1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX 8800 GT flashed to XFX 8800 GT Ultra?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by AudioSenseCD, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. AudioSenseCD New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    good evening masters and gurus

    i doubted a lot here's my wondering question i am a noob for VGA bios flashing but for MB bios flashing i'm a know how student he he he sorry for my bad english yey..

    is it possible to flash the XFX 8800gt alpha dog edition to xfx 8800gt ultra is it worked?. If not then to bad for me co'z i have to buy a new VGA higher than my current xfx 8800gt. i hope you guys can help me TIA......:slap:
  2. AudioSenseCD New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    help plssss...
  3. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,879 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,476
    even if you can, the performance increase will be minimal.

    get a 5850 if you can, otherwise stay in last generation(4870, gtx260). the 8xxx series of Nvidia was like 4 or more generations ago, just really old. if it's for gaming just get a better card, if it's for work or something hang on and someone will give you more info on flashing, i just don't know.
    AudioSenseCD and brandonwh64 say thanks.
  4. AudioSenseCD New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    thanks sir digibucc
  5. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Just use RivaTuner to OC your current card...you wont need an upgrade then or to flash anything. :)
    AudioSenseCD says thanks.
  6. crush3r

    crush3r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    346 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Overclocking your current card to the clocks of the ultra would bring the same performance with less risk. As digi said, improvement will be negligible and a gtx260/4870 (preferably 1GB) would be a nice step up.

    Edit: Acid beat me to it :laugh:
    AudioSenseCD and digibucc say thanks.
  7. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
    8800GT is little bit under performance of HD4850 and GTS250-9800GTX-8800GTX. Not too much but a little bit. I think 90% of games would run at full detail with full speed with that card and I think if you are playing with 19-22 inch monitor, there is no reason to buy new card.

    Most TPU users would not agreed with that :)
    AudioSenseCD says thanks.
  8. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,879 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,476
    yeah definitely disagree. have you ever owned an 8800 and/or a 4850? I had a 4870. 4870 was the most massive increase in performance I have ever had, coming from an 8800.

    and features are where it's at. for gaming an 8800 has no where near the features of a newer card, including but not limited to shader model 3/4 and directx 10/.1

    raw power maybe they are close, i don't know - but in real world performance they are worlds apart.
  9. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
    @digibucc
    I've had HD3870, then 8800GT, then HD4850 and for few days I was owner of Hd4890. The biggest jump was from HD3870 to 8800GT. The other jumps was not real benefit. I'm playing on 22 inch lcd, so I don't know how it's working on high resolutions.

    You are right that 8800GT is only DX10, but all GTX2xx are the same (old) architecture. If AudioSenseCD want something NEW, then the only reasonablu choice would be HD57xx or HD58xx.
    AudioSenseCD and digibucc say thanks.
  10. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    DX10.1 did nothing and is unimportant.



    He does not need another card yet, guys, I see a lot of people saying "buy this card, no no, buy that one" when its not needed.

    Take the GTX280 thread not long back where a lot of you said he needed to get himself a 5870 over his pair of 280's...sure the ATI card would use less power but it would also be less powerful.....can I ask why you people thought he needed an upgrade???? :wtf:


    An 8800GT is fine still for games and will play pretty much any title out there perfectly well without lag...so what if you can only run 2x AA and not 4x....does it actually matter?

    Not everyone on this forum needs either the highest bench scores or biggest e-peen..some people just game, you know, where you load up a 3d image that isn't 3DMark and shoot some noobs??? :tick-tock-gun-shot: :laugh:



    Bottom line @ OP? OC your card, you'll get a little boost from that. :)
    JrRacinFan and AudioSenseCD say thanks.
  11. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,879 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,476
    he wouldn't be asking about flashing a different bios and getting more power, if it was powerful enough.

    i understand your point - but this is a hardware enthusiast forum. to expect us to do anything else is unreasonable, and not realistic. so you talk to all of us about a thread we probably had nothing to do with, and wouldn't remember if we did? i suspect this is a sort of rage post, regardless i disagree with you. and judging by the entirety of your post, it seems you didn't even actually read the responses.

    OP - if you want more power, upgrade. your OC will not do anything, and your card is not a great one anymore.

    yeah you are right - a 4870 would definitely give him the HIGHEST scores and BIGGEST epeen. did you even read the suggestions? it seems you just had some anger to release and decided to do it in the place where it would be the most useless. well done.
    AudioSenseCD says thanks.
  12. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    I've been around long enough to know what this place is about, thanks for reminding me....I also take time to read every post in a thread before I reply to it...unlike some people my time isn't spent spamming every topic with mindless crap. :wtf:

    Also, if you dont remember that topic/post in question, my point wasn't aimed at you.....but if you want to take it as if it was, thats fine too...it really doesn't matter. (arroyo remembers this post. :shadedshu)


    He may be asking for no other reason than to find out how to flash a BIOS because hes curious....he didn't 100% state that he had any performance issues or why he needed to do anything at all to his card and for all we know hes playing WoW @ 1024x768 and that is far from demanding. :roll:
    AudioSenseCD says thanks.
  13. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,879 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,476
    i just find that the less likely of the possibilities, and i operated on what i felt was the most likely. I would assume if he was simply curious he would have simply asked about it, rather than explicitly how to do it. how to do it i think necessitates that he wants to do it, which necessitates that there is a reason to do it.

    and he said

    which tells me his current card isn't powerful enough.

    all those things led me to the conclusion i came to. i see how without them you could come to your conclusion, which is why i asked if you fully read everything. sry for the rage.
  14. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Without the OP giving us more info we can guess all we want......I would assume he is asking because the card isnt powerful enough but sometimes you have to guess when nothing is known, thats why I said he me be asking just because hes curious.


    Either way, he needs to fill in his SySpecs and tell us the issue, then we can work it out for him what the best thing to do woud be. :)
  15. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,879 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,476
    really? i'm not trying to be rude, but you very obviously did not catch that sentence. there is no guessing involved, he stated what he wanted to accomplish.

    well i can agree with what was the highest jump, but to say the rest were no real benefit - is just not truthful. i don't feel like it but i can compile benchmarks that show the increase in performance alone, not to even touch the features - if you want.

    just because it wasn't as noticeable to you, or because you play at a resolution that doesn't make use of it, doesn't mean it didn't happen. if you were actually pushing the limits of each card the whole time, you would have definitely noticed a difference. I did, and i used fraps and benchmarking software to confirm.
  16. AudioSenseCD New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    hey guys just take it easy wew... i'm just a noob here and thanks to all of you out there helping me through he he he i've a HIS ICEQ 4670 512mb 128bit DDR3 before but I'm not satisfied with performance of this card then I switch to XFX 8800gt 512MB 256bit DDR3 and now a lot of games bottleneck my XFX 8800gt alpha dog Edition...

    thanks to all you masters and guru's

    My current Rig:

    e8400 c2D overclock to 3.8ghz (now back to stock)
    2x2gb team Elite DDR2 800mhz
    2x500gb seagate
    DEEPCOOL ICE BLADE PRO HSF
    XFX 8800gt 512mb 256 bit (with Accelero cooler with 2 turbo accelero fans)
    Hannsfree 19 inch LCD

    gud am out there but here in Philippines its pm
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2010
  17. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Why keep posting what I've already seen in his main post?


    Until he says what he wants to flash his card for we cant say for sure what he needs anything for.

    Add to that his broken English and you have a lot of guessing and not a lot of answers.


    I said pretty much the same in my last post...is this clear enough for you now?? :shadedshu
  18. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...

    Now we actually have the facts the answers can be simple:


    OC your current card to the highest it can go....my Alpha Dog's didn't OC very well but maybe yours will. :)

    OR

    Buy another card..cheap option is a 4870 or if you want to spend some more step up to the newer DX11 ATI cards or find a nice deal on a used nVidia 2xx card (pref anything over the 260 as the 4870 can be found for cheaper and is on par with the earlier said card).
    AudioSenseCD says thanks.
  19. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,879 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,476
    it's been clear, but you are simply not admitting you were wrong. i didn't even care about an admission, just stop denying it.

    there is no guessing, he is very obviously not curious. he said he needed to replace it if not - how is that simply curiosity? i have no problem understanding what he wrote - i'm just not understanding where all this rage is coming from.

    sorry audio, was not trying to highjack your thread. if it's just barely bottlenecking, than an oc may help. but ocs can only help so much, and they come with their own problems

    if you can work out an upgrade, you can have more power with less problems. that's what i'd recommend. but in regards to this card, you can try to OC without and bios messing about. as acid said in his first post, rivatuner will do the job.
  20. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    All this nerdrage about me being wrong and I actually answered the guy correctly in my first post? :roll:


    I wish I could sig this entire thread, its been the most fun (BS?) I've read and posted in for a long time.


    I still stand by the fact he wasn't clear and being on this forum for so long I know first hand that when people are vague every angle needs to be covered...everyone already said get a new card so I came up with the OC idea.

    Once the OP was clear enough the real ideas came out and I covered them in my last post.
  21. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,879 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,476

    i know lol... i thought the same thing ;)

    wasn't gonna not give you credit though, so there it is :)

    i do think we got to those answers without his last post. i actually thought his last post did nothing but to reiterate and give a few specifics.

    but regardless, it doesn't matter. sorry for my rage as well :)

    yeah i know, great fun ;)
  22. AudioSenseCD New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    :respect:

    ha ha ha TY sir but here in my country new VGA is still very expensive wew :)

    I've try a lot of OC things in Riva tuner but to bad I'm not satisfied that's why i open up a thread like this :D
  23. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I have owned a 8800GT(still using it) and a 4850 1gb. Both cards overclocked to hell and back and i couldn't tell 1 difference in ANYtHING. In TDU(very buggy game) I LOST a few FPS with the 4850.From what i have seen a overclocked 4850 can come really close to a 4870.Maybe its just me but i don't think it would be worth going to a 4850/4870. Also i had a GTX260(216) and once again i didn't notice any improvements in anything then benchmarks. Also keep in mind i game on a 19" LCD

    So depending on the screen size it may not be worth an "upgrade" but if anything i would go for a 5770 or higher


    But to answer your original question
    Aslong as the Ultra bios is the same core(G92) and has the same number of shaders and mem then you should be fine.
    AudioSenseCD says thanks.
  24. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    If you flash a 8800GT with a 8800GTX/8800ULTRA bios you will brick the card because the GPU's are not the same at all, don't do it, just use rivatuner and overclock while watching the temps and checking for artifacts.
    AudioSenseCD says thanks.
  25. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,879 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,476
    with a 19" in screen your vertical resolution isn't even 1000 probably. you were not pushing the 8800 let alone a 4850 or a gtx260.

    again, just because you didn't notice any improvements, does not mean there are none to be noticed. you just weren't pushing your original card so an upgrade was unnecessary.
    AudioSenseCD says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page