1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

x850xt overclocking issues

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by elia, Jul 18, 2006.

  1. elia New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a sapphire x850xt with a vf1 cooler just installed. I overclocked to 570/609 and ran the atitool artifact scan. My temp never even reached 50 degrees, but artifacts were found and the computer locked up. Same thing happenned just before this at 594/621. My temps are fine even when it locks up, so I don't know what the problem is. Should I lower my mem clock since the vf1 only has heatsinks on the memory and doesnt move air over them directly? I cant figure it out. Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Elia
  2. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Measure the Vcore or check the Vcore VID configuration. The Vcore should be app. 1.41V. If your card is with 1xVGA / 1xDVI, non VIVO and you want it flashed to X850XT PE I have now moded X850XT PE BIOS to X850XT PE 1xVGA / 1xDVI (VIVO or not deppending on the requirement). The memory gets very hot and you have to care about the cooling of it. If you need more support let me know ;) .

    Read here about the Vcore measurement and VID configuration: http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/voltmods/112
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2006
  3. elia New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Dolf, thanks for all your replies to my posts. You have answered every one of them. I will check the vcore.
    I decided to flash back to a XT due to the responses to my last post(I think you posted the file there for me). Everyone said their is not point in flashing from xt to pe other than clock speeds. Since I am over clocking anyway, I will leave it as an XT unless you think I should flash.
    So you do think it is an issue of memory overheating? The vf1 cooler does not cool memore other than individual heatsinks, but it does cool the gpu like crazy. My temps were 49 when it locked up. I may just overclock the gpu higher than the memory. Maybe try 620/600 or so.
    Any recommendation on clock speeds? Does the gpu/mem ratio have to be anything specific, or should I just find their max individually?
  4. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    As I understand you have flashed my X850XT PE BIOS. And it works for you right? Cool the memory and use XT PE or XT doesn't matter. (I personally prefer XT PE BIOSes - my 9800PRO 128MB to 9800XT 128MB with all extras like temp. monitoring, fan-control with my BIOS modification; X800XT flashed to X800XT PE and finally X850PRO VIVO memory Vmoded and flashed to X850XT PE). But the choice is yours. All my cards with 1.6ns memory can't even reach 600MHz even with Vmod (X850PRO) and ATI Silencer 4 rev.2 ;) but you are lucky to reach 620MHz without cooling ........
  5. elia New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I ended up flashing back to original bios before trying your file. I installed the vf1 cooler and was running at 590/590 artifact testing when the system shut itself down. Temp was 49 degrees when it died. it is either lack of voltage, or the memory not being cooled enough. The vf1 only has little indiviual heat sinks for the mem and doesnt blow a fan over the ones on top. So I dont know what it is. I will just up my gpu slightly, then same for mem and keep testing, patiently. i went up to 610/620 and the system locked up immediately. Let me know what you think. Thanks again.
  6. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    If the system shut itself off, thats not a graphics issue its a PSU issue, what make, model and +12v rating has your PSU got? If its a generic POS replace it ASAP with a quality unit before it blows something in your puter up.(or blows everything up in your puter, for that matter)
  7. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Ketxxx should be right. It seems PSU. Usually GPU freezes and VPU recover window popups when the GPU limit is reached or PC freezes completely. When it shuts off without visible reason and under havy load most probably the problem is PSU.

    But for sure it is not related with XT or XT PE BIOS :) .
  8. elia New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  9. elia New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, I think you guys called it. I checked my +12V and it was at 11.84V my 5V was at 4.94V. This power supply is garbage. I will call cooler master tomorrow. Thanks for your help, guys.
  10. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,779 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    Does the card have any issues or Shut-downs when running just the CCC ??
  11. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Deppending on where you measure and the load 11.84V and 4.94V should be within the specifications. The other possibility for you is to start with removing of all "useless" hardware and to chech for incompatibility (Just MOBO, CPU, HDD, VGA and memory). Remove all external USB devices. And finally the software incompatibility.
  12. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston
    I am just adding, just in case, because i was having issues about 3 weeks ago. with ccc 6.6 and fraps, it would crash when finding max whatever in atitool

    make sure fraps is off

    it was a n00b13 3rr0r for sure on my part, but maybe it'll save a psu rma


    and to second dolf, my old psu was a 300w and it's 12v line was 12.22V and it's 5v was 4.86(both a + and -, weird i thought), and i oc'ed my gto2 w/o stability issues. maybe my luck was on, but also maybe my readings were off, but i don't know. i don't know this stuff like dolf, but i thought i might add a couple o' pounds to the already solid 800 pound suggestions that dolf makes
  13. elia New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I never use ccc.
  14. elia New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i will try that, dolf. Thanks guys.
  15. elia New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am up to 591/624 in atitool with no artifacts. I can play oblivion on 1024x768 all day w/no prob. But if I go up to 1600x1200, it runs super smooth for about 10 min or so, then the system freezes. The temp of the card is at or below 50 degrees C and the +12V is at 11.71 or so. I rma'd the power supply. I hope it takes care of it. Thanks again guys.

    by the way, mustang man, what is fraps? is it in atitool or ccc? cause i dont use ccc.
  16. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Fraps, found here, is a tool used to measure framerate in 3D programs, like games.
  17. elia New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks
  18. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Elia, can you please make pictures (front and back) of exactly your card. I am interested from top-center (mainly near the fan connector for the front side) and almost the same area from the back. If you make photos from the Vcore regulator I can tell you what core voltage to expect.

    Thanks for the support :)
  19. elia New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok. I'll do that.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page