1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Xp 1700+

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Killer_Rubber_Ducky, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Can I run an XP 1700+ with a Passive Cooler?

    My stock cooler fan died and I dont have a replacement. I pulled the fan off and found a fan from a Dell that matches in size but has different plugs and the screws dont fit. ( the heatsink)
    I have a 939/AM2 cooler but doubt that will work on a Socket A board.
     
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    The wire color on dell fans is nearly identical to a normal fan.

    It should be-
    Black- negative
    Red- positive
    Yellow- sensor

    Ignore a blue wire if it has one. I just cut the plug so it only has 3 connections as above.

    RED-YELLOW-BLACK

    Hope this helps
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  3. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Thanks, can I run this proc with just the aluminum heat sink with arctic silver? and how do I apply the grease to that proc?
     
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    You need to unclip the cooler off the cpu from the motherboard. clean the old stuff off the cpu carefully. Clean the cpu cooler, and apply a small blob of the arctic silver on the cpu. Then replace the cooler on the cpu.

    You can try it passive, but i would suggest you keep a check on the temperature of the cpu.
     
  5. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,836 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,532
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Athlon XP processors usually run hot for most actively cooled heatsinks, so running one passively is usually a bad idea. A replacement 60mm fan (the common size for Socket 462) is quite inexpensive. You can try ghetto modding the 70mm fan from your AM2 cooler. I pulled one off today and twist tied it on my Zalman VF1000 for a GeForce 6800, works like a charm.

    Clean the exposed CPU die and cooler surfaces, and place a grain of rice to pea sized amount of paste on the center of the exposed die, then reattach the cooler.
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    This is my cooler I have from the AM2 board.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835106135

    [​IMG]
     
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I doubt if that will run passive, you will need a fan on it.
     
  8. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    This is the Heatsink I have that may be compatible

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,206 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,564
    Location:
    Florida
    passive is not a good idea for a socket A chip.
     
  10. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    well i have a Cooler Master Hyper 48 (pictured below) If i can find my bracket for it I may be able to set it up. Correct me if Im wrong
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,220 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,520
    no they wont run passive. dont even try, as socket A didnt have thermal throttling - they literally can overheat and die.


    just use zip ties or something to attach any old fan you have to the original heatsink..
     
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,206 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,564
    Location:
    Florida
    idk iv fit am2 coolers and shit on socket A boards. from what iv seen they never even changed the mounting bracket
     
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm pretty sure there is a big difference between the Socket A and AM2 brackets...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,220 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,520
    AM2/2+/3/3+ are all compatible, socket A was way different.



    he only needs to replace the fan here however, not the entire heatsink. people keep skipping over the fact he can use the stock heatsink and just attach a fan.
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  15. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,140 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,553
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Exactly what Mussels is saying here. Use some zip ties if you have some or just use some of the twist ties to attach a fan to the existing heat sink. DO NOT RUN PASSIVELY!!! As stated the AMD XP series of chips did not have temp throttling and it WILL burn the chip up.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Ok so I picked up so Loctite Epoxy to secure the fan to the heatsink. What direction does the fan need to blow? up and away or down and through? Also, the fan cabled are Red Yellow Black, I need to clip the cable to attach it to an adapter to plug to the mobo so im going to jack the plug from the old fan and twist attach the cables but I need to know the order.
     
  17. Suhidu

    Suhidu

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    163 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Down and through.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  18. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,965 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,998
    Location:
    Oregon
    This is a job for MacGyver. The fan blows down at the HS. 50/50 chance on the order just try it
     
  19. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,140 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,553
    Location:
    Wyoming
    What Suhidu stated, down and through the heat sink. As for which way a fan blows, the totally open side of the fan is the suction side. The side that usually has little bars from the center to the outside is the direction the air moves.
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    thanks, figured it out by looking on the side for the arrows.
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,405 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Motherboards have the thermal protection though, ive ran a XP 3200+ fanless with just a heatsink and the unit shut down in 30 minutes after the heatsink couldnt dissipate fast enough, powered it back up just fine
     
  22. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    palomino or T-Bred? Afaik, palomino cores are 180nm while the thoroughbred are 130nm, which are cooler. Despite being cooler, its still better to have it actively cooled imo. I used to have my overclocked barton 2500+ cooled with a CoolerMaster Aero7 Lite but things can still be hot even when not oc'd
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,405 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    3200+ was barton only, ran at 32 Degrees with a Thermalright SI-97 or a Thermaltake Big Typhoon
     
  24. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    ^sorry i was referring to the thread starter hehe. (either 1700+ palomino or 1700+ T-Bred)
     
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,405 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    He would have to look at the OPN on the die and compare it to cpu-world or fab 51
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page