1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX 6970 Black Edition Fan always running at 100%!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by rebelx, Jan 19, 2014.

  1. rebelx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    12 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    here's my problem..
    Suddenly, my graphics card fan is now running at 100%, and it's like a jet engine!
    I didn't mess with it at all. It does that after I press the power button immediately, so I think it's not OS related.
    I tried:
    1. uninstalling the drivers and reinstalling.
    2. flashing the mobo's bios.
    3. opening the card cover and re-seating the fan power cable.
    4. changing the fan speed in the AMD Catalyst control center doesn't do anything.
    N.B: I tried removing the power cables from the gfx card and it kept running at 100% also! I don't know how is this possible!
    all this didn't solve the problem, please help!
     
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,053 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,430
    Have you actually checked the temperature of your card?
     
  3. SKBARON

    SKBARON

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Chisinau, Moldova
    You've gone and started form the wrong end of the solutions list. As FreedomEclipse said, check your card's temperatures, if those are high, it's time to clean the card of dust and change the thermal paste :).
     
  4. flmatter

    flmatter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    335 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    x3 from what above said
     
    More than 25k PPD
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,245 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,802
    Location:
    US
    Check your temps as everyone already said but check with GPU-Z. IF XFX did not mess with the blacks to much you should have a bunch of temp readings.

    BTW the slandered cooler gets blocked with dust on the right side which is the left of the fan and you end u with a wall of dust.

    Maybe blow some compressed air though or even take the cooler apart and re do the paste to make sure every things right.
     
  6. rebelx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    12 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The card is Idle and I can feel the cold air out of the card, here's a screenshot:
    http://imgur.com/IV5DPh8

    and The card is very clean, I opened the cover and I found it perfectly clean.

    I forgot to mention that it's running at 100% daily for 3 weeks now (I was on a long trip)..

    In my area, the power goes off often. This problem started after the power went out one day.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 19, 2014
  7. SKBARON

    SKBARON

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Chisinau, Moldova
    Every single sensor reading is off on your card, the power outage could have damaged the sensors or something else. Damn, if that cooler works at 5.8k rpm no wonder you want to do something about it. Did you try setting a specific % for the fan using msi afterburner? If that doesn't work you could try using a fan controller for the vga fan.
     
  8. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,034 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Your card has a duel bios switch next to its crossfire connectors,shut down your pc completely,flip the switch and boot back on and see if that does anything.
     
  9. Eroticus

    Eroticus

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    268 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Israel
    Nice temps =) real AMD Card made of lava ! <3
     
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,418 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,718
    Location:
    Florida
    re-install your amd drivers. try a diffirent bios.

    the sensors currently think the core is on the surface of mercury.
     
  11. rebelx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    12 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I did try using MSI afterburner, and it doesn't do anything.
    Do you mean I should buy a device for controlling the fan? where I can find it?
     
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,418 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,718
    Location:
    Florida
    Their is a way to do software fan control and override the settings. I dont mean just sliding the bar. You can configure a custom fan profile. However if your drivers are corrupt or all your sensors are bad including your fan controller then the card is wrecked and you will need a hardware fan controller.
     
  13. jcgeny

    jcgeny

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    155 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    your vga is very damaged and you should ask for a rma
    your psu and pc-mobo and may be monitor are also very hurted

    what you need is an ups : no others shutdown "SURPRISE" or other "over-powered-burnedPC" and start building a new computer
     
  14. rebelx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    12 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  15. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,801 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    New York
    no, I'm pretty sure the fan plug on the GPU is probably different but you'll need to take a look at it.

    Is the GPU also throttling?
     
  16. rebelx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    12 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The fan plug has 4 holes where it connects to the card .. the card has 4 pins.
     
  17. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,801 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    New York
    If it has the correct connecter then it will work. NO wait ...I don't think it will work tho.
     
  18. rebelx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    12 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay, do you have other suggestion? (this thing is driving me nuts!)
     
  19. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,801 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    New York
    Not really other than get some cable extensions and get it away from you. (IF ITS REALLY BAD SENSORS)

    That's as long as the card is NOT THROTTLING.
    Is your gpu running at its full 3d speeds while gaming? Check it with MSI and see cuz if its 100% fan and throttle then well we will see first.
    (throttle = when the card lowers the gpu clocks on its own and raises them back)
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2014
  20. rebelx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    12 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't think it's throttling..
    here's a screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

    • gfx.jpg
      gfx.jpg
      File size:
      486.1 KB
      Views:
      126
  21. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,801 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    New York
  22. rebelx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    12 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I used it and the card is not responding to it :(

    do you think it's a mobo or power supply issue?
     
  23. SQr

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    My brother's 6970 has the same problem (funny that card is XFX as well...). Running furmark for a while fixes the issue, although temporarily. Card seems to run fine, no throttling, etc.

    As a workaround, we replaced the cooler with an Accelero Twin-turbo, quiet even at 100% fan.
     
  24. rebelx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    12 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thank you for your reply :D
    what happened with your brother card to cause this?
     
  25. Lunat!c

    Lunat!c

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    32 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    check ur temps first, if they are fine its probably ur fan settings, if ur too noob for bios use evga precision for the fan settings
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page