1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Xfx r7870 problem

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by TimG, Mar 30, 2013.

  1. TimG

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hello,

    I have a XFX R7870 purchased.
    My system will not recognize the card as a HD7800 series, but sees it only as a "MicroSoft Basic Display Adapter".

    I have the card returned as a DOA and have a new card recovered but this gives the same result. Again "MicroSoft Basic Display Adapter".

    If I install the drivers Windows 8 shows a bluescreen and reboot.

    Are there more that these problems? And what can I do to solve this problem.

    Maybe a BIOS problem?

    [​IMG]

    I have the same problem on different PCs
    My pc
    MB : MSI Z77A-G43
    CPU : Intel i5-3570K
    PSU : 750W
    Windows 8 Pro

    Also tried on a MB: Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3 CPU: ADM Phenom II X4 955 PSU: 600W
    With win7 and with Win 8

    Thanks in advance

    Tim
     
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,698 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    736
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Welcome to TPU

    Edit Default core looks wrong should be 1050Mhz [can you let TPU community know vga card *exact model]

    Note: would be odd for for a second card to be doa, note serial number of vga card "is it the same?" definitely new card!

    In Test PC Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3; all drivers were removed before installing XFX R7870, motherboard bios & chipset drivers were up to date?


    -Check HDMI and or DVI cable for bent pins

    -Check vga card 6 and or 8 pin power connectors are secure *if required

    -Remove the CPU [check pinouts] clear cmos [while cpu is removed]; reseat the CPU; boot with minimal hardware, one stick of RAM [seated in DIMM_1], reseat VGA card [able to boot to bios][able to boot to DOS prompt]

    -hdd attached [able to boot to windows safe mode]

    -Look here

    -check motherboard bios is up to date Note:*"download and execute the file in USB pen drive only."*

    http://www.msi.com/language/

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2013
  3. TimG

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply.
    Here some answers.

    Model No.: FX-787A-CD
    Part No.: FX-787A-CDFC
    DD RADEON 7870 1000M 2Gb D5 2x mDP HDMI 2x DVI

    I hope its a new card. The seals on the new box looks like there were new.
    I did not checked the serial number. I dont know the serial number from the other R7870.

    Edit: i checked the packlist from both cards and they have different barcodes. So i think its a new card

    All of the AMD software is uninstalled and i used DriverSweeper after that.
    The MB bios & chipset are the latest version 3030


    The R7870 have a 6-pins and a 8-pins connector , both are connected with a 6 and a 8-pins cable.



    Thanks in advance

    Tim
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2013
    Law-II says thanks.
  4. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Usually when it shows "MicroSoft Basic Display Adapter" it means the actual driver is not installed yet.
    You might want to try a manual install via device manager.
     
  5. TimG

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I give up.
    I've done everything on your list but no result.

    I did a clean install of Windows 7 with SP1 and. Net4.0
    The system recognizes something of an AMD video card but will not boot afterwards.
    Only when I R7870 DD (Double Disappointment Edition) remove from the system, run Windows 7 again.

    I send the card back this week to the reseller and start looking for a replacement.

    I had a HD6870 in my old system but that is overheated. And no longer works.

    I need a video card that can handle 4 screens. For a normal price.

    3x 22 "(5860x1080) in Eyefinity in my race rig
    1x 24 "(1920x1080) on my desk

    Anyone have an idea?
     
  6. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,698 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    736
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    shame to hear; however card is dead

    What is your budget?

    Where are you purchasing from? US, UK, EU or Other

    AMD Serise

    if budget can stretch to HD 7950 with good cooler
    or
    HD 6970 with active display port support [may be possible to get one of these used for less $]
    http://www.amd.com/uk/products/desk...6970/Pages/amd-radeon-hd-6970-overview.aspx#2
    [depending what fps required ingame]

    http://www.gpureview.com/show_cards.php?card1=664&card2=638

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2013
  7. TimG

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Law-II says thanks.
  8. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,698 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    736
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi
    Great to see the card is up and running again :toast:

    atb

    Law-II
     
    TimG says thanks.
  9. kingstreet73 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Im having the same issues. May I ask Tim, how did you execute/use the ROM file to make your gpu work? :O

    (ps I know im really late..))
     
  10. TimG

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page