1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XP UPDATE HAS FAILED (possible fix) THREAD

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by EastCoasthandle, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    At times I had found problems trying to get XP to auto update. It would go through the emotions of telling you there are 80+ updates and would go through the process of updating them but would either fail to install or fail to download them. Many have had this problem and in most cases nothing less then a complete format and reinstall of XP would solve this problem. I was so frustrated of this because it would only happen after I had to do a Repair.

    When the updates refused to install it was as if something was blocking it. As if a program or firewall was telling it to not install at all. The error message that iT failed to install/update was CONFUSING to me. I launched a 3+ hour investigation into this and came up with many so called solutions that didn't work for me. However, I came across one thread on the issue and someone suggested to look at the actual update log to see what error message(s) were appearing. This was the start to recovery of the problem.
    %\windowsupdate.log
    from the "run" command would give you a history of all your attempts to download those updates and any errors that occurred during the process.

    To make a long story short, the problem was simple. After you do a repair you have to re-register your copy of XP. Did you notice how the repair process mimicks the install process (how it formats, installs files, reboot, install more files, verify date, time, hardware, etc)? When the repair is finished you should get a screen asking you to validate your copy of XP just like in the initial install but it doesn't. That's when the problem of installing updates occur. In order for me to download updates again I had to re-validate my copy of XP (just like I did when I installed it the first time). In order to do this I came across a post from what may have been an MS tech:
    -net stop wuauserv
    -%windir%\system32\wups.dll
    -net start wuauserv


    This finally allowed me to update. If you notice, the process bar doesn't fill up for every update it downloads any more. The process bar now accounts for the entire lists of downloads and you can now use it to gauge the entire update process instead of individual files.

    I hope this helps someone else as it helped me.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2008
  2. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,847 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    Or just get SP3.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  3. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,523 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    346
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    i find "repair" to be just as much APITA as a new install and a new install avoids the trouble your having so i always recommend to just forget about the "repair" and only do new installs because as you stated you have to register it anyway so its not saving you anything when you "repair" instead of new.
     
  4. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Nope, that won't work, I already tried that
     
  5. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    The only problem with repair is the register process. Once you get through that all should be well again except you don't have to reinstall your programs again.
     
  6. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
  7. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    I tried that as well and it didn't work, but thanks for sharing. It would alway download with no problem. It's when it came time to install all the updates is were I noticed the problem. Hence, the status bar at the bottom always going from 0% to 100% on every program instead of the entire update process itself.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2008
  8. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
  9. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    That's a keeper, thanks! Hopefully, if someone has this problem it works.
     
  10. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,847 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    Don't try a install via updates, download the package and run that. I had to after replacing a board, PSU, and RAM worked a charm.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  11. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    What package :confused:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page