1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XfX HD4890 XT Initial OC

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Defiance, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. Defiance New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hiya's,
    Only my second post here but i am chuffed :)

    Well the card arrived as i was about to get some sleep :(

    Quick mess around i got http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/7d52m/

    Then just after http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/e2duf/

    Seems a heat issue is obviously the culprit as i just whacked fan to max and all was well, not surprising with no real fan temp strats lol

    Gonna sort a bios soon and then when water blocks ship i should be able to push her passed 1k/1k and another card will join this one next payday for x-fire bliss (i hope)

    Snap some screenies as n when

    TTFN

    Def
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,382 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,321
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Nice :toast:, I nearly got one of those, in the end I opted for the sapphire toxic with the VapourX cooling, purely because it's silent, mine does 1050mhz without mods and with a slight voltage bump in rivatuner I can get 1100mhz but mine probably cost a little more than yours so i recon you did well there.
  3. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,320 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    4890's are clocking beasts, if I didn't have my card I would prob be going for one. Very nice results!
  4. Defiance New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Heya's,
    Only had a quick test, cheers for replies though ;)

    Tucking into fish n chips now, then might do battle with fan settings and see about setting a nice bios up for it

    I have an x48 mobo so gonna get another card next payday :) Arma2 here i come lol

    Ohh Tatty i see you're from worcestershire, i'm across the east in staffordshire ;) , small world he he

    TTFN

    Def
  5. Defiance New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hiya's,
    Was hoping my other 4890 would get delivered yesterday (sat 27th june) but nope :( It's being delivered tomorrow monday :)

    Anyways

    After checking through the XfX Black Edition bios, i picked up on the voltage resistor difference in the 0x18 and also the temp/fan stategy

    So i ammended my bios after saving original (not making that mistake again !! dohh) to match the black edition

    I am happy to say everything is great, fans a touch louder abviously as it's now set at higher rpm's at certain temps (same as BE)

    Chuffed again, and hopefully my card coming tomorrow won't let me down either oc-wise ;)

    http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/7rpr4/

    I just love flashing gpu bios's, less worry than a mobo bios for me lol

    Have Fun

    Def
  6. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Hi defiance,I'm considering a 4890 for my new build in the next month. Could you fill out your computer specs in the control panel. What resolution are you going to be gaming at?, would be nice to know how the 4890's are currently performing at 1920 x 1200. I'll keep watching this thread and good look with the crossfire :)
  7. Defiance New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hiya,
    Lol just done specs n realised i hadn't put res i use, anyways it's 1920x1200

    In call of duties the card's that good i don't even have fraps running

    In the new arma2 (i am addicted to it lol) with everything mixing up with patches and suggested tweaks/settings i can't comment really yet, but when i get used to controlling the settings etc

    But put it like this, compared to my 4870 512 it's like night and day :)

    Neighbour's gonna sign for delivery tomorrow luckily, finish early tomorrow anyways so hopefully i can sort the x-fire

    X-fire virgin, so hopefully it's not too difficult !!

    Anyways i'll post back after other card goes in and hopefully it's a decent clocker like this card

    Have Fun

    Def

    EDIT::: Did a 3dMark 06 earlier, scored 16725 (no idea if that's good or bad, and even if the 06 test really applies to a 4890)
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2009
  8. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    nah, with the newer cards from Nvidia and ATI u should use vantage, as i heard something like 3d06 doesn't take advantage of all the SPU's available in current high end cards. I mean with my build and when i had my 8800GT, i scored like 14,8XX in 3d06 but my build isn't anywhere near as powerful as your machine. 3d06 is kinda useless now for current gen cards; vantage does a better job at showing the performance of current cards, and performance differences.
  9. Defiance New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hiya a ump,

    Just dl'ing vantage now

    And while i'm here, what min psu for my system ?? (i mean single psus instead of my 2 working together)

    Cheers

    Def
  10. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    well i'm not a pro at this, but if water cooling draws power from your computer i'd want a solid 700watt with the rest of your build minimum, though i'd get an 800watt just to give your PSU more breathing room and longevity. Though your current system(if H2O cooling doesn't draw from PC) should run with your 620watt, it's a great quality PSU.

    if you want to check yourself, i've used this calculator and it's the best i've found imo
    http://extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine

    i wasn't sure what water cooling u had or if it drew power from the computer, which can add 80-125watts to system watt usage. if the watercooling doesn't draw power from your pc i don't see why your current PSU can't handle the load.
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2009
  11. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,382 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,321
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    For two 4890's, an overclocked quad and watercooling with the pump etc coming off the main power supply you need at least an 800W PSU. Tests show that without the watercooling they can run fairly happily on a 750.
  12. Defiance New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hiya's,

    Will the Akasa 400w run 1x4890's at black edition clocks you think and also a gpu cooling loop onto the akasa 400w (2x Swiftech Laing D5 Vario MCP655 12V DC Pump, one as-is for cpu and a new one for gpu loop) ??

    Ohh, just about to bench using the free dl of vantage so will post back in a while ;) So then you can tell me if the scores any good for my sys specs :)

    Cheers

    Def
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2009
  13. Defiance New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ok vantage benchies

    Sys spec as per my dropdown

    Gpu Score 10231
    Cpu Score 12672

    3D Mark Score P10748

    Means nothing to me really, hope it's decent for my trusty q6600

    Have Fun

    Def
  14. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    hi guys

    @ Defiance could you send me our upload your bios from your orginal card.

    You have a XFX 4890 right?

    i reflashed bios and i didnt save and you have same card so i assume the same bios. would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks

    Infact u have the XT my bad, wish i had got the XT now as i heard it has the stronger core. ATM in at 950/1000
  15. Defiance New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hiya Reefer,
    I can point you in the right direction for a bios i think

    Gimme a few and i'll post back
  16. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    in have seen the bios for the database but diffrent bios string/number

    I suppose i was looking for one that it came shipped with.
    o and could u maybe kindly tell me what u change in your bios to be like the black edition


    EDIT: WOOOOOOOOT! found it!!!!!!
  17. Defiance New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Reefer,
    I do know XfX posted an updated bios for your card (read on ocuk forums yesterday)

    It was for a different fan temp/cooling strat

    If you reg'd the card on XfX site then goto support i think, bios etc should show

    If not hang while i try and track a copy down, could always ask in a post on the forum if someone will upload a copy of their bios ;)

    In the next post i'll describe how and what i changed for you

    Def

    ps: lemme know if updated bios shows for you on xfX site ;)
  18. Defiance New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Cool,
    You got a link at all :)

    Be good to have to upload to help others out in dire straits

    Def
  19. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    well i have the xfx 4890 but not the XT version. my fault on that part.

    I found my bios on the database here. so obviously we dont have the same cards, bios will be different.

    Im confident that i can reach 1000 core on the normal xfx 4890.

    I havent really stressed it yet but im at 950/1000 from 875/975 with no voltage increase.

    I havent had any update on the bios yet. but i will let u know if i do? problem at them moment is tho that if i stress test with furmark it sends my card up 100c. but its very very stable for 3dmark and vantage and in all games
  20. Defiance New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
  21. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    hi, using the TPU gputool voltage tweak im able to run the card at 1000core and 1000 memory
    no problems and it passes both ati tool and furmark with 5 mins tests.
  22. Defiance New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Niceone Reefer,

    You going to mod your bios and be done with software ?? ;) (great bit of sw though)

    Maybe get to mess some more with mine at the weekend

    Well congrats again and have fun with the card :)

    Def
  23. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    well i was going to mod the bios as it can be done very easily but if i burn out the card, (which i doubt will ever happen as same spped as black edition and it uses same heatsink) then RMA it then they might void my warranty if they see i have changed the bios. Tbh it works at the clocks with just a few clicks at startup. Im gona leave it like this for now and if the few clicks start to anoy me then i will flash the bios.

    So you gona push it a little more then 1000mhz on the core? i think im just gona leave it as it is for now, as its a great improvement and for £60 less then the black edition with the same results but i have heard that some people have had the card faster but that was maybe on watercooling not to sure.
  24. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,689 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,621
    Location:
    US
    Same as min there good with extra voltage and hit over 1000\1100. And yes heat is the issue. Dam VRMs.

    I have the MUSASHI on mine with the alloy part of the stock cooler as i did not want to stick those or any heatsinks on them due to possible issue''s later.

    MUSASHI needs better fans though to make it work better but i can over clock it too 950\1100 and no noise of the cooler lol.

    Problem i'm having is finding real good 100mm fans for it. MIGHT buy another cooler like the TT which should be out soon for it.

    Great Card... With a great warranty
  25. Defiance New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Heya,
    Yeah, look at it as you got a discount of £60 ;)

    I might mess a bit more if i get time saturday, i did the other day but with one thing and another (damn o2 conx went fubar) i got out of the modding mood lol, though like you the 1000/1000 is nice on these gpu's, and deffo not to be sniffed at with stock cooling

    Yeah only flash bios if and when you're sure

    Sounds nice and stable anyways and that's all that matters :)

    Have Fun

    Def

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page