1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX HD 7970 BIOs Modification

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Durvelle27, Sep 10, 2013.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,544 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I need help modifying the BIOs on my XFX HD 7970 Core Edition as i want a higher Core voltage on my card to be able to OC further (1.35-1.4v). My cards does indeed have dual BIOs. I have a little experience with flashing but not much as a few months back i had a HD 6950 2GB that i flashed with a HD 6970 BIOs but that was it. Any help would be greatly appreciated :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,572 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Have looked here to see if this is possible

    assuming @ 1.3v [manufactures limit] keep an eye on VRM temps with GPU-Z [are sure VRM's are of high quality if pushing for 1.35-1.4v] (most likely 1.4v will damage or degrade the GPU; may be good for a suicide run)

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2013
  3. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,544 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    @1.3v VRM Temps never exceed 40c and core never exceeds 48c
     
    Law-II says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,572 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    nice temps :toast:

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
  5. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    923 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    369
    on full load? room temp? Cooling?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,544 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Yes on full load

    28c

    Custom Loop
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,655 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,050
    Follow the instructions in the link that Law-II provided.

    To flash new bios to the card.

    Make bootable USB
    Put ATiFlash on it.
    Boot from the usb.
    Flash the bios: C:\atiflash -f -p 0 biosname.rom

    0 = whatever slot the card is in. If it's in the 1st PCI-E slot, it is 0.
     
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
  8. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,544 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Thx will give it a try
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page