1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Yet another build (whoooo), mainly about GPU's and memory

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Frick, Apr 15, 2013.

  1. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Yeah the GTX 650 Ti are quite low on price now. Lower than the 7790, about the same as the 7770. Right now the 650TI should be pushing the 7770 down pricewise. Right now both the 7790 and the 650TI are about at the same level. The 7700 is also still there, as is a feeling of shame. He really shouldn't be there. Drop the sucker down the€100 cliff. THAT GOES FOR YOU TO FANCY COOLERS!

    But there is other things at play here. I want a good stock cooler. Hence, I am currently looking at the ASUS 7790 DCU 2 OC 1GB, which is about €10 more than the cheapest 650TI with an inferiour cooler. Figuring it's worth it actually. The ti Boost is another €40 on top of that, but that is a bit too much.

    Any ideas? The build will be something like this:

    AMD FX-8320 - 8350 is too expensive. doesn't feel worth it. Might dabble in overclocking.
    ASYS M5A97 2.0 - seems lite a decent board for a low price. I'm on a budget and it's all sacrifices. Only 4+2 VRM though.. How will that work with overclocking an FX 8
    ASUS 7790 DCUOC 1GB - Might crossfire later on. Depending on how other things go.
    Corsair CX430 latest version - Will work, will have to replace it going crossfring.
    2 x 4GB Kingston HyperX T1 1866Mhz (KHX1866C9D3T1K2/8GX) - If they are still avaliable at the store when I can get them. I have no idea what I'm looking at here, but I've been told fast memories are good when overclocking. I might have to get something else at the same price ticket (€50-55iwh)
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - Cheap and everyone talks about it can't be bad.
    NZKT Source 210 Elite - Looks good as well.

    Also a 500GB Hitachi DESKSTAR 7K1000.C, whish is fairly loud (or "clattery"), but I have to ghetto that to shape somehow.


    That will be it. Will be used for everything from developing, toying around with VM's, possibly even some basic CAD stuff. I think it will serve me and my 2 x 1280 x 1024 monitors well (if I find a good deal on a cheap larger monitor I'll go for it, which is why it is nice to have crossfire capabilites). If you have any qualms about anything, feel free to have a drink or a pill on me!

    EDIT: BTW, I would much rather have a single 8GB stick but they are getting more and more expensive it feelsl like.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2013
  2. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,758 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    id be very careful with the asus board and 8320 125w tdp oc'd upto and maybe pass the 140tdp with 4+2 phase design.

    however it has digi vrms, throttle protection and will limit oc's from say 4.2ghz to 3.3ghz whilst throttling occurs. but it is heatsinked and with good airflow you may get away with it!

    my suggestion, search this list https://spreadsheets.google.com/spr...D79Joo7tdE9xMUFlMEVWeFhuckJEVF9aMmtpUFE&gid=4 and find a better phase design for same price
     
    Frick says thanks.
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    I will not do serious unclocking. Probably just to play around with it for a while and finally setttle with everything at stock. If I'm going OC "for realz" I get a different motherboard, that much I know. :)
     
  4. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Frick says thanks.
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    I can't get both. What about the GA-990XA-UD3? I have to downgrade the GPU to a 7770 for that to function. It would still be great (considering the gaming I do is on 1280 x 1024).
     
  6. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    990x has crossfire @8x(the third pcie slot is @4x 1.1) and the msi i've linked its a 990fx(top of the line chipset) with 2x16 crossfire..so i'd say its better.
     
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Yeah, but I don't really have that kind of money. I doubt I will notice a big loss with the cards I'm about to crossfire one anyway.

    EDIT: Unless I ditch the GPU and use that x2400xt I have for a bit.. :p I do have a plan B, which I post later.
     
  8. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Im sorry, for clarity, a 650 Ti Boost?
     
  9. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    If you sure you wont use crossfire/sli you should check Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3(has the same power phases as 990x version) prices in your country and if its cheap enough maybe it will alow you to get a better gpu.
     
    Frick says thanks.
  10. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Just of important are memory speeds anyway? Because going back to decent 1600mhz kits can save up some cash too.
     
  11. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Memory speeds are NOT important at all unless you are using the iGPU.
     
  12. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Even if I'm overclocking? I assume that is where you want some speed in things, or rather the ability to play with speeds. EDIT: Plan b is to ditch the GPU alltogether and get an intel setup with a 3770, and a bit better PSU and case and all that and add GPU's later. Because right now gaming will no be that important, but it might become when autumn comes. The HD4000 iPGU is more than enough for that I want to do right now.
     
  13. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Even if you are overclocking. There are benchmarks all over the place confirming that. :)

    It helps a bit in benchmarking but that doesn't translate to the real world really.
     
    Frick says thanks.
  14. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    That board doesn't have Digi VRM (according to the list).

    If you are not particular about gaming now, get a used basic card like 5450 or NV 210. You might even get a used 7770 and later get one more to CF (if u really want to).

    I would probably get a minimum 600W good PSU now instead of that 430W, than later sell it for loss and get another one.

    :toast:
     
    Frick says thanks.
  15. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    With respect, that plan is asinine. PSU's are expensive to ship due to their weight.
     
  16. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    This is actually a sound plan. I will probably do so. I thought about getting an i7 based system instead, but that gets too expensive, plus Haswell is coming soon and I want a system before that.

    Revised list:

    FX-8320
    Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
    Some memory, I have absolutely no idea now what I'll get. probably one 8GB stick, in case i want more later.
    Fractal Design Tesla R2 650W
    NZXT Source SE 210H
    Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
    And the rest plus a 1TB drive. I would go with an SSD, but I really really need space rather than speed right now.

    Here's hoping I get money as expected. ;)
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  17. anoobarak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    102 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Euroland
    Avoid the Ga-990XA-UD3. I have that board, and with my 1090T it IS a decent overlocker, but the load line control function is just retarded. Depending on the setting it can raise the voltage of the cpu by as much as .125 V, all by itself . Can't turn it off, and there are no specifics on how it works on each level, which complicates overclocking a bit. Other than that it's all okay..though the northbridge is quite hot to the touch. VRM's and SB are cool.
     
  18. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Sooooo find out what each level does.. it really is 5 mins of testing...
     
  19. anoobarak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    102 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Euroland
    I've tinkered with it too many times already :) It's just very inconvenient, that LLC function. You want to set a specific voltage, and on the lowest setting it will still add around 0.0750 V's. Too much IMO.
     
  20. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    So lower the vcore to compensate.

    That said, on some Intel boards you get'vraise' with LLC set to its highest too. Its just a fun(silly) little game we play with voltages is all.
     
  21. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I think I was not clear in my statement, I didn't want him to get a low power PSU to save some money and in 2 months or so once again spend money to get a higher watt PSU. Changing PSU is not fun and needs more work and time than just swapping video card.
     
  22. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Certainly if he plans to CFX, a QUALITY 500W model for the GPUs he chose would be plenty.

    You may crap yourself but I EASILY run a 4.5Ghz 3570K and a GTX690 on a 550W PSU... ;)
     
  23. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Intel chips sips watts, AMD chips drinks especially when OCed.
     
  24. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Depends on where he wants to O/C that power drinker is all. Judging from the cooler, he isnt going to get far at all... so, I stand by my 500W statement. :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page