1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X850XT - ATITool isn't helping at all!!

Discussion in 'ATITool' started by VyxerioN, Feb 17, 2006.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    ...whats so bad about the ATIsilencer? :p jk either cooler will do fine. and the whole "air is trapped because the plastic cooler box gets hot" thing...load of crap. the heatsink radiates, and that warms up the rest of the cooler. obvious solution for tough problems lol
     
  2. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    something I should add to my "run fan at 43%" post...you MIGHT be able to get away with the fan running at 32%, at that level it sounds like a normal PC :p
     
  3. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    ok dude u put a little on and smooth it out. then u put the heatsink on and move it around a bit to smooth it out further. then you let it sit. as the compound thickens heat transfer increases so dont bitch at artic cooling b/c the AS5 doesnt give immidiet results. if i remember correctly it takes 200 heat cycles (load/idle/load) to fully setup the tim. its like 50 for ceramique. just chill and give it time..
     
  4. VyxerioN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    SpectraCool replies to my complaint

    Alright, as it may or may not be aware to the subscribers to this thread, I've been having some issues with this new cooling compound on eBay.

    It lowered my idle temps but allowed me to reach higher temps under max load..not good.
    So I tried reapplying and also contacting the maker at the same time.

    I reported to him all my specs and methods and this was his conclusion:

    Hi Tom, the best information I can find regarding the heat sensor for the GPU is that it is located in conjunction with the fan. This conclusion is supported by the fact that your bios does not report the temperature. So your perceived increase in heat is a phenomenon that occurs when for example the heat sensor is on the CPU heat sink and with increased thermal transfer it reports a higher temperature. If the sensor were located directly on the GPU then you would see a lower temperature, as do the users of SPECTRA COOL when their CPU sensor is located below the CPU. If you still prefer a refund just return the remaining portion to me and I’ll take care of seeing you get even the S&H refunded.

    So AtiTool detects GPU temps by nature of phenomenon? I wantyed to post this for you guys to get back on the credibility of this statement.
     
  5. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    pffft I dunno :p . I still think that you should just do yourself a favor and get ATISilencer5 lol
     
  6. VyxerioN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well I went out and got a VF700-Cu, store-bought.

    Just one question, about the connector...
    with the 3-pin connector, couldn't just have it connected to a 3-pin header on my mobo for heat monitoring, rather than using the molex adapter?

    I mean on my mobo header it's 12V and I intend to run the VF700 at Normal Mode anyways (since I see the only point in using the molex adapter is for the 5V conversion for Silent Mode)
     
  7. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Yes, that's fine if you want to monitor your temps and speed and such with the Zalman VF700-Cu/LED. I have the same cooler on my X800 XL and it's great but I use the included fan headers 'cause I don't really care much about speed controling. I also use the other 3 12v and (2)5v fan header for extra fans in my comp. I don't know why people don't like the Zalman just because it doesn't exhaust air from the case. People should have good airflow in their systems in the first place that they don't have to worry about exhausting air. And as I do in all my posts, I have to put this smiley-:nutkick:
     
  8. VyxerioN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Disappointed :mad:

    Alright, so I installed the cooler and the results are hardly great at all.

    The sound is COMPLETELY eliminated and I am VERY impressed with the fact that I've reduced 60% of my computer noise...

    ...but the performance isn't extremely wonderful at all.
    Under my max load and idle (OC'd at PE speeds 540/590) I found the VF700 brought the GPU down by a measly 3C :shadedshu

    Optical, could you provide me with some good fan settings suggestions for the VF700?

    Just to give you an idea of BEFORE/AFTER:

    BEFORE (Stock Cooler)
    Idle Temps: 36C/37C
    Maxload Temps (@100% fan speed): 68C/54C

    AFTER (VF700 Cooler)
    Idle Temps: 35C/36C
    Max Load Temps (@100% fan speed): 65C/46C

    I have the 3-pin connector in my mobo fan header, supplying 12V (running the VF700 in Normal Mode)

    Well sad to say but I am thoroughly disappointed in the results. I don't know if Zalman is to blame but they do guarantee 7-10C lower on my GPU and 10-15C lower on my RAM. If you ask me this was a waste of $40!!
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2006
  9. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    $40 shut your card up pretty good...at least you have that lol. See what trog and I were telling you? ATISilencer5 all the way :laugh:. If you can get a refund, get it, and then Azn will give you a link on zipzoomandfly for ATIsilencer5.
     
  10. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,207 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    333
    and how many hours will it take the thermal paste to 'burn in' ?25 hours??? 50 hours . loop something and let it get Warm then let it cool{idle} and again and again then test temps see if you get lower
     
  11. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Sorry for pointing you on the Zalman direction.:( Mine works fairly great though, but maybe it's because I live in Arizona and it's really hot so Zalman helped cool mine fairly well. If you do get a refund and decide to get Arctic Cooling ATI Silencer 5 Rev. 2 heres the link that's $7 cheaper than newegg-http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=316413 You should get your refund, if you don't, then that's like a:nutkick:
     
  12. VyxerioN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey thanks a lot guys for all the support.

    Yeah, the whole thing has left me utterly depressed all evening - I appreciate the closure.

    I figure I'll let it sit for 3 days, and if I don't see any improvement then I have 2 options:

    1. Refund
    2. Use the supplied thermal grease.

    Yeah I used that SpectraCool BS again, thinking maybe the guy was right in his statement of thermal sensor placement and the "phenomenom" behind it

    As it stands I saw better results when I had my stock cooler in with stock thermal grease, and I didn't touch anything. But thermal grease does take some time to burn in (even now ATItool is reporting 34C/33C...maybe in 3 days it'll be 30 or 29, lol) so I'll let it stay for a while and then I'll try the Zalman grease...if that doesn't work, I'm getting a refund and writing Zalman a formal letter on the guarantees of their product.

    ...I don't want that to happen though :ohwell:
     
  13. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,207 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    333
    used as5 on my 700-cu 850 pro 564/588 27idle/55fullload toke 3-4 days to set stock cooler ran. 500/500 34 / 65
     
  14. VyxerioN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reference, Frogger.

    What I'm gonna do is play some Doom3 (might as well beat it again) and hopefully I'll see some better results, hehe

    Somebody really should check this site out; here's a URL to the manufacturer of the thermal compound I'm using:

    http://www.spectracool.com/

    Could I be noob enough to manage buying an incompatible compound? lol
     
  15. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    more like "designed around older products" then "incompatible"...there is no such thing as incompatible thermal paste unless you're using maple syrup :laugh:. I appreciate you using all-American paste, but...c'mon, that stuff's rated to work on OCing Pentium 2's, 3's, and P4 Northwoods. Go search for Arctic Cooling MX1. THAT stuff good.
     
  16. VyxerioN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    lol...and I'm a Canadian putting my trust and money into all American product...sure why not?

    Done and done.
    I bought some OCZ Arctic Silver 5+ compound and will immediately use it today.
    Results will be posted.

    I viewed something hilarious with this guy who tested thermal compounds. And it's been determined toothpaste, yes toothpaste, is an amazing compound (maybe because of it's minty freshness).

    Still entirely unsafe to use due to the fact that the toothpaste would dry up in maybe 1 or 2 heat phases, it ranked cooler than some store-bought polysynthetic compounds.

    Anyways, thought you guys might get a laugh out of that :roll:
     
  17. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,207 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    333
    AND it's still 10 green backs a tube Hell can get tube as5 for 8
     
  18. VyxerioN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    *meh*

    Yeah that's ridiculous to pay for grease made for p2,p3, etc
    I spent $7 on some OCZ AS5+

    Ok really bad news now....

    My card blew up. the power cord to the VF700 got caught up in the fan blades, bending my mobo fan headers and ripping the videocard partially out it's slot!!!...J/K:laugh:

    No seriously, I used the OCZ AS5+ and it's giving 1C higher temp!
    *sigh*
    Whatever...you know what? I'm just going to shut up and post back in 3-5 days to give the "proper" results.

    Until then I'm reading "Patience for Dummies 101"
     
  19. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    in my opinion you're swapping out thermal pastes too often. Those temps are really pretty good for X850XT, so I don't see why you're worrying so much...just wait a few days, play a few games. You're getting all worked up about it lol. And after a few days have gone by, if you're still not happy with the results, refund that VF-700 and get yourself ATIsilencer5.
     
  20. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    thermal paste is only there to fill any air-gaps causes by uneven or badly finished surfaces..

    used in the correct quanities (not a bloody great thick thermal pad) there aint enough there to make any noticable difference no matter what make u use..

    its not magic stuff despite all the silly hype.. and its more about how its applied than what type is applied.. the best heat transfer is from direct surface to surface contact between the two parts.. so two perfectly flat parts would be better with no thermal paste..

    just enough to fill any air gaps is the way.. and assuming the two mating surfaces are even vaguely flat that shouldnt require much at all..

    any thermal paste that is preventing the two mating surfaces from actually touching is of negative value.. which comes back to why the oem type pads aint very good.. they do grand job of keeping the two mating surfaces apart.. he he

    trog
     
  21. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,207 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    333
    :nutkick: :banghead: :eek: :eek:
    Take this with a grain of salt CABLE MANAGEMENT 101 might help to ;) ;)
     
  22. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    so yeah its been a couple days...anything change? lol
     
  23. earthbound misfit New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi guys, New to forums

    I just now installed my Sapphire X850XT. I downloaded ati tool and wanted to control the fan speeds because most of the reviews at newegg on this card had HEAT as a con and said to get this program to change the fan speeds. I have been tinkering with it but I realized quickly that I have no clue what I am doing.

    First off, I don't plan on OCing at all, just leaving it at stock. But I am concern about overheating. I plan on using the stock cooler too.

    So I guess I should ask: Whats a decent, safe idle heat? Right at this moment its idle and at 40c. Is that ok? What is a decent, safe playing heat?...what temp should I try to keep it at when playing? Say it get up to 72c, is this ok?

    By just using stock speeds and stock fan, how should I set up the fan control speeds vs temp?

    I read this whole thread and it lost me about page 2 and a half :)

    Thanks for any help!
     
  24. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    idle temps dont really matter that much.. its the 3D cooking mode that matters..

    run the furry dice thing in atitool and watch you card heat up.. set the fans to run at max speed say above 55C..

    switch the furry dice thing off and watch your card cool down.. it depends on your need for quieter running with the dice off. but the idea is to slow your fans down for the dice off and have em come full on as the card heats up much over 50C with the dice on..

    there is no point whatsoever in having the fan screaming in idle or 2D mode..

    trog
     
  25. earthbound misfit New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks trog. I have the idle set at 10% and the temp stays steady at 40c. then at 50c I have the fan speed at 50% and at 65c at 75%. anything over 70 is set at 100%. Hope this is ok.

    I put in Morrowind to test the card out and it only took like 2 minutes of play before I started hearing the fan rev up to speed. I played for 10 more mins and exited out and my temps were at 73c. Is this a safe operating temp?

    Regards,
    Earth
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page