1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Xbox 360 Jasper Revision Hits Retail

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Nov 28, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    The long rumored Jasper version of Microsoft's Xbox 360 gaming console has finally hit retail shelves. Up until now, we knew almost everything about Jasper, but non of us knew how to recognize the console, or if it was retailing at all. No official information was released, but xbox-scene report claims that Jasper Xbox 360s are finally arriving in stores. The revised console comes bundled with a new 150W (12.1A whereas old model draw 14.2A) power supply that is 25W less powerful than the power supply bundled with previous generation Falcon consoles. The new power supply is almost 100% proof that the console you're looking is Jasper. Also, according to the report all consoles manufactured after October 23rd 2008 with LOT number 0843X and manufactured from FDOU, should be a Jasper. At last, let us remind what Jasper means. That's the official code name for the last generation Xbox 360 consoles. Falcon consoles come with new 65nm GPU (90nm in previous generation) that produces less heat. Jasper consoles also should utilize new revised cooler and internals that will reduce the overall temperature and noise coming from it. Finally, with Jasper, we don't have to worry for the RRoD (Red Ring of Death) failure anymore.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Forums Xbox Scene
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2008
  2. Katanai

    Katanai

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    935 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    This is good and all but I would still worry. :laugh:
  3. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Hmm it seems my elite needs to overheat soon.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,679 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    yay, jasper and i share a birthday!
  5. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    470 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    my second xbox hasnt rrod'ed yet so im happy...........for now.
  6. HaZe303

    HaZe303 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    305 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden (08-Stockholm)
    I have 3 xbox360´s now, 1 falcon working still and two rrod, 1 premium and one elite both older versions. I have x-clamp fixed both but still they crash day to day. Btw, I thought falcon had a 65nm CPU not GPU?? Maybe im wrong, please tell if so. And is jasper fixed so x-clamp fix is no longer needed? I think that is what the article said, but im not sure if I got it wrong?? Jasper is totally new to me so please tell me, will google now. :)
  7. Mistral

    Mistral

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Montreal
    Seconded.

    Now if VF5R actually comes out for the 360 I might finally consider buying a console.
  8. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    470 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    VF5R-wat is that
  9. Slyr7.62

    Slyr7.62

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    69 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Virtual Fighter 5, I think. I don't know what the "R" is.
  10. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    No matter the size of the gpu and cpu, if you don't allow decent airflow to the xbox it will, I repeat will fail. My friend has the original xbox since launch and he leaves it with plenty of airflow and it works perfectly, there is no xclamp fixes needed just common sense.
  11. EarlZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    339 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Ok people get your non jasper consoles to RRoD!
  12. saber862 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is there a way how to tell what version the xbox is from the outside box? Or is it just your luck and hoping the store people told you the right date of when they got the 360s?
  13. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I'm sure there is a way by checking the box if not ask to see the power supply.
  14. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    both the proc and gpu on this version should be 65nm....
  15. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    On my second 360 and it is working great!:)
  16. Exceededgoku

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    404 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Oh for god sake I'm literally on a launch day X360 and I still haven't RROD!! Looks like I'll never get a new one :(. I literally leave it on for extended times, leave it surrounded by other objects and still no RROD. Some would say I'm lucky :'(
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea I sold my launch 360 to my friend and it hasn't died yet.
  18. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    470 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    play it for 10 solid hours on something like cod-4 and farcry 2 then after a while it will die
    ...........................
  19. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I reckon if you played for 10 solid hours you would die lol :p but it won't my little bro leaves his xbox on at night and during school (he's a tool) never rrod except once when he had his foot covering the intake vent. When the ventilation is blocked it WILL, WILL, WILL overheat. Many who buy the xbox don't know this and ta da they leave it in a stuffy, humid room after thier 10 hour shift and are possibly hot and sweating and the room has no airflow then it will overheat.
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    My little brother is on his 5th 360. His sits out in open air. No possibility of poor circulation, and in a climate controlled house. Poor ventilation may kill it faster, but having good ventilation doesn't mean your console will survive either. No amount of ventilation in the world can fix a design flaw.
  21. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    maybe we're just lucky then to live in sub antarctic scotland :p but I doubt these die shrinks will fix the problem either maybe a redesigned heat sink with a 120 mm plowing air sideways out the back with a small fan drawing air in ? idk
  22. HaZe303

    HaZe303 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    305 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden (08-Stockholm)
    You dont know what you are talking about, the only thing MS needs to fix is the X-CLamp under the coolers. Its bending the motherboard on the 360 so the solders get loose. You said in youre first post I only needed good circulation inside the 360, I do but that doesnt cure this problem, the only way this gets fixed is when and only when MS changes the way they build the console, which seems to be done now with jasper?? Hopefully.
  23. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    The xclamp doesnt work. When the xbox gets too hot the motherboard flexes because of the lead free solder which expands more than usual when heated up. What they need to do is change the solder. If it was as easy as adding a clamp they would have done it ages ago.
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,562 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,262
    i know this may sound hypocritical, but why do game companies need to release many revisions of the same thing for consoles, i mean ya the Wii maybe underpowered, but people have the least amt of stability problems with them, and i recall PS2 being revised because of a faulty optical drive that would occur in the XB aswell (read lense would get out of alignment), is it because the engineers are only thinking about money and not quality, imagine if that was happening in the Aircraft Industry, many more planes would fall out of the sky because of their Air Data Systems, and Flight Controls.

    I know SEGA for the Genesis had 3 versions but the 2 models i ran never suffered any problems.
    Dreamcast i believe didnt require 2 revisions despite it being cancelled by SOJ.
  25. HaZe303

    HaZe303 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    305 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden (08-Stockholm)
    X-Clamp fix does work if done properly and in time, I have two that work with that. I have one that works all the time, and one from launch that breaks down from time to time because of doing the x-clamp fix too late. Sure I agree that the solder must be changed, as it propably is now with Jasper. But I guarantee to you that the X-Clamp has been changed/tweaked as well. The X-Clamp puts so much pressure on the board, so changing solder wont be enough.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page