1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

xfire sli mobo

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Garb3, May 31, 2007.

  1. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
    i'm really sorry asking the question :eek: but......

    xfire and sli mobo's does it matter performace wise what cards you have in them

    e.g. sli mobo with 2x x1950 pros or xfire mobo with 2 x 8800gts

    really sorry if this is a total noob question but i just thought u that with sli being nvidia's 2 gfx card solution and xfire being ati's it would make sense to have the same brand cards and get better performance:confused:
     
  2. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    If you use dual ati cards it has to be xfire, for dual nvid it has to be sli.

    they wont work in opposites.
     
  3. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,497 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    right, but some boards support both.
     
  4. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    fo rly?
     
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,497 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    in english please.
     
  6. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    what i meant is that so? and what models are these?
     
  7. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
    just as well i asked then cause i'm lookin for a new mobo and was thinkin of gettin 1 so that i can go xfire cause i already got a x1950 pro and i dont think i need any connections/bridges for xfire to work with pro's

    thanks for gettin bk quick(all tho there was no rush lol)
     
  8. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    I would like to see some actual proof on that claim. I havn't heard of anything like that.
     
  9. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,497 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    nah, you need two internal bridges.
     
  10. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,497 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    i know that my board (not officially) will run sli if you get a bridge...
     
  11. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    what board is this?
     
  12. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
    :nutkick: just goes to show u how much i know about xfire lol
     
  13. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
    what u think of this board is it any good Asus M2R32-MVP ???
     
  14. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    lol it's ok. you would think that if a mobo supported dual x16 (physical) slots, it would be able to run both xfire and sli. i bet that it's just properitory, if they really wanted to do it, they could, but they just don't like the consumer. perhaps there is more than just the need for two pci-e slots, i don't know.
     
  15. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
    the only thats miffed me is there are not that many good xfire boards but yer can get a sli for like £55 (from the 1's i have seen so far like anyway
     
  16. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,497 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    a lot of times you can run sli on crossfire boards with the use of hacked drivers.
    in the case of sli, drivers are all you need (and two pcie 16 slots :p), but the drivers wont allow you to run sli unless you are using hardware the drivers want you to, which is why hacked drivers work...
    in the case of crossfire, a special hardware chip is required within the northbridge, so you can't run crossfire on an sli board.
     
  17. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    ahh ok thank you.
     
  18. MaxBurn New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Nvidia hacked for SLI drivers are pretty old versions too, so I wouldn't go shopping with this in mind.
     
  19. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    There isn't any hardware limitation. The issue simply is drivers. Like Maxburn said the hacked SLI drivers are quite old, 86 or so. Plus they don't support 8800's.

    Perhaps some day AMD and NV won't limit SLI and Crossfire to certain chipsets.
     
  20. MaxBurn New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I think I read somewhere that ATI is\was working on opening this up to all chipsets. I think it is in their best interests. I can't remember the name of the article to google, will ask my friend what it was. Might have been killed from the merger too...

    I ran dual 7800GT's on a ULI chipset that had dual PCIEX16 for a little while but had problems with the older driver and some games. Those that worked showed a big jump in speed. It is a damn shame that nvidia chooses to dictate to us what we may use for SLI to sell their only their products.
     
  21. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    That board you're talking about is very old already.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page