1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX 5870 bios ISO from XFX support, just burn it & reboot?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by poohbear, Jan 13, 2011.

1. poohbear New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hey all, so XFX support emailed me the latest bios for my 5870 XXX edition (587AZN3B) in an ISO format. The ISO includes the Bootup disc and the bios itself according to ISObuster (a program that reads the contents of an ISO). They told me to just burn the ISO and flash from the CD.

I burned a CD w/ the ISO, but the CD is all blank? Is this normal with a bootable CD with the VGA BIOS on it? I thought i could see the files on the CD? I checked if their hidden files but not, the CD is just blank.:( Just wanna be extra careful that this is normal? i.e. bootable discs with BIOS' on em are blank when opened? Sorry if i sound like a complete noob, first time flashing a VGA bios.

Just wanna quickly confirm here as XFX support takes a couple of days to respond.:( Thanks a ton in advance!

2. Qed New Member

Thanks Received:
    Extract the iso with any program (like 7-zip) and check if there are fiels inside.

3. poohbear New Member

Thanks Received:
    yes like i said there is a "boot disc" file (consists of 2 files: BootImage.img & BootCatalog.cat) and the 587AZN3B.bin Bios file. There is no flash utility that i can see, but this can just be automated in the "bootdisc". The problem is when i burn to CD, the CD is empty. Is this normal for a boot disc?

4. brandonwh64

brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

Thanks Received:
    I posted this in another thread. all you have to do after following those steps is to set press the boot key while the system is booting (like F2 or F12) and select your flash drive. then it should boot into dos were you can flash your card

Crunching for Team TPU
  5. poohbear New Member

Thanks Received: