1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[XFX HD4890 1GB] - Fan Problem

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by jfasd, Jul 29, 2010.

  1. jfasd

    jfasd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portugal, Madeira
    I have bought an ATI Radeon XFX HD4890 1GB recently,

    I installed Win7 x64 along with the latest drivers from ATI (CCC 10.7)
    Everything was "alright" until I realized the Temperatures are REALLY HIGH (about 115ºC @100% Load!) while the Fan is always spinning at really Low Speeds.

    Example:
    I'm "idling", looking at my desktop, and temps reach 70ºC!
    I go to CCC ATI Overdrive and it shows that the fan is at 50%, when in fact its spinning really slowly!
    I tried to do it manually, push it up to 100% and fan is exactly at the same speed as before...
    I even tried using other software like MSI Afterburner to push the Fan Speed to 100% and it doesn't speed up!

    I've searched on many forums and it seems that the problem is from the BIOS or a manufacturing defect.


    I really need some opinions about this..
    What do you think it is ?
    How do I solve it ?
    Please reply.


    With my best regards,
    JF

    ___________________________________________________________

    EDIT: I have dismantled the card and everything was perfectly connected..

    EDIT2: Now all the chances go to the Motherboard...

    EDIT3: Good News! I dismantled the Graphics Card apart and noticed that the Thermal Paste was in a Really Bad Condition... so I went and bought a new one and replaced it and the Results are amazing! Before, while idling, temperatures would reach ~75ºC, now, with the new thermal paste temperatures are stable @ 42ºC !!!


    PS: The Fan still spins very slowly
    PS2: I took the plastic case and got a 120mm Fan instead! :p

    ___________________________________________________________

    Here are some prints of CCC:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2010
  2. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    sounds to me like something in the fan is dead imo

    maybe test the card in another rig, if it does the same then i would RMA it
     
    jfasd says thanks.
  3. jfasd

    jfasd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portugal, Madeira
    No.. the fan is not dead, it just spins constantly at very Low Speed regardless of the Temperature..
    I know its receiving enough Power because when it reaches ~125ºC Windows Crashes and the Fan starts blowing like Hell!! lol

    I can only RMA it on August 20 because It was sent to me from another country and i'm going there on vacations on August 20...

    So i can only wait 'till then and try to solve it myself...(without voiding warranty:))


    PS:I'll test it in another Motherboard to see if that's the problem.
    Thanks for the suggestion :)
     
  4. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
  5. jfasd

    jfasd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portugal, Madeira
  6. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    what PSU do you have?
     
  7. jfasd

    jfasd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portugal, Madeira
    (C3 Tech) ATX 12V 2.2 600W
     
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    link ?
     
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,128 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    US
    Which XFX HD4890 is it ?. You do know that XFX have double time warranty's right ? or has it been passed on to a few people now ?

    You need the account that the cards registored on so you can check for a bios update.
     
  10. jfasd

    jfasd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portugal, Madeira
    Its a XFX HD 4890 850M 1GB DDR5 DUAL DVI TV PCI-E no overclock and bought in first hand, from a store,then sent to me by DHL.


    Translate with Google :p

    http://www.evomaster.com.br/produto.php?id_produto=187
     
  11. jfasd

    jfasd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portugal, Madeira
    Btw.. i just registered my S/N in www.XFXForce.com so.. how do I get BIOS updates ?
    I asked for a support ticket there.. lets see how it goes.
     
  12. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    hope they have an answer to you, i have no idea to what the cause is

    the psu seems fine to me, so i dont think thats the issue
     
    jfasd says thanks.
  13. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    its an early bios issue with the 4890's if you want I cantake a look at your cards bios for you and find out, and fix it if needed, up to you. if you do pm me ill give you my email address to send it to
     
  14. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    which version of the XFX 4890 is it, do you have a picture of the card, XFX has 3 particular 4890's

    its probably this one,
    XFX HD-489X-ZSFC Radeon HD 4890 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 ...
    this XFX 4890 has no fan control look at the wires, only 2 when it should have 4, you can't control that fan with any software

    also you could have the one with the nonstock heatsink that looks stock but has a different fan, this version of the card is known to have problems and is extremely loud,

    we need to know which one you have, if you go flashing a bios you will void your warranty if you send it back to them with the nonstock bios and from what you say you might be able to(might have to) rma if you have the uncontrollable version that I linked to, problem is though, you live in Portugal, and I don't know how XFX handles warranties over there.

    if you have the card in the link the first thing to do is take the heatsink off and change the thermal paste with something like MX-2
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2010
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,128 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    US
    So it might not be a reference card

    You login your account and you can check if there has been any updates for it. You could make a ticket if there is not one and see what they say about your issue.
     
  16. jfasd

    jfasd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portugal, Madeira
    I am talking to a technician via ticket @ XFXForce.com
    I'll be updating you when I get some news.


    My Graphics Card is a
    HD 4890 850M 1GB DDR5 DUAL DVI TV PCI-E HD-489A-ZDFC
    like this one, but with a slightly different fan (still controllable, with 4 wires)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5XIIJzS-1uE
    http://dealnay.com/13530/xfx-hd489azdfc-radeon-hd-4890-1.0-gb-ddr5-pci-e-2.0-graphics-card.html
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4545359&CatId=3669

    So.. i don't think it would be necessary to change the Thermal Paste..
    And I really don't think the problem is with the FAN itself but with the BIOS or software, because when the temperatures reach like ~125ºC the Computer shuts down and then FAN starts going like crazy, really loud! But until then it just goes really slow while the Temperature rises Insanely!!
     
  17. jfasd

    jfasd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portugal, Madeira
    Here are some Print of my BIOS in TPU RBE:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  18. jfasd

    jfasd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portugal, Madeira
    Oh and btw, the technician @ XFXForce.com has replied and told me to setup the Graphics Board in another system and see if the same problems occur.

    Now I just have to steal my neighbors PC and install the Graphics Card there :p



    EDIT: I have dismantled the card and everything was perfectly connected..

    EDIT2: Now all the chances go to the Motherboard...
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2010
  19. jfasd

    jfasd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portugal, Madeira
    Good News! I dismantled the Graphics Card apart and noticed that the Thermal Paste was in a Really Bad Condition... so I went and bought a new one and replaced it and the Results are amazing! Before, while idling, temperatures would reach ~75ºC, now, with the new thermal paste temperatures are stable @ 42ºC !!!

    PS: The Fan problem is not solved as it still spins very slowly...
    PS2: I took the plastic case off and got a 120mm Fan instead! :p
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2010
  20. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    Nice. I have two of these but the older versions. My temps are @ 60 idle. Wish i can do something about that. Good to hear that you fixed your problem though, thats a nice card :D
     
  21. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    not mine but does it look like that

    [​IMG]
     
  22. jfasd

    jfasd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portugal, Madeira
  23. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    just trying to figure out the version of it, when you turn on your pc is the fan on the card loud for a second then gets quiet.

    also is it used
     
  24. jfasd

    jfasd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portugal, Madeira
    When I format to Win7 or any other OS, after like 10 minutes into the setup the Graphics Card shuts down and the Fan goes 100%...
    After installing the CCC Drivers the Fan goes "normally" (Fan still can't be controlled, its always at very Low RPMs).

    PS: It was bought brand new from the Shop
     
  25. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    look on the back of the card, see the LED's can you tell us which ones are red when it crashes
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page