1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX 6970 Revision?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Aceman.au, May 23, 2011.

  1. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,521 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Hey I ordered 2 XFX 6970 2GB's from www.pccasegear.com for my friends new PC build, when they got here and I removed them from their box. They were the apparently the same card but with 2 different lengths and coolers and a massive difference in weight.

    Have I got a revised version?

    One had a massive red cooler as shown here http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=193_1178&products_id=16312
    This one was longer and heavier.

    The second one has a black cooler and weighed next to nothing. But has the XFX and 6970 stickers on them.

    What sort of FPS should my friends PC be pulling in Arma 2 with 2 6970s in CF, i5 2500k and8gb of DDR3?
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,061 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,184
    You should call them and tell them you want the two identical cards that you ordered. While they may work fine together, there's a possibility they won't.
     
  3. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,521 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Yes Ill call them and give them a piece of my mind, they advertised a CPU cooler that support 1155/1156/1366/775 CPU sockets when it only supported 1156/1366/775. So I'm already quite pissed. I brought it for my friends new build and now Ive got to return it. I hate returns.
     
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    13,154 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,916
    Location:
    US
    Watch out one of those might not be reference, XFX like making a cheaper model so they can use the reference cards as higher clocked ones and this is why i keep away from the lowest models of there unless there is a model number which that site don't give you one.

    The none reference XFX cards are normally more limited in what they can do compared to the reference. And i would not be surprised if they removed the bios switch just to make it cheaper( don't think they did not i am not sure).

    And holly crap why not go Newegg mine was cheaper than that 3 month ago with 2 day shipping lol.


    EDIT: i did notice they scrub the model number off on the picture too.
     
  5. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,521 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    www.pccasegear.com are Australian. Not American :)

    And yes I will look into it further.
     
  6. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    13,154 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,916
    Location:
    US
    Ahh that explains it all.. But still i would do what erocker said send it right back at them and ask for another the same as..


    What are the models numbers out of curiosity ?
     
  7. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,521 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    I don't know.
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,061 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,184
    You want the red, heavier card. The black light card is a cheaper non-reference design.
     
  9. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,521 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Ok, thanks. Just realised they were 6950s not 70s but meh doesnt affect the topic too much.
     
  10. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,521 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Words cannot describe how pissed I am right now. I look like a complete fool. 2 f***-ups in one order, the first time out of 15 orders with them and it had to be when I was building for a friend.
     
    Lionheart says thanks.
  11. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,190 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    942
    Location:
    Multidimensional
    :laugh: Don't worry bro, they've screwed up my orders before, they might have good hardware and prices but from my experience, I don't really like their return policy.

    Last year I bought a GTX 480 from there and I wanted to send it back because of heat issues:banghead:, they wanted me to pay for postage both ways:(:(

    I don't shop really buy much from there anymore:toast:
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    22,179 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,084
    I've had this happen with XFX before. They release a revised version of a card, but keep the same model number. I hot hit with this in the HD4800 series. I ordered two HD4870s, the exact same model, from newegg. They had the same model numbers on the boxes, and the same model numbers on the stickers, but one was a reference card w/ Voltage control and one was a non-reference w/out voltage control.

    It is kind of shitty for XFX to do this, IMO.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Socket 1156 has the same bracket and hole spacing as 1155 so basically any coolers that is compatible on the 1156 platform will be compatible with 1155, a little research doesn't hurt. :rolleyes:
     
  14. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,521 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    On some motherboards. But mine has capacitors surround the socket making it impossible to fix it down without damaging capacitors
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    22,179 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,084
    1155 has the same "no fly" zone that 1156 does, that means that motherboard manufacturers are supposed to leave so much space around the socket. If a cooler is 1156 compatible then it is 1155 compatible. If you have capacitors in the way, then the motherboard manufacturer hasn't followed Intel's specs for clearance around the socket.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,114 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    Toronto
    around the socket or around the holes?

    it might just be a cramped mobo where various wide custom coolers just wont fit in general, just like how sometimes ram slots might be too close & tall sticks or even regular sized ones would get in the way of a large cpu cooler
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)