1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Xbox 360 Recording

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by PC-Myths, Feb 5, 2010.

  1. PC-Myths

    PC-Myths New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    145 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
    Basically a friend want's to know how to record what's happening on the TV (from the XBOX 360) using his laptop... :confused:
  2. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,097 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,617
    He needs something like a USB Capture card that will allow him to plug the 360 into the laptop. Haven't looked into these since I was thinking about adding a tuner to my PC, but I am pretty sure they make them. It would be better to plug the 360 directly to the laptop, but if the TV has a Video Output you can use that to connect to the capture device.

    Someone should chime in with more details.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. PC-Myths

    PC-Myths New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    145 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
    More detail's as in...

    EDIT: So there is no need in using his laptop whatsoever to capture his gaming, obviously untill it come's to uploading them I'd assume.
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2010
  4. scgt1

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    291 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
  5. PC-Myths

    PC-Myths New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    145 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
  6. scgt1

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    291 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    hmmm I'll see
  7. scgt1

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    291 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
  8. garry_b80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    in mi crib lol
    hi peeps im the so called friend!! wunt go so far to say friend though!! more unwanted and force to like brother-in-law!! lol!!....... but jokin aside thanks for makin a start for me smick!!y
    rite im wantin to record my game play from xbox direct to my so called super dooper lappy (HP 6730b)!! iv accuired my software of which i just happened to stumble upon and am satisfied should be fine as it records all types of screen footage and other cool stuff (sounds,webcam and actuall screen footage) so 99% percent shore softwares suitable! So basically in theory i just need a way to use laptop monitor as prefferably a second screen soley for recordin!! if poss! an just so ya no!! im quite good wiv stuff "honestly" lol just need helping hand arrghh!!

    so heres a list of sum of my ingreadiants for whoever feels like cooking!

    a s-vid "connection" on lappy
    a vga "connection" on lappy
    a xbox standard tv cable wiv phono ends red white yellow
    a xbox "logic 3" vga lead as currently use 19"monitor for gameplay"cant use tv wen .........................................................................................eastenders is on lol"
    a lead aquired off net wen vaguely owend ps3 and wanted to use monitor for that!! and thats like blue vga to yellow phono and or s-video(which dint work how i intended if it helps noe)
    and if i did just happen to win my tv bak from missis to to prove i can record etc thats nan old thing but its got monitor out i think and s-vid for shore!!
    so thats it can ya heeeelllp??? fanks!!:)
  9. scgt1

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    291 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    If your lappy has S-video its likely to be and output and not an input. As most laptops have at least a VGA connector to hook up to an external video source. Like Mine runs on a 24" Monitor when I take it in the office. :D
  10. PC-Myths

    PC-Myths New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    145 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
    Your right... i've already told him it's only an output...

    EDIT: just seen the price of that card... is that an average price we'd be looking at? want one cheap as chips!
  11. PC-Myths

    PC-Myths New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    145 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
    To be honest... he isn't so much after wanting to buy something but more along the line's of adapting what he has already and buying very little if not anything else to get the job done.
  12. garry_b80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    in mi crib lol
    but im going to give an un manly shreek (as the subtle hint dint get through) im not allowed my tv really lol and i want to basically use my laptop as a capture card cost effective and also proving together we can adapt overcome basically any gimmik or scam!! i paid enough for my and ers laptops why spend more on gadgets wen ya i already av em all rite in front of ya!! lol
  13. scgt1

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    291 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    Well there are others on that site. Just that is about the best one out there I believe. It all depends on what connections on the 360 he wants to use. Some of the cheaper ones are only setup with old school (Red,Yellow,White) connectors. So he will need to see what it has.

    I found that site though by searching for Computer Parts UK. :D So if he does that he may find other sites.
  14. garry_b80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    in mi crib lol
    a s-vid "connection" on lappy
    a vga "connection" on lappy
    a xbox standard tv cable wiv phono ends red white yellow
    a xbox "logic 3" vga lead as currently use 19"monitor for gameplay"cant use tv wen .................................................. .......................................eastenders is on lol" CAN USE ANYTHING JUST NOT THE FACKIN TELE lol
  15. scgt1

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    291 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    They really make those? Shit I need to find one in the US. :D
  16. garry_b80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    in mi crib lol
    maplins
  17. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    469 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Garry you need to learn the basic difference between the terms "input" and "output"

    the laptop has VGA and S-Video "Output" so you can go from the laptop "out" to a TV or Monitor. You can't bring anything "in" on those ports. They are just video going out.

    You have to buy a capture device of some kind if you want to bring video "in" to the laptop. I've never seen a laptop that came with video "inputs" to bring video "in" right on it from the factory. That would be a rare option.

    You could buy a cheaper USB capture device like an "easy cap" but these aren't really the best option to play video games on. Bringing in SDTV video from you XBOX 360 or anything over Composite AKA "the yellow phono jack" or S-Video and displaying it on an HDTV or high resolution screen like the LCD on your laptop will generally look like shit without expensive upscaling hardware. Remember you need Component, RGB, VGA or HDMI to get HD resolution. Composite and S-Video can not do HD! Yeah it will work but you'll be surprised how crappy it looks compared to a TV.

    You can get HD capture devices with either Component (Red, Green, Blue) or HDMI but they cost a few hundred bucks!

    Better option would be to spend that same $40 on a used TV instead. It seriously would look better and I haven't even mentioned the other issue yet.

    LAG.

    Some capture devices have a second of lag in them before the video is converted to the PC and shown on the screen. This is no problem for recording TV but it makes playing a video game on them impossible!
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page