1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX 4870 fan speeds

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by pantherx12, Sep 10, 2009.

  1. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Hey I was wondering if there an easy way to set default fan speeds, I'd rather have the fan running @20% when idle and also kick up speed in general a bit faster.

    My temps very quickly get to 70 celcius and the fan still doesn't bother to go over 40%.

    And help greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Yea man if you go into the ati ccc panel and have it on the advanced settings and go to ati overdrive then click the lock it will unlock the manual settings then click the enable ati overdrive box, this will allow you to change the clocks as well as the fan speed. If you dont want to overclock your card make sure the sliders are at the default location meaning all the way to the left and just set the fan speed, hit apply and you should hear the fans kick in. :D
     
  3. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Thank you but I meant it the fans to still automatically be controlled, do you know how?
     
  4. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    you mean like have them at 40% then go to say 80% when you're in game?
     
  5. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Mmmh mm :]
     
  6. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    well i know rivatuner does this extremely well...it has 3 seperate settings i think they are 2d low 2d high and then 3d...if you dont want to mess with rivatuner you can try this...
    this was by another guy in the amd forums.
     
    pantherx12 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page