1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XP STOP error, any thoughts?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by imperialreign, Sep 14, 2007.

  1. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    wanted some other opinions on this one . . .

    the last few days I will sometimes snag a BSoD when running both the F@H CPU and GPU console - but it usually takes an hour or two before XP throws it's fit

    Anyways, here's the error:

    STOP 0x0000007F (0x00000008, 0xF771FD70, 0x00, 0x00)

    so, I know I have an UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP for a double fault. I went ahead and ran memtest - which turned up alright. I honestly don't think it has much to do with the OC on the P4 (not ruling it out, though), seeing as how my benching of the rig held up well for over 18 hours under full load.

    My VGA is currently questionable, as I've been having some issues now and then with the X1950 in apps like 3DMark06, etc. Usually in the form of corrupt or inverse colors being displayed - even tried reinstalling the drivers over this, and rolling back, but . . .

    Anyhow, I'm fairly certain this is a hardware issue somewhere - I'm still leaning on the GPU here, but mostly over the work being done with the F@H console - I've got F@H CPU console running right now, and I'll see if that goes BS, if not I'll try the other . . .




    . . . y'know somethin' . . . I just remembered I'm running a beta BIOS for the mobo :eek: I think I should re-flash to an alpha BIOS and retest first! Damn I just made myself feel stoopid!
  2. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Are you currently overclocking anything?

    If so... set everything back to stock and go from there.

    EDIT : BTW, I got this from MS

    SYMPTOMS
    You may receive the following error message while running Windows:
    STOP 0x0000007F (UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP)
    Back to the top

    CAUSE
    This error message can occur if either of the following conditions exists: • Your computer has hardware or software problems (hardware failure is the most common cause).
    • You try to over clock the speed of your computer's processor (for example, you set a 150 MhZ processor to run at 187 MhZ).
    The above STOP error means a trap occurred in kernel mode and the trap is either one the kernel is not allowed to have or is always fatal. The most common causes of a STOP 0x7F are:• Low-level hardware corruption, such as corrupt memory (RAM)
    • Mismatched memory modules
    • A malfunctioning motherboard
    To determine an approximate cause, examine the parameters at the top of the STOP screen:
    **STOP 0x0000007F (0x000000XX, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)
    UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP
    The most important parameter is the first one (0x0000000X) which may have several different values. The cause of this trap can vary, depending on the value of this parameter. All traps that cause a STOP 0x7F can be found in any Intel x86 microprocessor reference manual as they are specific to the x86 platform. Here are some of the most common ones: Values Meaning
    ---------- --------------------
    0x00000000 Divide by Zero Error
    0x00000004 Overflow
    0x00000005 Bounds Check Fault
    0x00000006 Invalid Opcode
    0x00000008 Double Fault


    So it looks like my original thinking was correct. I would at least start at setting your CPU back to stock settings and go from there....
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,580 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,563
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I've never seen that error, but I would agree with d44ve on clocks and maybe run Memtest to see if you have a failing memory module that could be causing the issue. Maybe try a CPU Stress test to see if your CPU is even stable ATM, try Orthos with Priority 9 and Small FFT's, or Prime 95 (x2 for Dual Core). Let us know what you find...
  4. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    still working on it - I think the first error I was getting was because of the beta BIOS and it's control over the RAM, although memtest said all was fine. I re-flashed back to the last alpha BIOS, and I haven't recieved that same error. While I was at work, my father mentioned the PC BSoDed again, but it was a different error, and this time it made it almost 12 hours before a crash. Too bad he didn't write down the BS info though, arrgghhh.

    I think I'm going to go back to box 1 on this system OC. Go back to stock timings and stress the system, see what happens. Then I'll start bringing things up again even slower than I did before so I can see if it's something with the way the hardware is configured.
  5. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    hmmm . . . back at stock clocks, and still ran into a stop error - although this time it was 0xCF - which the msdn library says is a debugging check. But the BSoD didn't report a file name, so I still have no clue as to what program flunked the WIN exam, or what piece of hardware went AWOL.


    :banghead:

    So, I went with my gut instinct and removed the ATi drivers from the system, removed the GPU, and plugged the monitor into the onboard outlet and ran stuff that way (640x480 can give you a headache once you've become used to 1440x900!!). Things seemed alright until - BSoD, back to 0x7F.

    :banghead::banghead::banghead:

    Well, I can at least go ahead and rule out the VGA adapter. memtest86 says both modules are fine . . .


    . . . y'know, thinking it through right now . . . most of my benchmarks, utilities, etc are run off my secondary HDD . . . and I was having a problem last week defragging that drive . . . hasn't been too noisy, though . . . I think I need to break out the chkdsk and SMART see if that drive has any physical errors that might be causing R/W problems . . .
  6. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Any update on this? my friends pc is having a similar issue, except its stop errors:

    Stop 0x00000077 or KERNEL_STACK_INPAGE_ERROR
    Stop 0x0000001E or KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED

    and another one thrown in but I cant remember what it is. happens when he goes to play a DX9c game most often. We think it is a faulty hard drive but dont want to shell out the $ for a new one until certain. any thoughts?

    running a memtest 86 at the moment...
    the pc is a c2d 6300 w/ 1g ddr2 667 only one stick (I told him to get two) and a crappy ecs motherboard.
  7. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Either your Master Boot Record is corrupt or has a virus or the ASPI needs to be updated.

    Try to restor MBR and/or go here for ASPI update to version 4.75 or better;

    More info here; http://www.adaptec.com

    Maybe also running a Winsock fix might solve it; http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4372.html
    NinkobEi says thanks.
  8. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Kernel_stack_Inpage_error
    STOP: 0x00000077 (0xc0000000E, 0Xc0000000E, 0x00000000, 0x007DA000)

    -After using fixmbr from the recovery console and supposedly writing a new MBR, we still get this error code after loading the Dx9 game.

    also managed to run chkdsk /f /r and memtest86 without any other errors. Could this be just a bad hard drive? its a fairly new HDD.

    I've been unable to find 4.75 ASPI package- I did find 4.71 though and will try these out.
  9. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Yes it could be a bad HDD (bad block) or a bad Motherboard. Also, could be a bad block in a paging file, or a disk controller error, bad HDD cable, or in rare cases, caused when non-paged pool resources are unavailable.

    ALso defective or unreliable RAM is another common cause of this issue, Run Memtest.

    If ram is Oc'd then reset to stock...Run memtest.

    ASPI 4.71 should be OK. To get the 4.75 you need to update the win32 files...check windows update.
    Did you run a Virus check and registry cleaner?
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2008
    NinkobEi says thanks.
  10. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    I'll try some of the things you suggested later today to see if that works, I dont have the time at the moment. I was running Housecall virus scanner last ngiht but the comp just decided to freeze so I never finished it.

    Memtest passed so I dont think it is a ram issue and hasnt been overclocked.

    again thanks for all the support
  11. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    just an update:

    getting a new hard drive seems to have fixed the issue. everything is well again. though regcleaner/virus scanner/fixmbr didnt seem to fix the issue. I hadnt tried fully reformatting it, though not sure if that would make it work.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page