1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your CPU Timeline

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by xubidoo, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,458 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    Umm thought this post meaning PC PC wise.

    I had all so some Hand controllers about 1975 then moved on to the ZX80 ZX48k Zx128 allso the cheaper version when they got bought out by Amstrad if i remember right. Then on too PC from there on.
  2. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Really :confused: I thought all E4x00 do almost 3GHz?
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,705 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,223
    they both did 3GHz, but on a thermalright ultra 120 extreme, they did at around 70C at stock voltage.

    Compared to every other E6x00/Q6600 i've done which gets 60-65C at those clocks on the stock cooler, and they just sucked.
  4. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Yeah, I'm not a believer in E4x00 temps any more, they are just reported wrong. I'll take what speedfan reports (which is 15C less and on bar with E6000 series) and be happy :) Seeing what temps people get out of E8000 series (4C idle), it's not hard to believe they lie :p

    I'm now Orthos stressing and get 55C load on cores with speedfan and 70C with coretemp. 1.3625V on bios, but droops to 1.272V cpu-z voltage on load (yes, I should make the pencil vdroop mod). Both CPU and Ultima lapped, so 70C just isn't realistic.
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2008
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,705 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,223
    i have an infrared thermometer, when coretemp says 70C and the thermo says 62C on the base of the cooler, i beleive it.

    If they differed by 20C or more, i'd beleive it was off - both the ones i had just ran damned hot - and they were unstable at coretemps 75C.
    OnBoard says thanks.
  6. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    here we go in order of CPU age not in order ive owned them, would raise to many questions lol

    intel 286 |Sold|
    intel 486 DX4 100 |Dead|
    Intel Pentium 133 |Dead|
    Intel Pentium 166 |Vanished|
    Intel Pentium MMX 233
    Intel Pentium 2 300 |Dead|
    Intel Celeron 300A |Sold|
    Intel Pentium 2 450 |Sold|
    AMD K6-2 450 |Dead|
    Intel Pentium 3 500 |Dead|
    Intel Pentium 3 600 |Dead|
    Intel Pentium 3 650 |Sold|
    VIA C7 667 |Sold|
    Intel Pentium 3 866 |Dead|
    AMD Duron 900 |Sold|
    Intel Pentium 3 933 |Dead|
    Intel Pentium 3 1000 |Sold|
    AMD Athlon 1000 |Dead|
    AMD Athlon 1400B |Dead|
    AMD Athlon XP 1600 |Sold|
    AMD Athlon XP 1700 |Sold|
    AMD Athlon XP 1800 |Sold|
    AMD Athlon XP 1900 |Dead|
    AMD Sempron 2200 |Sold|
    AMD Athlon XP 2600 |Sold|
    AMD Sempron 3000 SktA |Sold|
    AMD Sempron 2800 skt 754 |Sold|
    AMD Athlon 64 3000 |In Use|
    AMD Athlon 64 3200 |Dead|
    Intel PentiumD 820 |Sold|
    AMD Athlon X2 3800 |In Use|
    Intel Core2 Quad 6600 |In Use|
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2008
  7. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Oh nice, I though about getting an infrared thermo just to know for sure, but didn't think it was worth the money for a "one time" use :) Mine ran stable over 80C TAT/coretemp before I lapped the IHS and was using Zalman 9500.

    Once I get this Vdroop mod done, I'll try and OC higher to see what temps do. Takes time, penciled 2 times already and got just 0.008V more on load both times, so I'm up to 1.272->1.288V, need to get to 1.336 :)

    EDIT: WOW, what a sweet mod. Now I showed some daddylove to that pencil and 1.344V rock solid both idle and load! (1.3625 in bios, so I should be able to do 3GHz on stock voltage :twitch:)
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2008
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,705 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,223
    hte infra thermo is better than you may realise, you can get accurate ambient readings and measure everything - case temps (yes metal cases get hot) PSU temps, heatpipes vs. heatsink temps, memory chips, PCB temps, VRM/HSI... you name it, you can measure it. Its helped me trouble shoot a LOT of things.
  9. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    yea the case can get hot, mine gets hot enough to warm my feet after a few hours of fragging thanks to its postion under my desk for lack of room on the desk,
  10. Bluefox1115 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    747 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    I don't wanna get into a long listing, but psh, I had a DIGITAL system that my dad had at home for work from work (Digital). look up just the video cards to a Digital and you'll see SIZE. :)
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,705 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,223
    i have no idea what you're talking about here... digital what? 'look up just the video cards to a digital' - what does that mean?
  12. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    maybe he means this

    [​IMG]
  13. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,256 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,020
    Digital Equpment Corporation. One of the first companies to release a 64-bit CPU. :)

    My brother-in-law had one of those.. But back then I was only interested in games, so I didn't bother to look it up.

    I think I still have a fresh sticker from them somewhere..
  14. monte84

    monte84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    153 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    486 DX2 66Mhz
    AMD Athlon "Thunderbird" 1.3GHz
    AMD Athlon XP 2700+ 2.17GHz
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ "Barton"
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ S939
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ SAM2
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ SAM2
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,705 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,223
    a true AMD fan there!:toast:
  16. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Yes, didn't mean it wouldn't have use if I was to buy, I know I would be pointing it everywhere :D As promised, I tried to go higher, but 3,3GHz was only stable 7min with 1.4V (in CPU-Z) so I gave up trying, but didn't see that much higher temps.

    What I got was current OC stable with 0.025v less in bios, temps seem the same. Don't know if you can call it 3GHz @ stock voltage, when I have set more on bios, but it's under it in idle/load. I'll stop "off topic" now :)
    [​IMG]
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,705 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,223
    stock voltage means leaving it on auto in the bios.
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,705 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,223
    stock voltage means leaving it on auto in the bios.

    Every Q6600 i've used did 3GHz on stock volts stable, and i get 3.6GHz from 1.425 - quite a difference compared to the E4x00 isnt it.
  19. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Yes, not stock voltage then, as it drops to 1.304-1.312v and is not stable with that :)

    Difference is big, but so are the components amount on the bottom side, they must count for something :p If id finally get my new GPU soon, have to think about upgrading processor after that. E8000 series are finally upgrade worthy, as E8400 is the same 3GHz stock as my OC, but with triple the cache. Not in a hurry though =)
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2008
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,705 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,223
    E8x00 series are great, because they need less volts your vdroop problem wont be as severe either. Surprised no one has come in this thred posting with one yet :)

    [/offtopic] lets get back on track now... who's next?
  21. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    2 more to add found computers in dumpster this morning

    Intel CeleronD 2.53 |untested|

    AMD AThlon 850 |Runs|
  22. rodneyhchef

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Pentium 75. (My first ever PC build back in 1997.)
    Pentium 166. (Upgrade for my first build years later. kept this machine for old dos games)
    Cyrix MII PR233. First chip in my second build (terrible)
    Cyrix MII PR300. Second chip in my second build (still terrible)
    Pentium 233 MMX. Third Chip in my second build. (pretty good but board could do more)
    AMD K6 300. Fourth Chip in my second build.
    AMD K6/2 450. Third build.
    Duron 900. Got this with a mobo I bought on ebay. No idea if it works.
    Celeron 1100. Got this free from a guy at work.
    Athlon Thunderbird 1200. Fourth build.
    Athlon XP 2000+ (1.67GHz) Thoroughbred A. Got this with a motherboard on ebay. Now in my sisters computer.
    Althon XP 2800+ (2.25GHz) Thoroughbred B . Fifth build. Awesome build. Served me well for over 4 years
    Althon 64 4000+ San Diego. Sixth Build.
    Opteron 185 Second chip in my Sixth Build.
    Q6600. Seventh Build (not picked this one up yet!)
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2008
  23. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Intel - something, was young :)
    Long break-------
    Intel P4 3.0ghz prescott - Still in use at my mother + dads place,
    AMD 4200+
    Had consoles for a long time wasnt into pc's up intill aout 4-5 years ago :laugh:,
    :toast:
    Gam
  24. Bluefox1115 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    747 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    Yeah.. My dad used to work for DEC.. systems were hugeeeee. the mostly made mainframes, supercomputers, and servers.. Now out of business... took over by Compaq..
  25. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    AMD Sempron 1.6 @ 1.8 (in use)...lolz

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page