1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your CPU Timeline

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by xubidoo, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    How far can you OC the 186? Try running Windows 95 on it! Run SuperPI!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Snipe343

    Snipe343

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,002 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    I have had a...
    K6-2
    Celeron 1.2ghz
    celeron D 3.33ghz
    AMD Athlon X2 4000+
     
  3. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Sinclair ZX81 1KB RAM, lol....Upgraded to a wobbly 16kb RAM pack which reset the comp if jogged!

    Oric-1 16kb

    Oric Atmos 48kb

    Commodore 16

    Sinclair ZX Spectrum 48kb

    *Break*

    AMD 2600+ Thouroughbred

    AMD 3700+ San Diego

    Opteron 165

    Intel E6750 Conroe
     
  4. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha

    :laugh:


    even if I stil had a mobo to support it (which I could prob find on ebay), I don't feel like having to wait 1.5 weeks for it to complete a 1M run of SuperPI :roll:

    that rig was running MS-DOS 2.0 - came on 5.25" FDs
    last version of MS-DOS I used was 6.22; I've got like 5 different versions of MS-DOS around here somewhere, 2.0 and 3.1 were on 5.25" . . . I remember 4.01, 5.0 and 6.22 on 3.5"

    I still have a MS-DOS 5.0 user manual on my desk, it has all the DOS commands, sytanx, and how to work with the OS.

    Back then, I could navigate DOS so fast I could sometimes get the system to hang cause I was inputting command lines quicker than the OS could execute them :laugh:

    I was pissed, though, when MS dropped the DOS console from WIN (what was that, WIN ME or WIN 2000?). WIN 3.1, WIN 95 and WIN 98, I'd get frustrated with WIN and drop to a DOS console for moving files, searching, making new folders, etc.
     
  5. drteming New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    MOS 6502 1 MHz (Commodore VIC-20)
    Intel 8088 4.77 MHz (IBM PC 5150)
    Intel 386SX 33 MHz and a math co-processor
    AMD K6-2 333 MHz (HP box)
    Intel Celeron 1.6 GHz (HP box)
    AMD Athlon64 3000+
    AMD Sempron64 3100+
    AMD Sempron64 2800+
    AMD Opteron 165 -- current
    AMD Turion64 MT-37 -- current
    AMD Athlon64 3400+ (754) -- current
     
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Impressive speed at that voltage. My 5200+ is 1.35v and won't do 2.8 at that voltage (stock is 2.6)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Hawk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    The Big Smoke, Canada
    Same here. I used to keep my old WIN95 machine around so I could play my old DOS only games (till it died:() Now I probably dont remember half the commands I used to in DOS.
     
  8. Graogrim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    308 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    East Coast US
    Starting back in the Before Time when dinosaurs roamed the Earth...

    TMS9900 @ 3.3MHz
    6510 @ 1MHz
    68000 @ 7.14 MHz
    68EC020 @ 14.28 MHz
    486SX/20
    486SX2/40 Overdrive
    Pentium 75
    Pentium 133 @ 166 (this was my first overclock)
    Pentium 200MMX
    Pentium II 300 MHz
    Pentium II 450 MHz
    Pentium III 733 MHz
    Pentium 4 2.0 GHz
    Pentium 4 3.2 GHz (Northwood)
    P4 550 (3.4 GHz Prescott)
     
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    You need a new cpu, and you need to overclock what you got! P4 + HD3850 = mad bottleneck.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. zCexVe

    zCexVe

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    417 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    AMD K6 II some thing IDK
    AMD Duron 800 MHz :p
    AMD Duron 1.2 GHz
    AMD Athlon 1.33 GHz
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ or something Ran @ 1800MHz AFAIR
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2500MHz (First OCed :D )
    ALL AMD :D :D
    Next will be a Q6600 or the Xeon or a YF,anything Intel and Quadcore.
     
  11. Graogrim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    308 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    East Coast US
    Yes I know. The only reason it's this way is that I sort of "came in" to this 3.4 GHz system and it had a junky X300 in it to start. My previous system was AGP based so I couldn't just move its video card over. Since I'm the sort to upgrade part by part anyway I figure that once I get a proper motherboard and CPU I can just migrate the 3850. And in the meantime, my graphics performance is kickass.
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    AMD 333mhz K6-2 (dead)
    Intel Pentium II 233mhz (still works)
    Intel Pentium III 450mhz (still works/backup for the PII 933)
    Intel Pentium III 933mhz (currently in a Gateway @ 700mhz/100fsb)
    AMD Duron 900mhz (dead)
    Intel Celeron 700mhz (died a tragic death of 1100Mhz with 2.05 vcore in the Gateway)
    AMD Sempron 2400+ (died a bent pin death)
    Intel Celeron D 347

    Procs that were in laptops

    AMD Athlon 900mhz
    AMD Athlon 1.4Ghz
    AMD Turion Tk somethin or other ....
     
  13. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    in the same boat with ya. All I really need is a new CPU - the two 1950's I'm stouting are still capable contenders, just not DX10 capable. I'm still eyeballing a Q8650, or maybe a Q9650 when I've got the money . . . but I've also been eyeballing investing that money into AMD stock instead . . .


    TBH - I wish I still had the rest of the hardware to run those old procs. I could rack up a ton of point for TPU in hwbot :ohwell:
     
  14. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,071 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    p4 2.66ghz 478 (dont remember which one)
    PD 3.4ghz 775 (945)
    c2d 1.8ghz 775. (e4300)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    intel celeron skt 423 @ 600mhz (me thinks)
    intel p4 prescott 478 at 3ghz
    amd athlon 3000+ am2 @ 2.9ghz
    intel c2d e2160 @ 3.2ghz
    intel c2d e2180 @ 3.4ghz
    amd turion x2 tl-60 @2ghz
     
  16. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Well....two years ago...
    AMD K6 500MHz....Oc'ed to 525MHz(First oc, and max of board:p)
    Intel P3 866MHz....Oc'ed to 930MHz(tried for 1GHz...dont remeber what happened:p)
    AMD Athlon64 3000+....Oc'ed to 2.47GHz(Shitty 6100 Geforce mobo..:()
    AMD Athon64 X2 3600+...Oc'ed to 2.93GHz(Got 3GHz the day before my C2D came)
    Intel Core2Duo E6550.....Oc'ed to 3.44GHz

    As i see from my list, i like teh overclockingz:p
     
  17. musek

    musek

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    367 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Europe -> Poland...
    Atari 130XE
    Amiga
    GameBoy ^.^
    286
    386
    486
    P1 60MHz
    P1 166MHz@200MHz (1st OC)
    AMD Duron 600MHz @ idk
    Duron 1200MHz
    Athlon 2000+ @ idk
    Sempron 3100+

    And now waiting for money to buy a new rig.
     
  18. peach1971

    peach1971 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Germany
    :toast:
     
  19. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,455 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,158
    oh ho!
    so we're counting handhelds now? triple my list, lol!
     
  20. mdashoot

    mdashoot New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    450 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Pentium II

    Pentium III

    Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe
     
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    So then I could count my Celeron 633Mhz BGA in my xbox? And the PISC in my PS1?


    :p
     
  22. Rob!

    Rob! New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    157 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    East Taunton, MA, USA
    I had I don't even know how many 386 and 486s that my Dad nabbed from his work whenever they upgraded computers. I just remember they had Windows 3.1

    From then on:

    Athlon 1GHz (an HP)
    Pentium 4 2.8GHz (first custom build)
    Athlon 64 3200+ (laptop)
    Pentium M 1.(?) GHz (laptop)
    Athlon 64 3200+ (desktop this time, another build)
    Core Duo 1.83GHz (current laptop)
    Athlon 64 X2 4000+ (latest build, but recently sold the whole rig...)
     
  23. HiDDeNMisT

    HiDDeNMisT New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    wow i dont remember dat far back ummmmm

    Intel P3
    Intel Celeron
    AMD +4400 (current PC)
    Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T7500 2.20 GHz, 4 MB L2 Cache, 800MHz FSB (current laptop)
     
  24. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    I'm not even gonna try and remember all the speeds...LOL

    Intel 8080(2 diff)
    MOS Technology 6502
    Zilog Z80(2 diff)
    Motorola 68000
    Zilog Z-80A (2 diff)
    Intel 80286
    AMD 386
    Motorola 68030
    AMD 486
    Pentiuim II
    AMD K5
    Pentium III(2 diff)
    AMD K6
    Pentium 4(2diff)

    Still Running

    Pentium III(1)
    AMD K6
    Pentium 4(2 diff)
    AMD X2-3800
    AM2 New Orleans

    :toast:
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2008
  25. black light burns

    black light burns New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    151 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    i think you mean 733mhz Celeron.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page