1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XfX 7600GT is realy dead???

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Edito, Mar 13, 2007.

  1. Edito

    Edito

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    346 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Maputo-Mozambique
    Hi ppl im new here and im where because i like this website this forum n i realy think u can help me save my video card... the problem is, when a start the computer the image simply doesn't appear but the computer seams to be working normally n this prob starts suddenly...any advise will be helpfully...

    Thanx

    CPU - 3000+ @ 2400Ghz
    HDD - 2x 250GB sata
    RAM - 2x 1GB
    VGA - XFX 7600GT
     
  2. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    What did you do before you started having this problem, did you Over clock it, or update the BIOS, or change the driver? More info please.
     
  3. Edito

    Edito

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    346 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Maputo-Mozambique
    I only o'clocked the CPU n i did nothing before, i never updated the BIOS ill try 2 update the bios 2 see what will happen then ill tell u... thanx anyway...


    CPU - 3000+ @ 2400Ghz
    HDD - 2x 250GB sata
    RAM - 2x 1GB
    VGA - XFX 7600GT
     
  4. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Did it just start happening? Or did you change hardware/software then it started happening?
     
  5. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Have you tried both DVI ports, or have you confirmed the problem is not your monitor by connecting it to a known working computer?
     
  6. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thats a good point. Does the monitor display as Windows is loading up/once it gets into windows, or does it justn ot show at all?
     
  7. Edito

    Edito

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    346 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Maputo-Mozambique
    I did nothing i only o'clocked my CPU n nothing else, the PC works normally with the onboard GPU... whatever ill buy another when i had cash for it... thanx anyway...

    Stay cool...
     
  8. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Does the monitor display on onboard while the graphics card is plugged in?
     
  9. Edito

    Edito

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    346 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Maputo-Mozambique
    No when i plug the 7600 the image doesn't appear but with the onboard the PC works normally.
     
  10. rick22

    rick22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    629 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    when my 7600gt went bad i first saw pink and white stripes ...i turned my pc off then when i restarted it the screen had black and white stripes then went dead..no picture.....
     
  11. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Definitely a VC problem. Is it still under warranty?
     
  12. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yeah sounds like a dead card. Can you RMA it?
     
  13. Edito

    Edito

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    346 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Maputo-Mozambique
    It's out of guaranty :-( i think i really have 2 buy another... n Pinchy what does RMA means? Sorry this question maybe stupid but i just don't know.
     
  14. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    i thought all xfx cards were covered by a lifetime warranty...
     
  15. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    actually all are covered by a "double lifetime warranty" of course its limited but since you didn't overclock i dont see why you cant just send it back to XFX and get a new one?
     
  16. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    and even if he did overclock, how would they tell?

    it might be slightly immoral, but still possible.
     
  17. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    RMA is Return Manufacturer Authorisation.

    Its basically warranty, but directly with the manufacturer.
     
  18. Edito

    Edito

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    346 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Maputo-Mozambique
    Ill do that n ppl thanx 4 everting... Stay Coollll
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page