1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX GeForce GTS 250 overclocking help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by sonnytiger, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    Hey i've been over clocking my graphics card with riva tuner and seem to have difficulty getting over 9% increase without a bunch of artifacts popping up in RFG (green flash every once in a while) any ideas why i can't get any more?:roll:
     
  2. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
  3. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Qu├ębec/Montreal
    I thought of the same thing PSU
     
  4. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,336 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    whats the temps/cooling like?
     
  5. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    oh, how high of a PSU would be good for overclocking this card?
     
  6. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    My temps for the 9% OC at 100 % Fan Speed and 99% GPU Usage is between 60 and 65 selcius
     
  7. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    *Celsius.

    And those temps are fine, can you post what clocks you've set it to for this 9% overclock? The card might already be factory overclocked, which is why you're not getting as much of a % overclock.

    I doubt it'd be your PSU, those Corsair XT models are beasts.
     
  8. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    With the res of your LCD why are you OCing? The stock 250 should be plenty.
     
  9. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,091 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Seems more like your CPU. A phenom 9850BE bottlenecks the crap out of a 9800gt.
     
  10. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    its almost ok mk, explosions in RFG slow it down a bunch, but anyways, here are the standard clocks and the ones its at right now being OC'ed.

    Core Default: 738 MHz
    Core OC: 805MHz

    Memory Default: 1000 MHz
    Memory OC: 1088 MHz

    Shader Default: 1836 MHz
    Shader OC: 2002 MHz


    Interesting to note that the memory over clocks better than anything else, and anyhting pass the stated current over clock encures bad artifacts.
     
  11. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    Oh and zithe, its definately not the CPU it doesn't even go over 50% usage in RFG and none of the cores max out
     
  12. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Do you have a link to the exact video card?
     
  13. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
  14. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I wish I had 2 of those cards. (not exactly helpful but true)
    (all I can come up with is its their STD edition and not the Better "Core edition" one with the better memory)
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2010
  15. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,091 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Doesn't mean anything, really. Games can be written to cap CPU usage. I bet you you'd have very noticeable difference if you hit 3GHZ.
     
  16. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    my card cant oc for crap either man. some cards arer just ocing duds. i bought this corsair psu to see if power was holding me back but my card maxes at 760/1900/1150 before i get artifacts or straight crashing (in furmark)
     
  17. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    2000mhz and above is pretty good for a last gen card..

    When I OCd my older cards I noticed that I got a lot less perf increase from OCing the GPUs than I did OCing the CPU

    Right now I have crazy DDR5 on my 5770s and it dosent seem any better than my 250s were...
     
  18. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Problem with the 5770 is that the GDDR5 is on a 128 bit bus, which means its about as fast clock for clock as GDDR3.

    OP, you probably do just have a dud card, it wouldn't surprise me with those clocks.
     
  19. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I understand that part, its just people keep saying the 5770 is equal to or better than a 260, honestly I dont notice any dif over the 5770 and the GTS 250s.

    And calling the card a "dud" is a bit much. The cards arent sold guaranteeing they will OC so as long as it performs at its advertised spec its a good card to me.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2010
  20. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    So, whats the verdict on my issue? And i don't plan on getting a new CPU anytime soon i've already OCed my cpu as much as i can with just the signal clock (multipliers are locked)
     
  21. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    Everywhere i've heard , they say the gts 250 Overclocks well. but i suppose it could be my cpu, although programs rarely use all cores (audio surf uses only 1!) but its getting better, maybe ill look into other am2+ socket CPU's
     
  22. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,902 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    Singapore
    Have you tried it in a different mobo? Not that it's very likely but maybe there's some electrical interference with the frequentcy of some other component.
     
  23. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    I would like to try that, but i don't have any other pci express mobo's
     
  24. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    I don't understand the 'get a better CPU' argument here. That argument should be stated if you're not getting the performance out of your card that you should be getting. That has nothing to do with OCing. A weak CPU could never in a hundred years affect your GPU OC.

    My verdict is that the OC you have is actually pretty damn good (for core and shaders).
     
  25. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    mk, guess il accept what i got, im getting sat least 30 fps in new games anyways so.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page