1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX Radeon HD 6850 Pictured, Detailed

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 18, 2010.

  1. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,081 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    naahh :confused: i will wait the 78xxx series :laugh:
  2. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,658
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    The card looks good!

    I wonder? will they make a 6990 XT PE... hehehe
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. N3M3515

    N3M3515

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    429 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    What wiz said is that 5800 series is NOT just 5870, BUT 5830, 5850, 5870.
    So, 6870 at best is equal or sightly slower than a 5870 being optimistic :)
    And 6850 is equal or sightly slower than 5850.


    btw the54thvoid, if 6870 performance is between 5830 and 5850, that would suck BIG TIME.
  4. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    752 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Better to wait for the proper reviews.
  5. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,783 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Oh boy you guys forget these were supposed to be the 6770 line right?

    It makes sense for AMD to have them between the 5830-5850 when crossfire what will they do 5870-5970 ?The guy above posting an old fake 3870x2 please see the article with the comparison to Nvidia. The 6970 is a single chip so AMD can take back the crown it is to compete with the gtx480.....The 6990 is the dual killer of all cards.[​IMG]
  6. crow1001

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    365 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
  7. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,260 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Bah, i hate to be pessimistic (or wary?) but I'll need to see proper un biased and official results (TPU, Anand, Hexus being my three core sites) before saying, gosh!!

    But if true, good start but Cayman XT is where i'm looking at. I want a single card with above 5870 performance. Woulda bought GTX 480 but meh...

    And yes, would love to get rid of my crossfire set up to get a single solution.
  8. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    AsphyxiA says thanks.
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,870 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,944
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, I'm in the same boat. I want a single card that can push 3 monitors, and the 5970 just doesn't cut it. But at the same time, I'm offloading my 5870's, because I have no confidence in AMD's ability to actually do 3 monitors right...my cards work great with just a single monitor, and then I only need one card.

    Of course, it looks like we might have to wait until next year to get decent gpus...not that this is surprising to me personally, but it's still a disappointment when I've been waiting since September last year for a decent multi-monitor solution.

    And if these cards don't offer that, I'm not interested, at all. If there are no multi-monitor reviews, I'm not gonna buy either...I want cards for a specific use, and current cards meet all other basic needs, and I bought last time with no reviews; look how THAT turned out.:banghead:



    That's a photoshop of a 2900XT, FYI. If you want a photoshopped picture, that can definately be arranged. PM me. :laugh:
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2010
  10. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Nope, thats a photoshop that I just made of the picture he linked, looked way too long for me, so I made it even longer. I did a crappy job though as I'm at college and didn't feel like getting into fine details. I'm bored :p (notice the file name, 69990, I was going to go for more cores, but I think my instructor is watching me)
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,870 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,944
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Heh..it's still a 2900XT. :laugh:
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  12. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    lol, thats great, photoshop too look too long, then I go and add another GPU onto it, total win.
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,882 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    US
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,870 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,944
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The RageTheatre chip died many moons ago too(by lower DVO pirt close to PCI-E connector). Should have been the first sign it was fake.(nevermind I have been seeing the same picture for a few years now).

    :shadedshu
  15. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,580 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Perf comparisons and speculations aside, the pics don't show the power connectors. Also, the XFX box shows a big "5" - perhaps doing away with the "lifetime" warrantee?
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,870 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,944
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Nah, that's thier "5-Star Support" garbage...kinda hate that bit..beucase they use the cheapest shipping possible for RMAs...I can ship something into the US withing 3 days, for them, it takes 17 days. Heck, I ahd to call them up to get the mto send me a replacement...they would have had me wait until someone RMA'ed a card that would work for me. I'd cal lthat false advertizing....thier service is hardly "5-Star"...they should take some lessons from Dell.

    Yes, you read that right...Dell has better support.

    More info here:

    http://xfxforce.com/en-gb/features/5starsupport.aspx?lang=en-gb
    Sasqui says thanks.
  17. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,580 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I had to replace a card with them not too long ago. I found it slow too. However, once they determined the item to be "defective", it was shipped out the next day. All told about a 2-week turn-around.
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,870 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,944
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Well, my card was found defective, and they did not, and were not, going to ship until I called them up. It's already been two weeks..they shipped my card on friday(I called on Thursday)...and it's not expected to arrive until NEXT WEEK. I even had to call 'em up for them to confirm they even received my card...2 days after they had accepted it.

    And then, because they are so stupid in shipping choices, I'll have to pay customs broker charges(I run my own business, act as my own broker, and do not pay taxes on stuff like this).


    Nevermind it costs me $35 at least to ship to them. Their 5-Star Support crap says they work to get you your card back as fast as possible, yet my experience(with many cards RMA'ed to them now, all tested faulty) greatly discredits thier claims to decent service. They've lied to me, missed the obvious in troubleshooting an issue(told me the problem was impossible, yet it was as simple as the card overheating)...

    If you live in the US, it seems thier turnaround is much better, and in all honestly, it's not the worst, but it's definately far from the best. I'd not say a word if it weren't for thier audacious claims.

    Del lstuff might be overpriced, but that extra cost goes into alot of thier support network. Heck, Dell even pays for shipping on items returned to them, and do not require a deposit for cross-shipping RMAs. I understand Dell is a bigger company, but at the same time, they don't make any claims they fail to uphold, at least in my experience.
  19. lashton New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    63 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    grrr

    the fact of the matter is that NO ONE knows until its released
  20. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    release date is friday 22nd
  21. DriedFrogPills

    DriedFrogPills New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    356 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    3 more days until the NDA is lifted and we get answers
  22. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    i really hope the 6970 does well with a triple monitor setup otherwise amd will be pushing me to get a couple 1gb 460's in sli to be able to run the 3 new monitors i will be buying with whatever card i buy... i really hope i have better luck than you, i also hope you have better luck than you have been having as well.
    If i had not waited so long i proberley would be having simmilar problems to you and i admit i would be really pissed at amd by now.
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,870 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,944
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Well, I mean, I'm critical of AMD, for sure, but it's not all bad.

    Apparantly some people have no problems. But none that I've actually personally talked to(usually i can get the problems to manifest on onther people's rigs).

    The one huge outstanding issue...Cursor corruption...should be fixed, if we can really run all three monitors off of DP. Time will tell, but unfortunately, very few sites are doing multi-monitor reviews.

    5870, by itself, is great with my Dell 3007WFP. 2x, and I can run most games in DX9/10 with 8xAA. That's killer, in a single card.

    DX11 sucks. Doesn't matter if it's AMD or nVidia, but most titles that I use eyefinity with also use DX11, and that greatly impacts framerates. I'm just a hard guy to please. I want perfection.

    If you forgo the cursor corruption, and are OK with not maxing all in-game settings out, Crossfire Eyefinity works fine...needs more CPU than what I had, but I guess that was my own bad purchasing choices that left me with that one.

    I'm expecting ALOT...and I do not think i will get what I want out of a single card. I was more than prepared to buy three cards for Eyefinity, but turns out three cards don't work so well, and every gpu you add increases cpu workload.


    That's OK...I did have alot fo fun palying in eyefinity, but it's not ready for primetime with 5-series...I AM really hoping it's fixed with 6-series, but then, I think asking for good framerates in a single card is at least an year too early.

    I'm very impatiently awaiting real specs and pics for Cayman...
  24. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland

    The cursor corruption is making me worry about my monitor choice, is running 3 monitors on display port a cause of it or something?
    I still play mainly source engine games online with friends so i should still be able to max them out with ease :laugh:

    I'm very impatiently awaiting real specs for Cayman as well as i think it will have to easly beat 1gb 460 sli at triple monitor res to keep me away from nvidia, i really want to stick to a single card thus why i want to see the 6970 so bad but could not go for a faster nvidia gpu as i need 2 for triple monitor and the power/heat would be too much :banghead: damn lack of time machines, a month is too long to wait :laugh:
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,870 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,944
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Honestly, I don't know what causes the cursor corruption. I know that first I was dealing with the cursor getting really large, and then it was corrupting after they fixed the big cursor part...


    I assume that it's from the monitor handing off hardware-accelerated cursor from DVI to DP..it's like either the differing interfaces aren't able to hand off the memory space for the cursor quickly enough, and the next interface then isn't able to read the cursor properly, or jsut staright incompatibility...

    But I'm guessing...all that I do know is that it occurs more often in 2D than 3D, and that the problem is now listed in driver release notes, so maybe driver can fix it.

    Of course they HAVE had a year to fix the problem, and haven't, but I think they might pull the "we weren't able to replicate the issue, so were unable to fix it" when confronted on this problem.

    I am very tempted to keep a 5-series card just to see how long it takes them to fix it, if they can. But that seems a bit stupid...even though I think that's what might be needed for them to fix the problem...constant reminders.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page