1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFI Mod is back:

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by OneMoar, May 10, 2013.

  1. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    I'm gonna try that on my laptop
  2. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    I tried it on my Sabertooth X58 and blue screened like mad so removed it.
  3. expn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    waste of time resulting in worse audio, and here is why:


    X-FI modded Realtek 2.71 vs regular Realtek 2.71 x64 driver.
    (ALC888 @ Gigabyte EP-43 mobo, Windows 8 x64 pro)

    [​IMG]
    INSTG8R, KainXS and Mussels say thanks.
  4. strelok-ac New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    dolby dts

    This mod bad sound quality(and no 96kHz) because of DTS! Also bad Dobly preset configuration. I remove all about dts from .inf, and registry keys with presets from Software/Dolby. So sound become better!:D Also install DolbyHomeTheaterv4 for better sound normalization config! This mod driver no guarantee for Creative X-Fi will work...

    Who want simple sound enhancements with primordial good sound quality and volume normalization can install DolbyHomeTheater v4 with dolby sound driver inside! Tested on win7.
    [​IMG]
    Download

    For some cards you can use dolby enhancements with your sound driver.Just start from step 3!
    1. Revert sound driver to Windows built-in driver.
    2. Reboot.
    3. Open DTPC.msi from OS architecture folder
    4. If you revert sound driver to Win built-in choose install driver option with DHT! Others needn't choose driver.
    5. After installition Dolby panel will autostart at tray, and if it gives an error remove dolby and start from step 1!

    PS. Corrected by me .inf file from 2.67 modded realtekHDA. This file have corretly worked SonicFocus OR 96kHz :p. Needed files for installition find by yourself

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 19, 2013
  5. johnslash

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    75 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    A hint to get a better sound is enabling 7.1 or 5.1 in Realtek Control Panel and Headphone on Creative Control Launcher, and for those who uses the DHT V4 I'll upload a preset for you guys test and see if is good for you.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?2w2b8vi2z9jj535
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2013
  6. Delphium

    Delphium

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Alc898 ddl

    Hi, recently I upgraded my motherboard to a GA-X79S-UP5-WiFi (Wish I got the GA-X79-UD5 now) which comes with an onboard Realtek ALC898 chipset audio controller.

    The ALC898 on the X79-UD5 works with support for DDL, sadly the UP5 does not, despite using the same chipset.

    I understand this to be a licensing limitation built into the motherboard?

    I have installed these modded drivers and the Creative X-Fi MB2 software with success, although I am currently seeing little benefit other than the options available in the Creative software.

    My aim is to get Dolby Digital Live working for 5.1 in games over optical, sadly this appears not to be an option in any of the creative/realtek softwares using the modded drivers.

    Am I missing something, or perhaps have I misunderstood the capability of these modded drivers?

    Any help would be hugely appreciated.

    Many thanks
    Delphium
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2013
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,008 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,402
    these modded drivers do not delivery many of their claimed features.
  8. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,647 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    I am using these and they seem to be better than reg Realtek (if only for CMSS-3D and the "Headphones" setting in my case).

    FWIW, I too thought I wanted to go 5.1 over optical when I got my mini-itx board becuase I had to ditch my soundcard and I swear I read about some advantage(s) to using optical out instead from the onboard 898 but now for the life of me can't remember what that was anyway. Perhaps you could remind me. Why do you seek to go that route?

    At any rate, going full ATX again soon and looking forward to having a real soundcard again.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,008 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,402
    optical CAN sound better than cheap analogue, at least for stereo.
    Kursah says thanks.
  10. Delphium

    Delphium

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I choose optical for a number of reasons...

    A) My decoder's (Logitech Z-5500) analogue channels are already populated by another device leaving only optical and coax as inputs.

    B) Originally the electrics in my old house are not that good, I was noticing earthing between the PC and the decoder sometimes causing the decoder to crash and restart when using copper which acted as a ground, using optical overcome this, although this is not so much an issue as it once was.

    C) It was easier to manage and all digital sources such as dvd/blu-ray would simply pass the audio stream to the decoder, which admittedly they still do, its just a pain to keep swapping between analogue and digital outputs/inputs.

    Pitty these drivers dont really work as I thought they might, or maybe Gigabyte have really done a number on the board restricting the modded drivers functionality just like the castrated Realtek drivers supplied.

    EDIT: managed to get DTS/DDL working with an unlocked driver from this thread... http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t...nd-dts-interactive.193148/page-6#post-3036689
    Audio quality is good and DTS/DDL functionality working.
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2013
  11. xZero543

    xZero543 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It doesn't work for me.

    Audio: ALC887 (Integrated)
    MBO: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

    I installed it, sound works, and detected as Realtek ALC-8xx/26x HD X-Fi@Gamespirit, but:
    - In Audio properties, there are only classic tabs: General, Levels and Advanced
    - Creative Audio Control Panel keep saying error "The audio device supported by this application is not detected. The application will exit."
    - Creative Alchemy says same.
    - Nothing works except Realtek audio panel and sound.



    I don't know why it is not working. I restarted my computer several times.
    Is there are any solution or any other modded driver?
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,008 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,402
    havent had a BSOD since uninstalling these drivers... they may be buggy on 8.1

    just throwing that out as an FYI, they were driver power state related BSODs.
  13. tomatoseraiwangi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi, i've been using these drivers for quite some time. Right now i'm using win 8.1 and an analog headphone. I cannot recall if it happened when i was using win 7, but some applications throw errors when using this driver and randomly sound would stop entirely for all applications even system sounds which then requires a system restart (service restart doesn't work for me). when I first started using this modded driver, only realtek effects, Sonic Focus, DTS, Dolby Home Theater 4, and some Creative's effects that were enabled, excluding THX stuff. Then I started looking into the modded inf files (this started a long time ago, I switched between using this driver and official driver now and then because cannot figure out the solution). Just yesterday i managed to solve that sound problem (i only fiddled with the inf and replaced some files, newer PCEE4 files i believe). Now i have dolby home theater spruce property page (advertised with my motherboard, and it appears after i removed some lines that correspond to SRS effect, which wasn't not there for me but it appeared at my internship's computer after i installed it with the mod driver, secretly), realtek effects, DTS (this and PCEE4 previusly set by Gamespirit, having reversed LFX and GFX, which triggered the sound problem for me), Sonic Focus, and Dolby Home Theater 4 (PCEE4). As a bonus for me there is a profile editor for PCEE4 which allows users to set their preferred settings. I disabled Creative effects and drivers as i felt unsatisfied of not being able to fully use their effects (THX). As for the reversed LFX and GFX, setting them accordingly won't solve it, it even prevents any sounds coming out, so i experimented with putting them in 2 consecutive APOs, with the LFX set as GFX in one of the APOs.

    some screenshots:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    If anyone wants to try this here it is, though i'm not sure if it work over optical or anything like that, PCEE 4 profile editor is included and has to be installed manually, credit to Gamespirit for the modded driver:


    Edit: here is supposed-to-be handle-leak-free Sonic Focus file(s) (http://withinwindows.com/blog/2008/...-the-how-and-when-were-getting-the-fixed-ones. Just replace the files in "Vista64" folder):

    Last edited: Jun 23, 2014
    OneMoar says thanks.
  14. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,901 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Location:
    Rochester area
    link above works but I had to toggle the speaker configuration to get it reset the output pins to get the audio to work correctly
    AFAIK it initally sounded like i was only getting 1.5 channels once I toggled the output jacks and set the speakers to quadraphonic and then back to stereo it behaved PCE4 utility didn't install tho
    I perfer AIMP3 over xmplay :)
    and to whoever posted the results saying the drivers are worse its most likely because you used a line out loop the pin configuration on realtek chips is a bit flaky if you use the wrong combination of output and input pins it results in cross-talk/leakage the stock drivers try and prevent this by pin switching internally if You wanna test this do this

    enable both front and rear "green" outputs connect your line in BLUE to the orange or Gray and set that pin as a output

    you should be getting a lot of crosstalk or missing channel
    this issue also presents its self with the pink/black combo
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2014
  15. tomatoseraiwangi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    do you have to toggle it each time the system starts or just that once?
  16. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,901 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Location:
    Rochester area
    seems ok now that I reset the pins
  17. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,083 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Any benefits in using this with some Sennheiser Stereo Headphones?
  18. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,901 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Location:
    Rochester area
    if you like that processed audio sound sure its not overly processed the sonic focus one is about the only effect thats worth a dam

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page