, or perhaps a x800xt vivo bios with pal will work so i can use the AIW??
    Or at least a good bios editor for X800, or i will try it in a hexeditor for myself

    Attached Files:

    • 1.JPG
      1.JPG
      File size:
      51.1 KB
      Views:
      382
    • 2.JPG
      2.JPG
      File size:
      47.3 KB
      Views:
      352
    • 3.JPG
      3.JPG
      File size:
      57.2 KB
      Views:
      314
  4. k62 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 17, 2005
  5. tamalero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mexico
    seems preety obvius they sold you a sample-fortesting vidcard, maybe a preview of the real one, or a release candidate witouth all the functions.
  6. k62 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Well tamalero, the card is working perfectly wit the SE bios, and with the XT bios also, i just cannot get the right standard for the Tv tuner with the xt bios.

    Perhaps if i flash the original bios without the modded flashrom and with out the -f command
    i will still get 16pipes and the tuner to pal?
    Any ideas on that??
  7. k62 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Tried the above that i said myself and it worked, but now i have no temp readings, the SE bios dosent support the temp probe :( what if i just change the Device ID in the XT bios from 4A4B to 4A4B? is that the thing that indicates Pal vs NTSC
  8. SPHERE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    822 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    arizona (cave creek)
    yah looks like you got a es congrats dude that could be wortth something to a collector (don't ever remove any of the stickers) that could be the only one of it's kind :)

    ill try to find you a aiw pal bios hols on

    btw did you hapen to see what was printed on the core it's self (your core has thermal grese on it so i cant se :()

    thanks soo much for the pics and the bios dude :)


    lol that explaind why ive never seen them for sale lol :laugh:

    Edit: humm.. i cant seem to get anywhere ither with the ntsc/pal prob check if the setting is software based :)

    so you are not able to watch tv no mater what bios you have?

    If i was you I'd make a custom x800xt aiw bios for that thing with the clocks set at 520core/500mem :) (x800xtpe core/ 500 for ther 2.0ns ram) then if you want you can oc from there :p
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2005
  9. k62 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    The text of the core was similiar to all r420 ive seen pictures of, no cool "top secret ati" or such.
    Tv works fine now with 16pipes and original bios, but no temp readings with SE bios.
    And i clocked the se bios to 500/500.
    I dont think they are rare really. they sold them in sweden for 370euro, while a full xt aiw was 460euro.
    i payed 180euro, so i´m happy :)

    It´s connect 3d card , but probably built by ati and relabeld case the fan sticker had a ati sticker underneath.

    http://www.connect3d.com/products/agp_aiwx800se.htm
  10. SPHERE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    822 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    arizona (cave creek)
    well i'll be damned... :toast:

    well even if they do sell it the one you have was origionaly sent to a reviewer as a sample so it is worth more than a regular aiw se wether you will admit it or not ;)

    so you edited the se bios to 500/500? or you are ocing it to that? how come not 520/500 :) (thats what the core is rated for) :)

    well my best advice is to keep the se 16 pipe bios on the card until you can find someone who has one that uses pal and get their bios :)
  11. k62 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    i edited the bios to 500/500, but tried oc to 520/500 ,it worked fine also, but i really dont care to much cause this card is so much faster than my 9800pro aiw, already playing the games i like on 1600*1200 :) :) :)

    Older games goes on my Glide card :)

    I would really like a real X800XT AIW PAL bios though... :(
    I have contacted ATI on that matter...we will see how they reply
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2005
  12. SPHERE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    822 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    arizona (cave creek)
    they will likely tell you to shove it lmao!
  13. k62 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    They SURE DID! :mad: :banghead:

    Their support response was quite short...
  14. SPHERE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    822 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    arizona (cave creek)
    rofl :laugh: pwned!
  15. k62 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    well i´m not the one to give up easily, still trying
  16. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    lol

    Well, I'll see what I can do to help. I have a great deal of experience with figuring out data in binary file formats, so maybe I can find it.
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2005
  17. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I made a modified version of the bios, but I have no way to test it to see what it does. The part of the bios I modified is non-existant on non-vivo non-aiw cards, so it shouldn't make your card not work, but you may want to have a PCI video card ready just in case the mod makes your card stop working. I copied the data from that section of the bios from your original bios to the one you wanted to use.

    -EDIT-
    Surprizingly, it works perfectly! (as mentioned below) :D Renamed the file, since it has been tested now.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 2, 2005
  18. k62 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Thanks a lot!!, will try it later today!
  19. k62 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    WoW! Thanks more than a million ShadowFlare!
    Everything works! TV-tuner and temp sensors an fan speed control!!
    Can´t thank you enough!
    This Bios is a X800XT AIW PAL now!!
    Now ATI support can go ╝♦♣♂
    :) :) :) :) :) :)
  20. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Whoa!!!! I was exactly right on the first attempt at that bios mod?!?! :eek: :D :laugh: :rockout:

    I was hoping it would work, but I didn't think I'd really actually be right with what I modded in the bios! :laugh: I guess I should change the filename on the attachment then, since it has been tested and works. :)
  21. k62 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yepp!
    I works great on my card!
    If u happen to live in the south of Sweden I´ll buy you a beer! :toast:
    It should be uploaded in the bios collection, also it should perhaps be noted wich bios is PAL and wich is NTSC.
  22. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Since I now know at least what section determines whether it is NTSC or PAL, I could change it for other bioses, too; however, I have yet to figure out exactly which one(s) of the values in that section actually determine that.
  23. a007fan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    16 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is there a standad AIW X800 PCI-E PAL bios?

    Hi there ShadowFlare and rest of the forum,

    I have read very closely this thread since I am very new to this entire thing. I am so pleased to find out that there is a way to turn an AIW card from NTSC to PAL as it is very hard (and expensive!) to get a hold of one here.

    I am getting soon a NTSC All-in-Wonder X800 XL PCI-E card from ATI (original) which I want to transform to PAL. I have looked in the bios collection but I am not too sure as to which one I should use to make it both PAL and if possible improve it's performance (open 16 pipes, etc...)

    I would be very much obliged if you could pinpoint or attached the correct Bios to flash and other relevant tips on how to go about it safely.

    By the way, this forum is just great!

    Thanks.
  24. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    An XL already has 16 pipelines, and there isn't any other bios flashing that could be done to improve performance, as far as I know.

    When you get the card, get a dump of the bios from your card and post it on this forum. One way of doing this would be to use ATITool (the dump bios option is somewhere in the settings for the program). Put the bios file in at least some type of compressed archive; if you have Windows XP you can easily put it in a .zip file. After I get the file, I'll make a modified version of the bios like I did for the bios for k62's card and then you can flash that bios to your card. You may want to take a look at this guide in advance so you will know how to do it when you get the card: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=11

    If you wouldn't mind, I'd like to have you try different modified bioses that I will post for you, so that I can pinpoint exactly which value specifies whether it is NTSC or PAL. There's even a possibility that I will find which value on the first try, but if you would be willing to try more than one bios mod, if needed, then it would be a great help with finding exactly what specifies whether it is NTSC or PAL.
  25. a007fan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    16 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    AIW x800 XL - Bios to PAL

    ShadowFlare,

    thanks much for your answer.
    I should get the card within a week and will most definitely contact you again then.
    I don't mind doing multiple trials as long as I don't incur the risk of damaging the card for good.
    I thought it was a pretty straighforward thing to do! I heard there is a jumper on the back and then using Rabit you can just look for the pal/ntsc feature and choose accordingly.
    Do you know otherwise?

    thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page