1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XP/SP3 -> To Win 7 or Win 8

Discussion in 'General Software' started by pepsi71ocean, Oct 19, 2012.

1. pepsi71ocean New Member

Thanks Received:
    I have been thinking about upgrading windows for a while, since its almost EOL from what i know of it makes me wonder if the OS is finally dead.

Im not sure on what to do since im running XP, i am used to the look and well its XP, i have been running this OS type since 2002 ish even though i have since went to XP-SP3.

I was thinking that Win7 will drop in price after Win 8 comes out, but then again newegg gave me an introductory price for Win 8 at like 60-or 70 dollars.

At such a cheap price i have begun to think about making the jump. Actually i started thinking about it about a month ago, when i helped my friend build a new computer. He is running a cracked version of windows that turns out couldn't be registered, and i laughed because i expect that from his kind of luck, but for me i was thinking because XP is getting old and im not sure about how it is holding up in the security department.

One of the concerns i have already is that supposedly you have to buy Windows media player? And then i heard its not that good? is that comparing backwards to WMP 11, like for XP?

Any thoughts?
  2. brandonwh64

brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

Thanks Received:
    Honestly I would just download the windows 8 preview and test it out, if you like it then hop on that but if metro turns it off for you then I would suggest windows 7 X64 home premium
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. trickson

trickson OH, I have such a headache

Thanks Received:
    Honestly just go with windows7 64 bit.
  4. hellrazor

hellrazor

Thanks Received:
    Windows 7.
  5. Dos101

Dos101

Thanks Received:
  6. TheMailMan78

TheMailMan78 Big Member

Thanks Received: