1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your Advice Please - BSOD after 40min of prime95

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Mariusz803, Nov 27, 2009.

  1. Mariusz803 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Hey guys,

    Just a real quick post, can someone tell if it is common to get the blue screen of death while running prime95? (Small FFT's)

    I'm testing for my 4ghz oc, i can pass OCCT, but Prime usually runs into the BSOD after about 40min to an hour. I know my voltages are low for the oc but i fugure Prime95 should let me know, not blue screen.

    Specs:

    CPU Clock Ratio: 20x
    QPI Link Speed: 36x
    BASE Clock: Enabled
    Clock FQ: 200
    Uncore Frequency: 17x
    Performance Enhance: Turbo
    Sys Mem Multiplier: 8.0
    Dram Timing: Auto

    LoadLine: enabled
    CPU vCore: 1.26250v
    QPI/VTT: 1.30v
    IOH Core: 1.20v
    Dram Voltage: 1.64v
    CPU PLL 1.800V

    Advanced CPU Features:
    Intel Turbo Boost Tech. [Disabled]
    CPU Cores Enabled [All]
    CPU Multi Threading [Enabled]
    CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E) [Disabled]
    C3/C6/C7 State Support [Diabled]
    CPU Thermal Monitor [Enabled]
    CPU Eist Function [Disabled]
    Virtualization Technology [Enabled]
    Bi-directional PROCHOT [Enabled]

    Cheers.



    NOTE* - could it be because i have CPU THERMAL MONITOR enabled? I've disabled my screen saver, sleep modes, anything in windows i can think could cause it to crash.

    BSOD pic

    [​IMG]
  2. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    863 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    im not an overclocker, but from what i have read, a way to test stability is to run prime95//occt/linpack for as long as u can without getting a bsod
    if u get a bsod, it indicates instability in the overclock


    does it only happen when running prime95 or other oc testing programs?

    EDIT: how much ram are you running, and at what speeds and voltages? can u link the model u ram u have off of ocz's website?
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,760 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Chances are, memory settings, as you have them on auto. And your ram is very low-speed stuff to begin with...8500F DDR3? YIKES!!!
  4. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I can't imagine what those latencies will be like :respect:
  5. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    You may find this useful:

    Linky
    cadaveca says thanks.
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,760 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    What he said!^^^^

    But I must say, that guide is missing alot of info, and is just a quick synopsis, but a great place to start, for sure!
  7. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    863 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    i have to agree with the memory as being the problem...hence my memory questions hehe
  8. Mariusz803 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Thanks i've already had a look at that, unfortunately it does not get into ram specifics.

    I'm running the memory low so as not to have it be the problem... so since i'm still new to this, could you explain what you'd do to the memory exactly.

    Cheers
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,760 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    what's the actual rated speed of the mem? To me, your BSOD is caused by OS kernel failing...ram or cpu most likely the culprit, and I'd hit up the ram first, and if that proved OK, then I'd be hitting cpu, cache may be failing, and OCCT may not show that type of error while Prime95 does, depending on what test you are running....

    That said, you may just need to up cpu volts...prime will only show errors and not BSOD when stability is close...very close.
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,474 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    If his specs are right its a DDR3 1066MHz ram kit
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,760 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, I saw that, and his cpu overclock might make it unstable...that's not alot of bandwith, and it's gonna get hammered, no?

    I don't have i7, so I'm not 100% sure.
  12. Mariusz803 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Alright, now if i can pass a few runs with memtest can i rule out the memory as the problem? Also here is my cpuid to answer your question.

    [​IMG]
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,760 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    LoL. You ram is PC12800, not 8500F. that's a big difference!!!

    Up your cpu volts. look like your ram timings are set a bit loose for those sticks...what timings do they say on the heatspreader?
  14. Mariusz803 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Alright quick update. I've stepped up my vCore to 1.85v and still BSOD after some time on Prime95. I'll keep working my way to about 1.37v if it comes to that. If that does not work than i'll have to look into my ram timing... gotta brush up on those, not familiar with that yet.

    If it means anything i've been benchmarking my overclcok with a vCore at 1.26250v running games for almost 2 weeks, no hiccups yet. Also have been running 3D Mark a lot to see my performance improvements, no BSOD.
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,760 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    How are your temps?


    It's always possible that your cpu won't do those clocks reliably...

    Just prime fails, and that's it?
  16. Mariusz803 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    My temps are good, i idle at 35-37 and load at 64-67.

    Regarding prime95, i always get the BSOD after running small fft's test. I can pass OCCT fine. Perhaps this might be a result of my ram? But one pass (yes i know its just one) of memtest showed no errors.
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,760 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    In general, as it says in the testing dialog when you start Prime95, small FFT test more cpu, and blend more ram. However, ram doesn't get tested much when the FFTs that are running all fit within the cpus cache(hence small FFT for testing cpu).

    When it comes to memtest testing...if you go 1mhz higher, does it fail? 5 mhz? 10mhz?

    I typically use 2hrs of memtest, and then go higher...if higher produces errors, you're at the edge of stability,and random errors could be catastropic...I mean, we buy non-ECC ram, but why do they need ECC ram in the first place? AFAIK, under high usage, ram is more prone to errors, and systems with ECC ram are under high usage, and that ram might error, even under "stock".

    So with that in mind, I always back down 5-10mhz at least from the max I can get in memtest...



    But that's ram...


    So, I still think it's your cpu...but because there is so much that's a part of the cpu now, memorycontrol and all, I am not sure EXACTLY what the problem is...maybe it's a differnt cpu voltage than VCC.
  18. Mariusz803 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Reading a guide on how to OC and i7 920 with a Gigabyte EX-58-Extreme motherboard (exactly my hardware) it mentions to do the follow:

    [​IMG]

    So i will next drop my memory frequency down to 1.333MHz and run Prime95.

    IF THIS DOES NOT WORK i will probably try the following voltages if my temps prove "safe"

    [​IMG]

    I'll keep you posted later in the week when i try this, school has been keeping me busy for now. Do you see anything that might 'incorrect' from what i have mentioned above?


    Cheers.
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,760 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Seems right to me. I'm no Corei7 user though. The thought that you can test each component seperately, and then take the sum together, and expect it to work exactly the same, to me, is a bit naive, but overall, it IS generally true.


    For example, check bandwidth with cpu @ default, mem at default. Then test with increased cpu speed...bandwidth went UP, didn't it? So can we say that mem will be ok, under a greater load?

    :toast:
  20. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    1.85V??? am I reading this correctly?

    ::EDIT::

    keep your vcore where it's set, disable vdroop (if you have that enabled, that is), put your qpi voltage to 1.35V, and drop your uncore to x16.
  21. Mariusz803 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Opps! Sorry typo there, i meant to say i tried it at 1.385v. Yeah 1.8v would not be... how should i put this, "not good"? lol.
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    One question, What OS?
  23. Mariusz803 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    No problem, Vista Gamer Edition SP2.0 64bit
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  24. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    You have a setup that is almost identical to mine. Here are my current voltages and working OC:

    4.01GHz

    bclk: 191
    Multi: 20x
    Turbo: On (makes Multi 21x in OS)

    CPU Vcore: 1.3125
    QPI/Vtt: 1.31500V
    CPU PLL: 1.88000V
    DRAM : 1.66000V (There is no 1.65 in my BIOS and its unstable for me at 1.64V)
    IOH Core: 1.12000V
    ICH Core: 1.10000V

    RAM is set to 8x 191 which will get you 1528MHz (instead of the rated 1600)
    Timing is auto
    QPI Link Speed: 36x
    Uncore Frequency: 17x
    Bi-directional PROCHOT [Disabled] <-- One of the last things I changed to first start getting stability

    Everything else not listed I believe is either non important or the same. I'll double check it when I get home, as I'll be tweaking the voltages anyways. But if you want you can try these or similar to see if you have any more luck. Of particular note is that I couldn't get my 200x20 setup working at all, though I plan to try that again now that I have some voltages down.
  25. Mariusz803 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Really appreciate that, it is interesting you mention that your dram is unstable at 1.64v, and yes same with me i don't have a 1.65v. I will definitely take into account is the Bi-directional PROCHOT you mention, i can't remember if i have mine enabled or disabled.

    Will keep you guys posted once school clears up next week.

    Cheers.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page