1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX Loads 1.5 GB of Memory Onto Special GeForce 9600 GSO

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 18, 2009.

  1. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    depending on price that would be a great card for what i do.

    i've told everyone this before, but i'll say it again.

    i play a game called silkroad online, and i cheat at it with a bot. using the multi client hack i can only get about 4-5 chars logged on with a 512mb card(4870) and a guad core with 4 gigsof ddr2. one of my guild mates has a rig with a 2180 dualcore, 4gigs of ram and a 9500gt with 1gig of ddr2 on it. he can run 7 or 8 clients easily on his rig.

    so a 1.5 gig card should let me get about 10 clients going. gold bots ftw lol
     
  2. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    i don't believe that at all
     
  3. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    the only persons who are going to buy that card are noobs
     
  4. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    i'm running 4 clients here, and folding at the same time.

    [​IMG]
    By rangerone7669 at 2009-01-18
     
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,512 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    wow, low res monitors ftl!
     
  6. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    nope my monitor is 1680x1050, but the bot does need 1024x768 to run properly. that way it knows where to click the screen when buying from npc's.

    this thread is moving off in a tangent from it's original direction. i will just say this, this card will sell to mostly the uninformed, but that doesn't mean its completely useless. there are some people out there who will make full use of it. i was only trying to describe one situation where 1.5 gigs on a video card could be taken advantage of.
     
  7. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    yeah back on track
     
  8. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,512 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    i suppose you could use it for CAD work, but even a 3870 does fine with CAD nowadays...
     
  9. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    The 9600GSO are selling fast. XFX made a smart move using 96SP instead of the revised 46SP (or w/e number it was)

    One user made a comment saying only noobs would buy this. Wrong, dedicated F@H users (such as myself) find this to be a great product.

    Just my two cents :)

    If the price is right I might buy one for a folding rig.
     
  10. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    It reminds me of the 8500 GT 1 GB version: 1 GB of DDR2 on a 128 bit bus. :shadedshu
    Sure, this card may be good for folding or CAD, but surely there are better options!
     
  11. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    I don't really understand why ATI/Nvidia make high vrams for low-end cards and low vrams for high-end cards.
     
  12. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,512 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    they don't, their oem's do.
     
    newtekie1 and spearman914 say thanks.
  13. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    They should call this the guano edition
     
  14. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    with physics need high GPU , high ram can do anything
     
  15. Mr.Amateur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    188 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I would suggest it was like adding crap to crap, but that works fine too
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page