1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Xbit found IQ differences in Metro 2033 during video card review

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by EastCoasthandle, Apr 6, 2010.

  1. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    It appears that for whatever reason there is blurriness in Metro 2033 when using the 400 series. The developer says that it's the result of using AA however to me it looks like there is little to no AF being used. Or could be an issue with Analytical AA. In any case it looks like it should be fixed but it's not clear if it will be through driver or game patch.
    source


    [​IMG]
    5870






    [​IMG]
    480

    Place each pic in it's own tab to see the difference. If you use FF drag each pic to the address bar and release it.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2010
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    From my own personal experience, I've always had worse image quality with nVIDIA cards over ATi, hence why I've always stayed with ATi even if nVIDIA have managed to beat (whatever card) in the price to performance ratio.

    It'll be interested to see what happens to the 'blurring' when the next nVIDIA drivers are released.
     
  3. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    to it looks like there more detail on the guy in the 480 then 5870 has more on the surroundings
     
  4. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    It really depends on the game.
     
  5. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,947 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,214
    Little to no AF?

     
  6. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    What other feature removes blurriness in this game besides AF? It may be Analytical AA but you didn't mention that. 16x AF maybe used but it may not be working properly. It's been already established that the blurriness of the IQ shouldn't be there so something isn't working properly. Regardless if you believe it to AF or otherwise.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2010
  7. marvelous211

    marvelous211 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    147 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    US East Coast
    So did I up until Geforce 8 series. Now I think they are on par.
     
  8. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,418 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    AZ
    I look at those pics and all i see is poor animation around that folder, theres no way it stays up in real life if he holds it that way.
     
  9. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    You've obviously never played the game. He isn't holding it. It's attached to his belt.
     
  10. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    all i know is any gpu 8000 series or above is garbage to me because games i love to play dont run on them period

    and all i can think on this is the same backlash issued at ATI for there filtering in crysis meh... just another thread that will degenerate into flaming
     
  11. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,263 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Florida
    am i the only one that sees the ati one as having a tan tint to it?...like EVERYWARE?
     
  12. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    yea i see it but its more yellowish orange on my screen ie the color of the candle burning off screen
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,741 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    980
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    That's because:
    - Catalyst in latest revisions is applying negative LOD, making everything artificially sharper
    - NVIDIA's FSAA. Just look at the guy's hands and neck. It's a bit more jaggy on AMD card but without blurry overall image

    But in normal conditions, i don't think anyone would have noticed this except in examples where you can switch images between tabs to compare.
     
  14. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto
    Artificially sharper?
    In the ATI pic I can almost read the letters in the wall poster. In the nVidia pic, everything is blurred out. It doesn't seem artificial to me.
     
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Wait I thought the 480 is god at everything is it possible in an nv driver they may have tweaked away quality to make a launch of a flagship card look better then it was :eek: that's unheard of who would commit such an attrocity 6h months late to the game with the preshott of video cards or 5800 ultra heat edition.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2010
  16. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    wow, so that's why metro run so fast with nvdia card
     
  17. twistedneck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    If you guys read the entire thing, it happens equally to both cards when 4x MSAA is enabled. Only to Nvidia when just AAA is running. According to the game developer 4A Games, its not a hardware thing at all, a software patch is needed.
     
  18. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,741 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    980
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    What is AAA exactly in this game? Some special FSAA mode or something else?
     
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,189
    I'd like to know too. What I'd also like to know is how can anyone with an ATi card run this game with x4 AA? It seems to be broken for ATi.

    Where, in those screenshots? I don't see it.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2010
  20. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Works fine for me. Kill performance but it looks amazing. Playing on my TV I get away with 4xAA and DX11 high DOF off.
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,189
    Yeah, that's what I mean. I can play the game maxed out and everything enabled (Ok, 25 fps in heavy scenes), but once I turn the AA to x4, it's a slideshow. I would love to see some MSAA thrown into the game settings, forcing it in CCC doesn't work unfortunately.
     
  22. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Take off DOF and Turn on 4xAA. It's a better trade IMO. DOF isnt as impressive as AA. If you need you gaming experience blurred beyond recognition I can send you some Canadian moonshine.
     
  23. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    It's called Analytical AA and it suppose to be similarly to how Adaptive AA works. But I found no explanation as to how it works in this game.


    [​IMG]
    4x MSAA

    [​IMG]
    Analytical AA

    Apparently, using Analytical AA makes images more sharper while not using AAA (IE:MSAA) makes them blurry. My guess is that AAA maybe rendering the image at double resolution then down sample them. But they need to example how it works.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2010
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,189
    Lol, I actually like DOF. The way the characters move with it on is impressive, it kind of adds another dimesion to the game but it's a bit overdone.

    I already beat the game, I'll go through it again in a month or so. No moonshine for me thanks, that stuff would kill me. :toast:
     
  25. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Are you sure you mean DOF and not object motion blur? DOF should not have much affect on character animation. It should be all about blurring areas that should be out of focus. Crysis and COD4 do this when you scope in. In Metro 2033 it's just more agressive in blurring everything past X distance from user. Object motion blur on the other hand does exactly what it says. It creates blur on objection in motion while maintaining a sharply detailed environment for static objects.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page